We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY Nice!!”
Review of Pine Barn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pine Barn Inn
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“VERY Nice!!”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Each year our family visits Knoebels for a week. My wife and I usually rent a room due to our age and the need for better accommodations such as AC, and TV. In past years we stayed at a dive in Paxinos, but wanted to move to a better place for our stay. After much searching we decided on The Pine Barn Inn. Our main concerns were price, location, and safety/cleanliness, the Pine Barn Inn had all of these.

Finding the Pine Barn Inn from Knoebels was a cinch, simply come into Danville on Rt 15 turn right on Rt 11, go two blocks and bear left onto Bloom, and go about 6 blocks and your there. The grounds are very well kept and landscaped, and the buildings are well maintained. The newer 300 Building is beautiful, and the older 200 building, which I believe is recently renovated also looked beautiful. Both are within a few feet of the main building and dining facility. There was ample parking. The registration area had a large seating area, with a big screen TV, and a loft where the office center was with a computer and printer.

We rented a King single room in the 300 building. Check in was 3PM, but we were allowed to check in a little early having drove for 3 hours to get there. The 300 building was beautiful. Antiques line the halls and stair wells. The hallways looked like those you would find in any high end hotel. Ice was on the 2nd floor, and there was a large coffee machine and Coke machine there was well. In the morning they placed a large basket of fruit there near the coffee maker. On weekday mornings, we got a complimentary newspaper at our door. The room was standard hotel layout, but it was beautiful. Clean plush carpets, nice new furniture, big flat screen TV, full fluffy pillows, and a desk. The bath area had a small vanity for the ladies to put on makeup, or for you to place your small travel bag with medications, combs, toothpaste etc. . Little extras, included an ironing board and iron, a hair dryer, an extra blanket and pillow, and a small fully stocked coffee maker. There were plenty of channels on the TV, and the room did sport free internet. The wireless internet worked, but the hard wired did not so keep that in mind. Bathroom was extra clean, and had a sizable vanity and sink area and plenty of towels. Lots of hot water for the showers. My only gripe on the bath was that the toilet was a small standard bowl, should have been a nice large oval bowl, and that the towels were a little scratchy. My only gripe on the room is that the main curtains do not draw closed. Only the sheer does, which allows light from the parking lot lights into the room. This did not end up being a problem for us and we had a parking lot light right outside our window.

In the mornings we walked out of our building, across the parking lot road and directly into the dining area. They served breakfast starting at 7AM on weekdays, 8AM on weekends. The restaurant was beautiful with lots of wait staff. We were seated promptly, and served in a reasonable amount of time. The breakfast servings were large, the food was prepared to order, and it was delicious. My coffee cup was always kept full, and they even had hand made marmalade at each table. Prices were reasonable.

The grounds were very quiet at night, and we heard little noise from other guests, only when their doors closed. We heard nothing from outside in the parking lot, or on the grounds. If you did not know it was there, you'd never know the Geisinger complex was within a few feet of the Inn. We thought for sure we'd hear an emergency chopper occasionally during the night, but we heard nothing. Over all we were very pleased with our stay, and would recommend The Pine Barn Inn to anyone who needs to be in the general region for a wedding, funeral, or to go to Knoebels, and needs accommodations. Our drive to and from Knoebels was 15 to 18 minutes depending on the time of day. About the same amount of time and distance to Shamokin.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    92
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
128
43
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, MA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

Visiting family & Knoebels during the summer. Had a great visit staying at the Pine Barn. Great location, Great restaurant, Nice clean room. The only thing that could have made the stay better was if their restaurant served breakfast. Will definitely stay there again, unless a similar quality hotel serving breakfast has the same price....

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnoSearchT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2010

My children & I stayed at the inn while my husband was recovering from surgery at Geisinger. I found the location to the hospital extremely convenient (either walk up the hill & the hospital's right there, or call the free shuttle to take you there.) Our room was clean & comfortable. The staff was wonderful and very helpful during the entire week I was there. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times as well and found the service to be wonderful & the food to be hot and delicious.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCDSmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2010

This place is wonderful, clean with a caring staff. After a bad experience the day before the Manager showed us 3 rooms before we checked in.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfa901rw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2010

The title pretty much says it all. The place has all of the basics and with a nice view of the hills and has a Subway within walking distance.

Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank DustinM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

Dinner was so good the first night, that we went back the next night to try something else on the menu. The Bison-brauten with red cabbage and spaetzle was a good October meal. The next night I requested the same sides with the lemon sauteed chicken, and the waiter and chef were happy to accomodate. Whenever we go back to Danville, we will definitely stay and dine at the Pine Barn Inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvSoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

This place is not a DUMP as some (2005) posters have said..........Myself and friends of mine have been staying here since 1992 when us Chicagoan's Discovered a marvelous place called Knoebel's Grove, an amusement park in Elysburg. Its about 9 miles from the Pine Barn Inn. When I stayed here in May 2009 the older building was under going a major renovation.........I begged them to please don't remove the green toilets and bathtubs.........but nobody listened and sparkling white ones will replace them....... All the rooms in the older building were gutted. Even the interior walls were gone. I had walked into some of them as they were open at the time...

We have stayed in both the older building and new three story tower (Elevator included) and have never had a bad room or experience. The restuarant menu is a bit limited for us so we eat elsewhere. There is no pool, spa or exercise room here. There is a gift shop & restuarant, though.

We have stayed here all three seasaons, the spring, summer and fall and will return this October. The hotel is in a quiet residential part of town, but there can be some ambulance / Helicotper noise next door at the hospital. PIne Barn Inn is one of the few hotels I've stayed in that actually has up and down windows that you can leave open, they actually have screens on them, unlike the major chain hotels that don't provide screens.

The Parking lot is big and has three entracnces. The office is set back behind the lower hotel building and its a bit of a steep incline to drive up to it....

Hotel staff has always been friendly..............we remember back in the early 90's when the same folks worked there year after year, but I guess that has changed reading other reviews..... sounds like younger / newer people working there that don't stick around long...

Generally I get a double bed room or a single bed room. No frills, but it has a nice old desk with glass top, some rooms we've stayed in had a cloth chair and 19" TV on a pedestal stand..

FYI - in 1992 there was a 12 room one story building in front of the grass hill to the right of the office. These rooms had 50's 60' decor and were very retro. We always loved staying in these older rooms until their demise when the Tower building was built and the parking lot expanded.

There is a SUBWAY about three blocks north of PBI.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParkAvenueMOOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
524 reviews
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
283 reviews
7.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Danville
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Best Western Danville Inn
10.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
Comfort Suites Bloomsburg
#5 of 8 in Bloomsburg
263 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 8 in Bloomsburg
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Barn Inn

Property: Pine Barn Inn
Address: 1 Pine Barn Pl, Danville, PA 17821-1299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Barn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Danville Pennsylvania’s only full service hotel is the Pine Barn Inn. Build on its 19th century history, the Pine Barn Inn flourishes in keeping the tradition of early inn keeping. With its 99 spacious guest rooms and suites the Pine Barn Inn is equipped with modern amenities including HD TVs and in-room high-speed wired or wireless internet access. Satisfy your taste buds at the Pine Barn Inn’s full-service restaurant. The delicious meals that remind you of your mom’s home cooking will leave you coming back for more. Have your choice to dine in the dining room, outside on the patio, or in the rustic tavern. Room service is available to all guests during restaurant operating hours. The Pine Barn Inn is conveniently located next the Geisinger Medical Center Campus. A complimentary shuttle is available for transportation from the Inn to the hospital’s main entrance. In the summer months travel to Knoebel’s Amusement Park located just 12 miles from the Inn, or visit local hot spots to have the benefit of a day of swimming, golfing, hiking, horse-back riding, fishing and much more. Enjoy the scenic drives to view Pennsylvania’s historic farmlands. Take in the breath taking views of the country churches and covered bridges during fall season. This area is also home to the Bucknell and Susquehanna Universities and the Bloomsburg Fairgrounds. The Pine Barn Inn over the years has stayed true to the heritage of providing superior service, the finest food and beverages, but most importantly, a warm welcome to everyone who came to visit. Come stay at the Pine Barn Inn to experience the superior service everyone is talking about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Barn Hotel Danville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing