We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Cresco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I & my husband stayed at the crescent lodge for the labor day weekend alongwith a friend and were disappointed that for $165/night the rooms were way below standards. The rooms are extremely small and are not kept well at all. The window curtains kept falling, the bed is supposed to be queen but is much smaller, there is barely enough standing room in the bathroom. Our bathroom door would not close at all and we mentioned this to the management the day we checked-in and a couple of times after that. Not to mention they did not do anything and it was extremely inconvenient. The only plus point was that room was clean. FYI, there is no wi-fi or internet for guests in the hotel.

The inn is in a peaceful secluded area. However, we were horrified to see that all the compound lights were off after midnight and there was no one at the reception area!!! It was so dark it was difficult to see the entrance coming late at night. We had to enter the hotel through emergency stairs(they had given the key) in the back. Imagine having an emergency and no one to respond!

The country breakfast every morning 9am - 11am is included in the price but is extremely overrated. We were there for Saturday, Sunday, Monday. The breakfast on Sat and Mon was horrendous. We we went there around 10am and found 2-3 english muffins and stone-hard bagels in a platter. There was one hot item(quiche,etc.) everyday. Other than that it was just some cut fruits and cereal boxes lying around. The spoons,forks,etc. seemed like they had not been washed. There was just 1 old guy with an apron roaming around in the dining area who looked like a staff member. The breakfast on sunday, however, was a feast with omelettes and servers coming to take your orders.

It is definitely not what they advertise. I would rather stay at a radisson or Mariott for the same price.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrekkerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    115
    38
    15
    15
See reviews for
21
339
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Crescent Lode for two nights for my birthday weekend. We stayed in the Edgewood cottage. It was a private cottage towards the back of the property. It had a full kitchen, a HUGE hot tub, a real wood burning fireplace and a private deck with two sun chairs and a table. The cottage was very clean and romantic. We found the grounds to be very well landscaped, with all different types of beautiful flowers through out the property.
Before we checked in, we had been canoeing down the Delaware River (Adventure Sports) and were very happy to relax by the clean and well maintained pool upon checking in . Usually where ever we go there are a million kids running around the pool. Not here.There were a few other couples by the pool, but by no means crowed. It was nice to just hang out here and relax.

We had dinner the first night at the resturant. It was a little pricy ($28 for the Rib Eye Steak), however it was cooked perfectly, the food was delicous and the service was really outstanding.

Overall this place was really enjoyable.

Another bonus is that the Mount Airy Casino is a five min drive from here. So was horseback riding. We also drove about 35 min to Rubber Ducky Boat rentals and rented a speed boat for the afternoon. We were debating if we should go to the Jersey shore instead, but I'm so glad we didn't, we had a great time in the Poconos.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njblueyedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2009

I went to the Poconos for 3 nights vacation. On arrival to the lodge it was 2am in the morning. Interesting, the main entrance and the check-in building was closed. However, they left us a note on how to self check in, which was fine. They room we stayed in was very clean and well maintained. We checked the bed bedbugs but found the bed to be flawless. The staffs were very nice when we had questions about where to travel to they were helpful (we asked a lot of questions). The breakfast wasn't extravagant but, it was good. It was relatively close to many of the destinations we wanted to go to, shooting range, horseback riding and hikiing. They is high speed internet BUT NOT in the room we stayed in because the signal was so low. I had to go to the main lobby to use my laptop for the internet. The price of the stay was O.K. I consider it a bit on the expensive side. We paid 135 for 2 nights and 180 for the last because of weekend. All in all, I really recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denilo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

It can be a challenge to find clean, comfortable lodging in the Poconos, so I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the Crescent Lodge. It's 5 minutes from the new and impressive Mount Airy Casino (had great meal in the Italian restaurant there). It's about 20 minutes from Shawnee Golf resort, where we played. Crescent staff are friendly--especially Ruth. Guests receive $15 voucher for casino slots, and our rooms were cute and comfortable. Showers and air work well, and our bed was firm. Sunday breakfast was outstanding: buffet of pancakes, toastable waffles, bacon, sausage, cheese omelet, bagels, coffeecake, juices, coffee, fruit and INCLUDED!!!! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bogeywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Marys, WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2009

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our anniversary in a quiet and leisurely place.... with no reservations, we toured Caesar's Paradise Stream Resort, rated "DD" (dated & dirty), Fernwood Resort, rated "VDD" (VERY dirty & dated), almost ended up at the Hampton Inn ($170/night) when I searched the IPHONE for "anything" else & found Crescent Lodge.....BINGO! The lady at the front desk said their pictures on the internet were exactly how each cabin looked. We stayed at the Edgewood cabin, which had a hot tub in the livingroom, (with stereo), king size bed, full kitchen, secluded outdoor deck area - beautiful wooded scenery & quiet. It was so clean...we didn't think we had maid service, but when we got back the first day, our place had been cleaned, complete with fresh linens. The dining was excellent. (the chef could compete with ANYONE)...the bar had the "relax and have a drink" feel....breakfast was just enough on weekdays and a step up on Saturday! The grounds was immaculate, (pool had just been filled, so it was still COLD - but clean!)
Everyone seemed to welcome us each time we came and went - a nice place that actually cared !! We have already started spreading the word where to go next time! It spells "come back again" .....and WE WILL !!!
P.S. Lots of things to do in the area, Pretzel Factory, Candy Place, Bushkill Falls (gorgeous), shopping (many little shop all over) NOT to mention the beautiful scenery!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelTimeTam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2009

Location, location, location.
My wife and I stayed for three days/ two nights this past week and
loved it. I took less than 10 minutes to get to Mt Airy Casino. Less than
10 minutes to Alpine Mt. Ski area. Less than 15 minutes to the Crossings
Premium Outlets.
We stayed mid week so the rates were very reasonable. Less expensive than
Mt Airy but with much more charm. The Sunset cottage was as advertised with two person jacuz and WORKING fireplace.
The staff was very nice and helpful. Our dinner in the restaurant was excellent.
Free continental breakfast was an added bonus.
This will now be our home base for all trips to the Poconos.
I was having trouble programming my Nav with an address for the lodge but
was elated to find it preprogrammed in the gps. Should have checked there first.
The intersection of 540 and 191 is exact. you can see the lodge from the corner.
We've recommended this jem to friends already and we're sure to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gates724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2009

I needed to be in the Poconos for a few days on business, and my wife and I wanted to spend a little time together. We found the Crescent Lodge in our AAA book. After we read the reviews on Trip Advisor, a couple of them scared us a little, but overall they were quite good, so we called them. The woman assured us that "this has been family owned for over 60 years, and one of the best kept properties in the area", so we booked the Birchwood #4 cabin for 3 nights. We found it to be very nice and clean, but not fancy, which we liked. Part of the charm of the Poconos is the simplicity of the area. We enjoyed the Jucuzzi tub and fireplace. The atmosphere in the dining room where we enjoyed the continental breakfast gave us a relaxing start to the day. In January we could not enjoy the pool or the tennis courts, but I am sure that it is an even nicer place to stay in the summer season. The people were wonderful. We had to leave after two nights because a major storm was approaching, and they were gracious enough to just charge us for 2 nights, even though the cancellation policy is 14 days. If you are using a GPS to find it, the closest street name and number is 378 Cranberry Creek Rd. This will get you within 1/2 mile on PA Route 191.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank autotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cresco
4.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,391 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.6 mi away
Paradise Stream Resort
Paradise Stream Resort
#2 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
1,984 reviews
2.2 mi away
Mount Airy Casino Resort
Mount Airy Casino Resort
#1 of 7 in Mount Pocono
1,244 reviews
21.1 mi away
Cove Haven Resort
Cove Haven Resort
#1 of 2 in Lakeville
2,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Lodge & Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Lodge & Country Inn

Property: Crescent Lodge & Country Inn
Address: 5854 Paradise Valley Rd, Cresco, PA 18326-7730
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Cresco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cresco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Crescent Lodge & Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“A Romantic Country Inn”At Crescent Lodge and Country Inn your will experience immaculate accommodations, fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and canopy beds with plush thick comforters. Select from a standard room in the main lodge or a cottage located on our 10 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds. Free Wifi is included in the main lodge.Our guests can enjoy continental breakfast every morning from 8:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.The Crescent Lodge Restaurant and Bar:Our renowned on-site restaurant is open year round serving American cuisine. The Crescent Lodge restaurant has been nominated several times by the Pocono Record as one of the most romantic restaurants in the Pocono Mountain region.Antique Gift Shop:The Inn's popular gift shop is stocked with handmade jewelry, antiques and other items.We are conveniently located in the heart of Pocono Mountains. Within an arm reach to Camelback Ski Resort and Camelback Beach, Mount Airy Casino, Pocono Raceway and The Crossing Premium Outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crescent Lodge & Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Lodge & Country Hotel Cresco
Crescent Lodge And Country Inn
Country Inn Cresco
Cresco Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing