We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel with reasonable prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pine Barn Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Moreland Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with reasonable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Our trip to Danville was not for the best reasons. We were visiting a client's wife who was admitted to the trauma center at Geisinger Hospital.

The hotel is quite cute and it fits into the small town atmosphere of Danville. I did not have the time to make reservations, but it was no issue. We got a room for $99/night. The room was very small and would have been too small for any longer than a couple of days. The room was set up similar to an old Travelodge where the toilet and bathtub were in a separate room, but the sink and storage area were in the main room. The best thing about the room was the TV. it was a very nice, new flatscreen with many channels on it.

Dinner at the hotel was very good. The food was fairly priced. I had a hangar steak with one of their optional sauces on it. It was barbeque based, but I cannot remember what they called it. it and the sides were really good.

Breakfast wasn't as good as dinner. I had the seafood omlette. The style of the omlette was like one you would get at Perkins. Folded eggs that ended up being rubbery and dry. Now, my wife ordered the pancakes. Those were very good.

The only issue I had at the hotel was at breakfast. We asked to be seated outside. We were the only ones outside, and were wondering if it would be easier for the waitstaff to wait on us at one of the inside tables. We asked the floor manager and he gruffly replied. "You will be waited on outside or you will have to go to end of the line to get a table." We were just trying to make it easier on them. There were plenty of table inside, so that wasn't a problem. We went back outside and had the poor lady running to us unnecessarily. It wasn't a problem for us, but I could imagine the treatment you would get if there was a problem.

Checkout at this hotel was at 11:00am instead of the normal 12:00pm. This was inconvient because of the reason that we were there. they should consider moving it to noon, especially since the hotel is now owned by the hospital.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NormanMael, General Manager at Pine Barn Inn, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Pine Barn Inn.

The staff of the Pine Barn Inn makes every effort to be courteous and helpful at all times. I am sorry that on the very busy Sunday morning that you had breakfast at our restaurant that I was not more hospitable. In reality, I was attempting to provide you with the best service possible; my intentions were good if my delivery of those intentions was not up to professional standards.

Thank you for the many positive comments about the Pine Barn in your review. They are greatly appreciated.

Norman S. Mael
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    89
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
114
40
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

Clean and comfortable. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STL_Teacher_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

My husband had some surgery that required an overnight stay in the hospital. The Pine Barn is a short walk to the hospital and since we live an hour and a half away, it was nice to have this wonderful Inn to stay at. The food in the hotel is wonderful, the staff were friendly and helpful. I had to change our plans and arrive a day early and they were able to accommodate us. There was fresh fruit in the morning and since my husband had to be at the hospital at 6:15 it was nice to have something to tide me over. I enjoyed our stay despite the reason and would recommend it for whatever your travel need might be.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petlovertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

Had to stay in Danville for sinus surgery; hotel is within walking distance of the hospital - it's actually closer to leave your car at the hotel (obviously only if you're staying there!) and walk up the little hill to the hospital than to park in the hospital parking lot!!! We stayed in December and the lobby was beautiful, all decked out for Christmas. The room was comfortable, clean, had everything we needed; very pleased with our stay. Will definitely stay at Pine Barn if we ever need to stay overnight at danville again. AWESOME!!!! The one drawback was the internet didn't work. The lobby suggested we call the internet provider service, which we did, and they kept telling us to 'try again in 5 minutes'... and we kept trying, didn't work, called back, same deal, etc... and they said they were moving us up to the top of the troubleshooting queue a couple of times... which is odd because how many times can you move something to the top??? anyway, they finally said there was something wrong with the service and to try half an hour later... we gave up. Hopefully that's an uncommon incident. Had nothing to do with the hotel - it was their ISP, so not their fault. Husband had room service lunch the next day, said it was really good!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anneshirley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central pa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

We needed a place to stay while visiting the Covered Bridge Festival this past weekend at Knoebels. Looked for B&B's but were too late. We read reviews here and expected a clean comfortable motel with a courteous staff. It and they were that and more. But the best surprise was the restaurant. The restaurant elevates this place from a motel to an inn. Our dinner was very good - our waitresses suggestions were spot on. The place was not only affordable but I thought a great value. Breakfast this morning was just as good. If you're going to Knoebels or visiting someone in Geisinger this is the place I'd send you.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gates724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QUAKERTOWN PA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

We have stayed here once before. Easy check in. Clean room. Pleasant staff. We had breakfast in the morning and it was tasty. Excellent value.

We went to Knoebel's and stayed here. We came in here exhausted. Got a great nights sleep. Hit the dining room in the morning and got plenty to eat.

Flawless service!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QTTRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Stayed in a double suite with my wife and 4 kids while at Knobles. Came in on Sunday, left mon evening and had breakfast at the restaurant . Price was $145 for the one night.
2Q in 1 rm and 1 pull out Q in the other. The sofa bed was poor, the 2Q were pillow tops with a firm base and soft on top. Not my favorite type of bed, but in good shape, none the less. Room had a small micro and fridge, and provided fruit (apples) and basic Columbian coffee. The Front desk had a well laid out map of the area with local stores highlighted, a plus when trying to get stuff in an unfamiliar place. All in all. good. Also, as a guest you have access to the local community indoor pool, but never used it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qmck1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
7.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Danville Inn
12.9 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 7 in Bloomsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Danville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 7 in Bloomsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Barn Inn

Property: Pine Barn Inn
Address: 1 Pine Barn Pl, Danville, PA 17821-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danville Pennsylvania’s only full service hotel is the Pine Barn Inn. Build on its 19th century history, the Pine Barn Inn flourishes in keeping the tradition of early inn keeping. With its 99 spacious guest rooms and suites the Pine Barn Inn is equipped with modern amenities including HD TVs and in-room high-speed wired or wireless internet access. Satisfy your taste buds at the Pine Barn Inn’s full-service restaurant. The delicious meals that remind you of your mom’s home cooking will leave you coming back for more. Have your choice to dine in the dining room, outside on the patio, or in the rustic tavern. Room service is available to all guests during restaurant operating hours. The Pine Barn Inn is conveniently located next the Geisinger Medical Center Campus. A complimentary shuttle is available for transportation from the Inn to the hospital’s main entrance. Guests at the Inn are welcome to use the Danville Area Community Center (DACC). The DACC features an indoor heated pool that has six swimming lanes and is 25 yards in length. If relaxing in the pool isn’t for you then the DACC also has a gymnasium, circuit training room, and a racquetball court. In the summer months travel to Knoebel’s Amusement Park located just 12 miles from the Inn, or visit local hot spots to have the benefit of a day of swimming, golfing, hiking, horse-back riding, fishing and much more. Enjoy the scenic drives to view Pennsylvania’s historic farmlands. Take in the breath taking views of the country churches and covered bridges during fall season. This area is also home to the Bucknell and Susquehanna Universities and the Bloomsburg Fairgrounds. The Pine Barn Inn over the years has stayed true to the heritage of providing superior service, the finest food and beverages, but most importantly, a warm welcome to everyone who came to visit. Come stay at the Pine Barn Inn to experience the superior service everyone is talking about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pine Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Barn Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing