We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cabin with an Amazing View!”
other travellers have booked this property
Star Gaze The Night Away
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Star Gaze The Night Away
Remote Cabin for Your Pleasure Walking Path to Star Gazing Field
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Star Gaze The Night Away
Remote Cabin for Your Pleasure
Walking Path to Star Gazing Field
Relax, Renew, Recharge & Reconnect with Family and Friends
Full and Complete Kitchen for home cooking.
Local Wildlife
The Keeping Room
Bedroom
Rustic Interior
Welcome
Star GAze the night away from your 10 acre star gazing field
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Coudersport, Potter County, Pennsylvania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Cabin with an Amazing View!”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I honeymooned at the Blue Skies Lodge, and we absolutely loved it! So many places, pictures can flatter them, but in this case, the reality far outshines the pictures even! My wife has traveled to many places all over the country, stayed in many different cabins, and she said that this was by-far the best she'd ever stayed in. The view of the night sky from the upper field is a must! Anyone who enjoys stargazing, you will love the night sky here! We were incredibly fortunate to have several clear nights in a row, and when it came time to leave, neither of us wanted to go. Highly recommended!!!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you had some of the best nights and clear skies all summer. It was a pleasure hosting you and you are welcome back anytime. We wish you all good things going forward.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We returned to this lovely place in late August-early September during the New Moon. We had three blessedly clear nights of awe and wonder, and shared lazy days with extended family in peace. This one is staying on the family calendar for many years to come, I'm sure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
Michele, Thank you for coming back again and again. Your complements mean a great deal to us. Yes, the sky is incredible here and we are so happy you had clear nights for your stay. It is truly amazing here at the Cabin. Thank You Again, thank you and please know that you are welcome anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lt7792016
Queens, New York
1 review
“Great vacation, can't wait to go back.”
Reviewed 18 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Beautiful house and surrounding property. The stargazing was the best I have seen in my entire life. Very private with only a ten minute drive to the local supermarket and great little town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Thank you for the kind words Tim. It was great to spend some a few minutes with you chatting about New York. You are welcome back anytime. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David1871
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best stargazing I've seen +very private”
Reviewed 4 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed for 3 nights and got to see some great stars. Private as all get out and totally met all of our expectations. We are all ready booked for summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Mar 2017
We love to share our secret cabin. Thank you for visiting and we are so glad the skys were clear for you. We'll see you in the Summer. Travel safe..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob F
Paoli, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for part of July 4th weekend. This was the cabin at the stream. The place was to my delight immaculately maintained. Full of nick nacks and eye candy so even if it's raining you have something to do. The outside was awesome with the stream and fire pit. Wish it was cheaper but it is what it is.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 16 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had two goals for our weekend at Blue Skies Lodge: Family bonding and stargazing. Two cloud-shrouded and/or rain-soaked days later, we had lots of family bonding in bucolic GREEN surroundings. Even so, it was a relaxing, pleasant interlude. We swapped stories, roasted bacon around the firepit (in the rain), and visited nearby Coudersport and Benezette. The only thing that would have made our visit better was clear skies. Fingers crossed for good stargazing when we return later this summer -- and whenever the mood strikes as long as the property is available for rental and our budget allows.

Everything we needed was at the cabin. The quiet was a blessing. Sleeping with open windows to hear the rain pattering down was a real stress buster, too! We look forward to exploring further on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The solitude and comfort
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2016
It was a pleasure for us to serve you Michelle. It is always good when families can reconnect. I see you are coming back in September around the new dark moon period and we do appreciate your return visit. Thank you very much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrQuincy5...
Belle Haven
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Turn off the cell phone and the Internet and come enjoy the mountains!”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

First of all, the reference to Cherry Springs State Park, which recently received a designation as an International Dark Skies Park, is a bit misleading. While the house is not far from the park as the crow flies, keep in mind that the crow has to drive up Route 872, east on Route 6, and south on Route 44 to get there--about 30 minutes one way. Route 44 is being repaired; the project will last well into the fall of 2015. That being said, you really don't need to drive over hill and dale to get a great view of the night sky. There is a large field right near the house which the owners keep mowed, so you can take your blanket and flashlight out at night and get a tremendous view of the Milky Way. We were there for the annual Perseid meteor shower and, while we were skunked a bit by ground fog below and cloud cover above, it was still a good show and worth the trip.
Some caution is needed on the final approach to the house for those with small cars. The driveway is about 1/4 mile long--rough and rocky. Just take it slow (leave the Corvette at home), follow the power line poles, and you'll do fine.
The house is advertised as having room for 6 which is true, however, 2 of the 6 had better be ready to sleep in bunk beds.
The kitchen amenities are generally adequate--you will have to wash dishes by hand but, hey! you're camping; it's all part of the total immersion experience along with the lack of telecommunications.
We had a young bear visit twice--I recommend bringing a trashcan inside rather than risk leaving garbage outside for the dawn patrol marauder.
Grocery stores are 20 minutes to the west in Coudersport and 40 minutes or so to the east in Galeton. It is highly recommended that you shop for your provisions before you go out to the house because it is not exactly a hop-skip around the corner to the Seven-Eleven.
A must-do excursion is a visit to the Pennsylvania Grand Canyon. Okay, so it's not as big and vast as THE Grand Canyon. Still, the Pine Creek Rail Trail at the bottom can't be beat for hiking and biking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the night sky
Liked least: The access road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind words about the Cabin. You picked one of the Best times for Star Gazing, the Perseid Meteor Shower, a new moon and the Milky Way was in amazing form. As you indicated our star gazing field shares the same amazing dark skies as Cherry Springs State Park, we are so glad you took advantage of them, it's one of our best features. Plus the bear cub sighting was a true bonus. Due to the remote nature of our Cabin, the driveway is always one of our top priorities as we deal with mother nature on a weekly basis. Again, thank you and you are welcome back anytime for R & R.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing