We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bar and music” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant ECHO - CLOSED

Restaurant ECHO
Price range: US$20 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant ECHO serves New American cuisine featuring locally grown produce, locally raised animals, and hand-crafted breads, pasta and sauces. Casual fare is offered in the bistro, while more refined cuisine is served in the restaurant.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great bar and music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great place to enjoy great drinks, food and music! Dinners are superb and bar has excellent specialty drinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marsco27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    9
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“1st go was average, but I'd try again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

In town for business, so hopped over for a late dinner at the bar. A colleague at work recommended. Honestly wished this Texas girl had gone further down the street to On the Border for a margarita and chips and queso. Neither of the menus (I was offered both) really jumped out at me. Maybe because I wasn't that hungry? So, I opted for the soup of the day, which was a mushroom consommé and a starter of fried tomatoes. Everything was just ok. My first bartender told me the tomatoes were not grown there, but eventually would be. I heard my second bartender telling another patron that the tomatoes were grown out back? Oh, and the place was absolutely dead on a Thursday night at 8pm. The bartender indicated to me that the back restaurant was pretty full, which is not visible from the bar, but the parking lot wasn't that full. Really convenient to folks staying at the Marriott down the street. I'd give it another go, if its still around (based on crowd) next time I'm in town. The atmosphere, at least in the bar (since you can't see the restaurant) is upscale. The staff was friendly. But now that I think about it....I was there for quite some time for two small plates, so maybe service was slower than should have been expected....

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TouristaDeTejas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great happy hour food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I have been the Echo a few times only at happy hour...
The food list locally sourced and very tasty. Their menu has some good variations of normal staples, but also some great items that you do not see often (or ever).

The wait staff is very good too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jp5o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“ugh..upscale cant be pulled off in cranberry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2013

had heard alot about Echo and what a coup it was to Cranberry..went for dinner on a Saturday night the middle of May..don't worry about the seen and be seen of cranberry...LAME AND SPARSE CROWD....you could tell Butler is a few miles away...service was terrible...hounded for a decision initially, then when a decision was made, no waiter to be found..glasses of wine refills were a challenge as well and the restaurant was at may 50% capacity...i opted for what the waiter implied was a new addition to the menu....a somewhat Asian fusion dish of pork belly/pork tenderloin with some kim chi...flavorless and terrible execution...was not hot..seemed like it had been sitting......menu description was not resonate with the actual dish....starter salads were not encouraged via the prices....ridiculous prices for starter salads! this restaurant will fail in the near future unless a total overhaul is done...would not go back! ratchet!!! o, one redeeming thing...the homemade bread gets mad props!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank etltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coraopolis
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Happy Happy Hour or So”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We were surprised to find such an elegant restaurant outside of the city. Met friends here for an appetizer and drinks. Very impressed with atmosphere and offerings. We tried three appetizer items and enjoyed them all.

No frozen cheese sticks or rubber onion rings here. Everything is fresh and presented with flair. There was an acoustical guitar player entertaining in the lounge and drinks were reasonable.

This was our first visit but we have committed to return for a meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank papdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant ECHO also viewed

Cranberry Township, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing