We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the same old Pine Barn Inn”
Review of Pine Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Barn Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2009

Used to be owned by Arnold Palmer's in-laws, and was a charming place. Now has been bought out by Geisinger Medical Center next door. Per everyone's recommendations we booked into building #3. Don't get a room on the second floor that faces right into the parking light--headlights are at window level. Nice surprise to find microfrig and mini-microwave. Room a little small and a little dark, but my companion's room was much brighter. Bathroom is small but nicely appointed for the elderly. Service at main desk was poor. They didn't seem to know their property. Dining room has really gone downhill since change of owner. Wine list weak, much of food brought in by Sysco frozen. We went here from old memories, won't do that again.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2009

I stayed on the new building (300). The room was clean, quiet and spacious. It had a microwave and a small fridge. It supposed to have wifi, however I did not had my laptop with me so cannot evaluate. The staff was very attentive. Very convenient if you are visiting Geisinger. The food at the restaurant was good and the prices reasonable, however take in consideration that I am form NY and over here is quite expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tragaldavas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

I have stayed at the Pine Barn several times in the past 3 years
and have always had a good experience. I have stayed in the 300
building in the past but this time I had a room in the older building which was not a great experience.
The room smelled and needed a good cleaning. The bed needed
to be replaced but the major problem was the fact that there was
a garbage can left in the hallway that had not been cleaned and
smelled as if it had been there weeks. I
The next time I will request a room in the newer building and if that
is not available I will find another hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbeerbower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2008

This Pine Barn Inn is located in Danville, PA.

We stayed for one night while passing through going to Knoebels Amusement Park from Lancaster. We checked in around 5pm without any issues.

We stayed in one of the newly remodeled spacious two queen bed rooms. Overall, nice décor, very clean and quiet. No issues with the room………..except internet access….

Overall a very nice place to stay. HOWEVER, I did have a minor issue with the internet connection. Since the room was one of the newly remodeled rooms, the modem located in the room for wired hook up was not yet configured for use. The wireless connection was also not allowing any connections. After following the in room instructions, I called the third party tech support, (probably located nowhere near Danville PA). After explaining to “Ted” the tech boy that I too am a network engineer by trade and attempted to explain to him the modem status, he insisted on blaming my laptop that was running Windows Vista. I mentioned to him I could make a wireless connection to the local hospital (Geisinger Medical Center) next door as well as had a wireless connection at my previous hotel earlier in the week. Yet, he still insisted on placing blame on my system.

After “Ted”, I very politely took my conversation up to the front desk and explain to them the room offered no internet access either via wireless or wired. After explaining to them how long I was on the phone with their “tech support”, the young lady was nice enough to scratch down my information and stated they would look into it. Well I guess since I was only staying the one night, it most likely must have been corrected, (after I checked out the next day).

I’m still going to recommend the Inn. It is a very clean Inn and for the price of the room, a much better value than other local establishments.

Note to Inn: You are a local establishment, you no doubt can acquire local support for your business internet access. Outsourcing a third party company to manage services under your name will have a direct bottom line effect on your reputation if they cannot provide adequate support services. Trust me, I don’t think “Ted” the tech boy really cared if he fixed the internet access or not. You should of.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Gary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

After reading about bed bugs at the nearby Red Roof, a hotel I've frequented for almost a decade for my visits to Knoebels, I decided to give the Pine Barn a try based on recommendations from friends. Aside from the economy hotels in the area, Pine Barn had a great rate for the area.

We had a king room in the new building which I requested based on reviews here. The front desk staff is very friendly and accomodating. The hotel corridors and lobby are very nicely decorated keeping with the feel of the area. The room was very spacious and considerably clean. We had a little problem with some soap residue on a towel but a maid service supervisor quickly remedied that for us. The shower was nice but didn't have the recently common curved rods. Didn't really matter as the shower was spacious enough. My biggest complaint was the AC unit which was extremely noisy and didn't seem to be working all that well. Still, I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Danville area. A very nice surprise for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

My husband, myself and our four children stayed here for one night, August 9, 2008 for a visit to Knoebels. The hotels in this area are few and not known for exceptional service and comfort. So, I tempered my expectations for our first stay here. This hotel exceeded all expectations.
The inn consists of three buildings that total 99 rooms, and a separate building for hotel registration and restaurant. We had a King Suite (room 346) and a regular King room (room 348). Rooms were spacious, very clean, and reasonably priced.
The restaurant on site is quite tasty and you can order room service up until the restaurant closes at 10 pm. I called at 9:54 with a complicated order and it was delivered piping hot and just a i ordered it, 25 minutes later. I was expecting a wait of at least 45 minutes to an hour, based on prior room service experiences at other hotels.Room Service menu is also reasonably priced (a hamburger and fries costs about $5.95, compared to other hotels charging upwards of $15 for the same item) and breakfast buffet is a bargain at $5.95 per person, children under 3 are free.

The staff is very accommodating and courteous. I did not meet one employee who appeared less than thrilled to work there and assist the guests in any way possible. My daughter pulled a muscle the morning we were set to depart and could not walk without extreme pain. I asked the front desk if I could have a late check-out so I could assess whether she needed further medical attention. Coincidentally, the inn is on a hospital campus, so that was an added first aid bonus. The staff was very understanding and allowed us to stay until 3 p.m. so my daughter could rest and recover from her injury.

I'm really excited we found this inn as we take an annual family trip to Knoebels and now I have a wonderful place to stay. Another bonus, complimentary coffee and fresh fruit are available to all guests. Our rooms were quiet and we never heard any hallway noise. Great place, great value!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DC_snail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

The room was immaculate, comfortable, quiet and very tastefully decorated. We stayed 2 nights with our 2 children, and couldn't have been happier. We did request a room in the newer section, based on other reviews. The restaurant was very good and reasonably priced especially considering the quality, with several choices for all of us. Only about 20 minutes from Knobeles, an easy drive. My husband was reluctant to book at first because it's not a chain with know/expected quality, but later said "Thank you for finding this, it's so nice!"

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ScreenNameNorthernNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
558 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
296 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Danville Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Danville
176 reviews
22.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Frackville (Pottsville)
2.8 mi away
Super 8 Danville
Super 8 Danville
#5 of 6 in Danville
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Barn Inn

Address: 1 Pine Barn Pl, Danville, PA 17821-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range: £81 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danville Pennsylvania’s only full service hotel is the Pine Barn Inn. Build on its 19th century history, the Pine Barn Inn flourishes in keeping the tradition of early inn keeping. With its 99 spacious guest rooms and suites the Pine Barn Inn is equipped with modern amenities including HD TVs and in-room high-speed wired or wireless internet access. Satisfy your taste buds at the Pine Barn Inn’s full-service restaurant. The delicious meals that remind you of your mom’s home cooking will leave you coming back for more. Have your choice to dine in the dining room, outside on the patio, or in the rustic tavern. Room service is available to all guests during restaurant operating hours. The Pine Barn Inn is conveniently located next the Geisinger Medical Center Campus. A complimentary shuttle is available for transportation from the Inn to the hospital’s main entrance. In the summer months travel to Knoebel’s Amusement Park located just 12 miles from the Inn, or visit local hot spots to have the benefit of a day of swimming, golfing, hiking, horse-back riding, fishing and much more. Enjoy the scenic drives to view Pennsylvania’s historic farmlands. Take in the breath taking views of the country churches and covered bridges during fall season. This area is also home to the Bucknell and Susquehanna Universities and the Bloomsburg Fairgrounds. The Pine Barn Inn over the years has stayed true to the heritage of providing superior service, the finest food and beverages, but most importantly, a warm welcome to everyone who came to visit. Come stay at the Pine Barn Inn to experience the superior service everyone is talking about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pine Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Barn Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing