We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place if you need to take your pet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Danville Inn
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed over 4th of July weekend at this hotel primarily because they allowed pets. We went to Knoebel's amusement park and on a tour of a coal mine. Those will be separate reviews.

This hotel was okay but like others have mentioned, the smell of smoke, can be very overpowering. We were given a room on the top floor which was supposed to be a non-smoking room. In my experience, smoke rises so I don't understand why they have the "non-smoking" rooms on the top floors.

Since we were bringing our dog with us (there is no weght limit by the way, our dog is 60 pounds) we weren't expecting a first class room or hotel. The room, however, was quite large and had a decent bed and a nice television. The bathroom was quite large and the only complaint would be that it was a bit worn. Again, we didn't expect too much since we know other dogs have been there but you really knew that other dogs were in this room! It wreaked of dog and smoke. There were stains all over the carpets and the housekeeping was not up to par at all. There was dirt and debris (food wrappers) behind the couch and lamps and when we pulled back the sheets on the bed, a dirty cover to a soft drink container popped out.

We had a room with a king-sized bed and a pull-out couch. They gave us two flat pillows that were already on the bed but when my husband called the front desk to ask for an additional pillow, he was told "we don't keep any extra pillows in the hotel", which I found quite odd. He asked "you mean just today?" and was told "No, never". There were no pillows inside the pull-out couch so I had to wonder what we would have done if we needed to utilize the pull-out couch. So, if you are going here, be sure to bring pillows from home if you like extra pillows. Very strange.

The breakfast was decent and what you would expect from a continental breakfast. The location was pretty good considering that it was just a short drive to places like Walmart and many nice restaurants in Bloomsberg.

If we had to travel again to this area and bring our dog, I'd stay again for that reason alone but otherwise, I'd look for a better place to go.

Room Tip: If you don't want to smell smoke, don't take a top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy2review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

Stopped here on the way outwest, Glad we had make reservations. Hotel was a bit pricey but it was clean and comfortable. Would stay agin

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swim4gold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

I took my mother (70's) and kids (7 & 13) to Knoebels for 2 days and we decided to stay overnight in Danville (abt. 15-20 minute drive) at the beginning of the 4th of July weekend. After a previous HORRIBLE experience at the Days Inn across the street a few yrs ago - we were more than pleased with the stay at the Best Western this time. The facility was well kept, smelled fresh, the staff was more than helpful - accommodating my Mom with a ground floor room by the door, all at a good price (Sr. discount) The room was nothing special, but was large, with comfortable beds and the bathroom was newer - very spacious and clean. The only negative was we did hear people walking in the room upstairs throughout the night - but nothing bad enough to complain about. We had the breakfast in the morning and were happy to find more than continental with eggs, yogurts, pancakes, fruit, muffins, cereals, juices, coffee and the kids LOVED the waffle maker. Mom commented that this breakfast would've easily cost us over $30 at a local restaurant. We had plenty to hold us through another fun day at the park.

Room Tip: we requested an easier access room for my Mom during the reservation process and got a great locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steamco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed here while taking in a weekend of racing at Selinsgrove Speedway. Overall an OK hotel. There was a huge swin meet in the area, which meant probably more kids than normal zipping around the halls late at night, but that is not the fault of the hotel. Room was clean, bed was OK, but not super comfortable, and the continental breakfast was less than stellar. Lady at the front desk was not real excited to see us when we checked in, but the lady in the morning was very nice during checkout Would I stay here again - yes. Was I in awe of anything - no.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Recently stayed at the hotel for the PIAA Swimming competition. The hotel is right off I80 which made it very easy to get back and forth from the pool. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. Although the hotel is a bit worn the rooms were clean and the breakfast had a good assortment. I can't comment on the pool as we did not use it. I have to say that the wireless connection was a bit slow. Overall it was a good experience and value for the money.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimmom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

When we checked in we were greated by BOB @service desk who couldn't be more helpful, as far as gettting the room we wanted, finding a decent restautant even providing directions or a take out menu if we wanted.
We found our room to be clean,spacious, & tastefully decorated. When we realized we would need extra towels, Bob delivered them personally to our room. The bed was a bit hard, & pillows were not the best, should have been updated., But Honestly, this hotel offers an outstanding continental breakfast, with a waffle machine, to make your own homemade waffels!!
I was impressed with the variety of food.
Bottom line, Best Western in Danville will stand out if I ever need to visit this area again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeachlover1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2010

good value hotel, clean, worth staying in for a few nights, rooms are large and comfortable

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 November 2010

Thank you for taking time to post your comments concerning your recent stay with us. I am glad ot know that we met your expectations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you
Michele L Fisher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Danville
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 6 in Danville
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Pine Barn Inn
Pine Barn Inn
#2 of 6 in Danville
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Super 8 Danville
Super 8 Danville
#5 of 6 in Danville
528 reviews
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bloomsburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Danville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Danville Inn

Address: 79 Old Valley School Rd, Danville, PA 17821-9510 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Danville Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Danville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Danville
Price Range: £57 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Danville Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great property right off of I-80. Quick on and off the interstate ramp. Heated in-door pool! express check-in & Check-out available. Try our new Deluxe continental breakfast. (6:00am to 9:00am) Close to Geisinger ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Danville Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Danville Hotel Danville
Best Western Danville Hotel
Danville Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing