We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Cranberry Township
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This is one of the nicest Candlewoods I have seen. It has a pool and hot tub, which as far as I know is rare for this type of property. The rooms are fresh and new and seem to even be a bit upscale for a Candlewood.

The housekeepers are fantastic. Unfortunately the GM was a jerk who doesn't appear to like working with people much. If you can avoid him, (Mike) then it is a great place to stay. He is the reason I wouldn't give this property a better rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyssak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelc33, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, 15 May 2012
Dear lyssak11,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your business. Management and Staff take great pride in our hotel and work hard to make our guests' stay as comfortable as possible and to keep the property fresh. As you noted, the property is beautiful, offers many amenities including indoor pool and hot tub. As you know, we are also a 100% Non-Smoking hotel, a feature that is attractive to many travelers. Unfortunately, guests who elect to smoke in the room are damaging our room and causing discomfort for other guests. Management must take appropriate action for the comfort of all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    26
    10
    1
    7
See reviews for
27
13
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

A friend and I drove down to Pittsburgh to catch the Pens/Flyers game 5 and stayed in this hotel for one night. The hotel was conveniently located just off I-79, and was only about a 20-25min drive downtown to the Consol Energy Center. Price was competitive with other hotels in the area. Hotel looked newer, and was very clean inside and out. Front desk staff were very friendly and welcoming when checking in/out. Hotel is setup for long-term stays and includes a kitchen with full fridge/microwave/stove/dishes/utensils/etc, but things like ice machines are not provided (you could make ice in the fridge in your room). No free breakfast, but you could purchase items to make in your room from the on-site store/pantry. Lots of restaurants/shopping nearby as well. Overall we had a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bry147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelc33, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you Bry147 for choosing our Candlewood Suites while in the Pittsburgh area for Game 5 of the hockey playoffs. We appreciate your business and your comments. I will share your comments with the staff. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable room and our staff is ready to help out in any way. As you found out, we are a short drive to downtown Pittsburgh. The Interstate allows easy access to and from the city. Since we have opened, many people have found Candlewood Suites to be perfect for their short and long term stays. As you mentioned we are convenient to the Interstate and Turnpike, with various restaurants and shopping options nearby. Since we are extended stay, you will not find noisy ice machines or soda machines on the property. Our Candlewood Cupboard has refreshments and snacks at a nominal cost and your icemaker in your freezer will provide your ice. If you are in hurry, the front desk always has extra ice on hand for our customers. Thanks again for staying. We hope you join us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The manager was not willing to help out a Platinum Elite member. While working in the area I was glad to find a Candlewood Suites. I try to use this brand whenever possible. I needed 3 rooms and would have stayed for at least 6 nights had the manager been willing to budge a little on the price. They were more than half empty and priced higher than surrounding hotels. I guess it's better for business to be half empty at full price than to compromise a few bucks in order to secure 3 rooms for a week.
Needless to say the Holiday Inn Express was happy to have us.

Otherwise the property is new,clean, and located near several restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyyDcmbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank You for your comments. Our housekeeping staff takes pride in their work and offers our guests very clean and spotless studio suites. We also appreciate your Platinum Status. Thank you for choosing the IHG family of hotels. Our hotel is becoming more and more popular in the area for those travelers who require long term stays. As you know, Candlewood Suites is an extended stay property. All our rooms are Studio Suites with a full kitchen. Our rate structure is very competitve in the Cranberry Township area. Our 'tier' pricing structure offers lowers rates the longer you stay with us. You must commit to your entire stay to qualify for the lower rates. Booking your room on a day by day would not qualify for the lower pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Road Warrior
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I have stayed in about 15 or 20 different Candlewoods across the US and while this one was by far the most expensive it was also the nicest as well.

This appears to be a very new and very well kept hotel. I wont go into all the amenities and such that make Candlewoods great but this one has them all. Since this is a newer design Candlewood the rooms appear to be a little bigger then the old style ones. Cleanliness was excellent, my room was spotless, actually smelled pretty new. Even the common grounds and exterior grounds are very well kept, can't say the same for a lot of Candlewoods, many of them have trash laying around and are run down looking but not this one.

Location was great, a busy area with lots of shopping and food. There are a couple of restaurants just a few feet from the hotel, Five Guys, Chipotle, a gelato place and a pizza place. There is also an auto service close if you need to have work done on your car. If you need groceries there is a nice Giant Eagle grocery store maybe a mile away or less.

All in all it was a good stay, If I had any complaints it would be that they really need to work on improving speed at check-in, it takes forever to get into your room but other then that it was all good.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlCzervik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank You for choosing our Candlewood Suites. We appreciate your business and value your comments. We strive to offer a clean, and comfortable Suite and are thrilled that you found our new property to meet your needs. We take pride in our appearance and work hard to keep our property spotless. The Housekeeping and Maintenance staff work hard to prepare the hotel for all guests. I will share your comments with the entire staff and really appreciate your recognition of these area's. As Candlewood Suites is a new brand to the Cranberry Township market, we have been working hard at the desk to provide a thorough check-in, explaining our amenites and what we and the area has to offer. We will continue to work hard at our efficiency at check-in, and we respect and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel during a recent visit to Pittsburgh, PA. This is a really nice hotel but I must say that the manager is really RUDE and unprofessional. The desk clerks were nice and helpful. The hotel is new and located in a good location. Overall, the rooms were nice and clean and this was a good choice but beware of the manager.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Tee99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank You for your comments concerning the hotel and staff. Each of our staff members take pride in the job they do. Being a new property, there have been many challenges that are presented to us. As General Manager, it is my job to train and educate the staff on many guidelines, policies, billing procedures, hotel laws, and on overall Candlewood Suite methods. I must meet the challenges from my owners, my employees, and my guests. However there are times when our guests may not agree with the policies or guidelines set forth. In various area's such as guest safety, employee safety, and auditing, we cannot jeopardize our position and tough decisions are made by the General Manager. I am sorry for any inconvenience that may have occurred.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My son and I were ready to drop from viewing the university of Pittsburgh. The staff in this hotel were awesome. The desk clerk recommended a restaurant up the road we could walk to, that was very good, so we could stretch our legs before having to sit again. The rooms here were nice and clean and beds were also comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treesa57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We made reservations weeks before our trip and decided to stay at this "pet friendly" (yeah right) property. When we arrived, instead of being welcomed, the general manager was rude and very unprofessional to us. We have a small (15lb) dog who is well trained and does not bark. The GM told us that we were not allowed to bring our dog through the lobby at any time, that we were required to give them all vet records, an to read and sign a ridiculously long pet policy, sign it, and here's the cherry on top, "if we didn't like it, we could look for another hotel."
Since we had already been on the road for twelve hours, we reluctantly stayed. They never smiled or greeted us. In fact, they made us feel like we were imposing on them. I overheard a desk person refuse a weary traveler because he and his wife only wanted to stay for one night. The desk person told him no, that there was a two night minimum. Mind you, the parking lot had no more than four cars in it the entire time we were there. This property is a joke, and I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy. Don't stay here if you love your pet, because this property clearly hates animals and makes it very inconvenient for pet owners. Shame on you and your staff for your rude, unprofessional, and inhospitable behavior.

Room Tip: Save your money and find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AustinProfessional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank You for choosing Candlewood Suites where you and your pet are always welcome guests. We understand that having 'family' with you is especially important when you're away from home. Our Candlewood Suites Pet Policy is consistent at every Candlewood Suites around the country. We believe in making sure that every guest is comfortable at our hotel. We realize that some guests may be allergic or afraid of animals and our pet policy is designed to make sure all guests are comfortable while staying with us. Upon check-out, your pet-suite must be cleaned thoroughly for our next guest. Responsible pet owners understand that their "family" could present additional challenges for the staff and other guests, and understands the reason for a consitent pet policy. We do welcome pets, however, we must follow the Candlewood Pet Policy to ensure the satisfaction of all guests. We expect our responsible pet owners to accept the policy set forth by Candlewood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cranberry Township hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Cranberry
Hyatt Place Cranberry
#7 of 15 in Cranberry Township
568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh / Cranberry, PA
Home2 Suites by Hilton Pittsburg...
#1 of 15 in Cranberry Township
418 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Cranberry
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Cranber...
#4 of 15 in Cranberry Township
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh North/Cranberry Woods
Courtyard Pittsburgh North/Cranb...
#5 of 15 in Cranberry Township
357 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Cranberry
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh/Cra...
#2 of 15 in Cranberry Township
933 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Pittsburgh North Cranberry Township
Red Roof Inn Pittsburgh North Cr...
#12 of 15 in Cranberry Township
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry

Property: Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry
Address: 20036 Route 19, Cranberry Township, PA 16066-6202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Cranberry Township
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Cranberry Township
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Pittsburgh Cranberry Hotel Cranberry Township

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing