We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely appointed and excellent service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abigail House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abigail House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Danville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
“Nicely appointed and excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

I loved this house! The house is all newly renovated, beautifully done and the best B&B I've been in in a long time. Carla is a lovely hostess as are her wonderful helpers - they couldn't have been more accommodating. Rooms are absolutely lovely, comparable to some of the best 5 stars I've been in around the world. From the amenities provided to the tile work, attention to detail and luxuriousness of the towels. Love the tea/coffee service, ability to make you feel right at home from the minute you arrive and attention to what you need. I will definitely try to stay here again - even if its out of my way! And Carla is a great area travel expert - dinner advice was spot-on and convenient. Thank you again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    7
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
65
131
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We made the right decision to stay at Abigail's House last June enroute from Niagara Fall to NYC. Everything we saw from the photos on the web site was exactly as we found it. The house is beautifully decorated and we were treated like VIP's being the only guests in the house at that time of our visit. We had the living area of the house to ourself as, as the owner, Carla does not reside there. The rooms were well decorated , large and the beds were so comfortable to sleep in after a long day of driving.

My husband and I stayed in Abigail's room and our daughter stayed in the Foss room. Carla, gave us her contact no to us because we were not sure when we will arrive there. Despite changing the estimated arrival time a couple of time, she was very accomodative and was there at the house when we arrive at around 7pm. She gave us tips on where to eat and also took us to a tour of the house and tell its history.

Although, we have a little problem with the aircon in the Foss room as it being too cold, everything were perfect, we couldn't ask for more. Thank you Carla for the nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jumiah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City Island, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The inn keepers have taken a house rich with history and lovingly restored the interior and exterior paying attention to every detail.  The rooms are spacious, well appointed, impeccably clean, and extremely comfortable.

Upon our arrival we were papmered with fresh baked cookies and brewed coffee.  The staff was  friendly, extremely helpful, and provided well thought tips of where to eat and things to do, directions included.  Each morning we were served a delicious breakfast that rivals any five star hotel.
 
From the time we reserved our rooms we were pleased with our decision to stay here.  Elegant, comfortable and tranquil - we will certainly return again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

The staff was super accommodating. Room was very tastefully decorated, comfy and clean. Bathroom was great. Location convenient. Breakfast was delicious. I would definitely stay again! Highly recommend Abigail House.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My wife and I were going to a friend's wedding in Danville and decided to come up a day early and stay the day after. We decided to spend the first night in a bed and breakfast instead of a Holiday Inn/chain hotel. How glad we are that we chose the Abigail House. The home itself is beautiful, very unexpected. It is located about 2 miles off of Rt. 80, very easy to get to. It is within walking distance to nearly anywhere you would want/need to walk (the "main strip," where most of the restaurants and little shops are located, is only one block over; one block over in the OTHER direction is a large grocery store). There is a small stone parking lot right in front of the home's entrance, very convenient for loading/unloading the car and saves trying to find street parking. The home has a beautiful dining room (where breakfast is served), as well as a large and comfortable sitting room (if you care to sit/relax or watch something on the large flatscreen TV). There is also a hot/cold "beverage center" to the side of the staircase, for guests to enjoy at their convenience (there were different juices, sodas, teas, yogurts, etc., as well as a Keurig brewing system with different hot coffees/teas/hot chocolates). One of the rooms, the Vella I believe, is located across from the dining room on the first floor. All of the other rooms, including the one we stayed in (the Abigail Room) are located upstairs. Our room could not have been more perfect. It was EXTREMELY spacious, with a king-sized bed, sitting area with a desk and loveseat, a large closet, and a very roomy bathroom which had a double vanity and large walk-in shower. Our room also had a mini fridge, flat-screen TV, and a small electric fireplace (which we did not use). Everything in the room (and, for that, the entire house) was decorated so nicely. True to the old charm of the home, with modern conveniences that did not distract or take away from the old beauty. The bed could not have been more comfortable - my wife and I typically sleep horribly away from home because we like the comfort of our own bed, but this bed was like sleeping on a cloud (and I have to ask Carla where the bed linens are from because I think that's what made that bed. So comfortable!). The breakfast was incredibly scrumptious (and plentiful). We were brought out a big bowl of fresh fruit; eggs, hashbrowns, and potatoes; pancakes, sausages, bacon...pretty much anything you'd want for breakfast. All homemade to perfection (in my opinion). We did not leave hungry!

As for the staff, Carla had provided me with her cell phone number if I had any need of getting in touch for anything. She was also very courteous and prompt in getting back to me via email. She was so welcoming and warm when we were at the house, and was willing to provide or do anything to make our stay more comfortable or enjoyable. There could not have been a better person running this house.

In regards to the location, I have no idea why you might be coming to or staying in Danville - we would never come to the area again, most likely; I'm not too familiar with the area, but unless you are coming for a specific reason (like we did, for a wedding) there seems to be very little to do in the area. You might find something to do to make a weekend getaway, I'm not totally sure. Regardless, if you live in the area anyways and are looking for a quick escape for a night, or if you're passing through and need somewhere to stay, I say ditch the chain hotels for a night and give the Abigail House a try. It was worth every single penny spending the extra over a hotel, and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Abigail room. Each room is described (with pictures) on the website. What is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights in July. The staff was very welcoming, and the house is beautifully decorated and clean. There is parking right in front. The breakfast was delicious, and you can choose what you want from a menu in advance. The dining room is fancy and has several tables for four. The bathroom in our room was nice and big, with a rainshower head, a hand-held shower, and a tub with jacuzzi-type jets. The bed was large and comfy. Internet access was reliable and free. The only problem we had was that the AC in our room (the Foss) went rogue and refused to turn down or off, so it got too cold in our room. Our hostess said the repair person couldn't come until Monday, but she offered us another room. We decided to stay where we were, but she gave us the key to a vacant, clean room, in case we got too cold and wanted to switch in the middle of the night. I'd highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMHoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

My girlfriend and I were driving through to Niagara Falls and this was our 1/2 way point. Carla responded quickly to my reservation request even though it was late at night. We arrived 5 hours later than we originally told Carla, this was not a problem. The house is amazing, renovations are top notch and respectful of the houses history. We stayed in the Vella room, everything was great. Carla gave us a tour of the entire house and told us the history of the house and past residents. Every room is done to perfection. The staff follows suit with the house, they are great. Breakfast was wonderful. If you are driving through, do yourself a favor, STAY HERE.
Sorry no pool, the rating below won't go away.

Room Tip: Vella room is on the 1st floor, but all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffinHampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Inn at Turkey Hill
The Inn at Turkey Hill
#2 of 7 in Bloomsburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Pine Barn Inn
Pine Barn Inn
#2 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Danville Inn
10.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
Hampton Inn Bloomsburg
#1 of 7 in Bloomsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abigail House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 12 Center St, Danville, PA 17821-1045
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Danville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail house is located in the heart of Danville, Pa. We are walking distance to downtown, and only 7 blocks from Geisinger Medical Center. Amenities include luxury bedding, free Wifi, off street parking, mini-refrigerators, private baths with jacuzzi tubs, flat screen tv's, and gourmet breakfast. Cancellation policy: The guest can cancel free of charge until 14 days before arrival. The guest will be charged 30% of the total price if they cancel in the 14 days before arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Abigail House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing