We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolf Hollow is AMAZING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at Wolf Hollow and it was amazing. The staff are true professionals. Tammy, Hugo, Colleen and Brandon made us feel like part of their family. Julie and Shawn the owners are starting a new resort in the Pocono that is by far above the rest. The rooms have modern amenities with an old world charm. Just STUNNING!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsG42614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, General Manager at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thanks for thinking of us when planning your vacation. We are very happy to hear you had a great time. Please let us know the next time you are in town and we would like to buy you a appetizer. Thanks again and we are happy to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

A year ago I reviewed the Water Gap Country club, but looks like it never posted. So here is my "year later, reflection review"

We booked a wedding at WGCC in 2012 for an April 2013 wedding. Sometime after we booked, the owners changed. That didn't really concerned me until, 2 weeks before the wedding I was contacted by Tammy, the new event coordinator. She told me that Hotel Impossible would be filming and renovating during our wedding. Obviously this turned an already stressful crunch time into a curious headache that we could do nothing about. We decided to be optimistic and think "hey, it might be fun to be on tv." There was nothing we could do about the construction, so might as well try to have some fun.

Overall the wedding was amazing and Tammy was a lifesaver. The food was delicious (though we should have had mashed potatoes instead of rice, but I'm probably the only one who noticed that detail!) The view and grounds were still beautiful, as was the reception area, with the exposed-beam ceiling, which drew us to the location in the first place. The bridal suite was beautifully redone by the show. Like most of the building, it was in need of updating.. I just wish it could have been done before or even after our wedding.

My criticism is with the new owners. If it wasn't for Tammy, my husband and I would never had known what was going on. I feel, as someone taking over an preexisting business, Julie and Sean should have made sure to find out about any upcoming events and contact those people to let them know what was going on. Our rehearsal (the day before the wedding) was the first time we ever met Julie, and of course it was a hectic introduction because there was film crew all around us. I feel the show and the owners used our wedding as an opportunity for added drama and promotion. So in that regard, I wish the new owners had put their guests' needs before their own.

Yes, the hotel needed work.. but did it really have to be the same weekend as our wedding?!!? Some of our guests unfortunately experienced confusion with room reservations and check in. (for a while the number was disconnect, then phone calls weren't being returned. They had to check in at the pro-shop instead of the front desk, since there was no front desk! So people felt a little scrambled.) In the end, everything pretty much worked out fine.. it was just extra stress at the time.

We have yet to return to see the renovations. I hear it's beautiful. I wish we and our guests would have been able to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LostInWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We appreciate your response. We know it was a hectic experience for you and especially your wedding weekend. We (New Ownership) settled and took over the property the week of your wedding. We also lost a lot of control due to what Hotel Impossible was doing to the facility. We do 100% appreciate you and your family for sticking it out. We know a lot was going on and during a time of a wedding is not what anyone would want to encumber. We wanted to honor your wishes and would have cancelled the filming if you would not have agreed to do so. ONce we all agreed to do the show- it was under their control. We do want to show off some of what we did after the show left. We renovated the entire facility. We want you to enjoy the place you were married. Please accept your next stay on us. We want to show you we truly care about you choosing Water Gap Country Club. Tammy can arrange your FREE Hotel Stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The perfect place for a golf weekend. Fun course. The hotel rooms are on the course grounds, so they are easily accessible. The rooms are also clean and comfortable. The employees are very pleasant and eager to make your stay enjoyable. Will definitely go back. Excellent Experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMF24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thanks for staying with us and saying such nice things. Hopefully you will be back in the summer to enjoy the pool. Next time you are in town- a round of golf is on us. Thanks again for your support. Please let our Head Professional Bill Lee- know you have a round of golf on us. Mention the date of your trip and contact info and we will gladly give you a free round of golf.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I took a trip to the poconos for a ski weekend. We looked online and found this place and it looked very quaint. We booked a ski and stay package for a great price. We had our hotel and skiing voucher included. The staff was wonderful!! The waiter and bartender were top notch. They really made us feel at home and were very helpful with getting us around the area. The fireplace in the dining room with the couches was my favorite place to be after a long day of skiing. The bartender bought us hot drinks and we sat in front of the fireplace and ate. It was wonderful to say the least! the food was amazing, may i suggest the eggplant parm dinner. we can not wait to bring our friends and family during the summer! we will definitely be back! if you want great service and a nice getaway this is your place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course. The sunset is unbelievable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnnythegolfer s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks again for your review of Wolf Hollow. I will pass along your kind words to our staff. We hope we can continue to make your vacation experience a memorable event for years to come. Please feel free to reach out to us with any request. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My family and I from Long Island NY stayed for the holidays and New Year. The staff was great and burgers are the best I ever had! I recommend the Wolf Hollow Burger. We spent our days at Shawnee skiing which is 5-7 min away. Our dinner at the club was in front of the fire every night. The property is beautiful and the staff were great. We are going to come back in the spring for golf. You can see all the improvements to the lobby and restaurant. Rooms were also warm and clean. We will be back soon! Thanks again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HamptonCastaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are glad the trip was a great time. Please feel free to reach out to us with any requests. We are happy to assist in customizing any trip you plan to the Poconos. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here a few months after the new owners took over and the hotel was featured on Hotel Impossible. It's still a disaster.

Our flight was delayed 3 hours from Los Angeles. We ended up arriving at the hotel around 10pm tired and jet lagged. There was no one at the reception desk. The only person we could find to help us was the bartender. He came to the front desk and attempted to find our confirmation information. Understandably, this is not his normal job, but he could not locate any information for us. We had an email receipt from the hotel with a confirmation number but that did not help. There were 2 rooms available, so he let us pick the one we wanted, which were 2 fulls instead of the queen bed we had booked. There were several bugs in the room, no art work (just holes in the wall) and worst of all no thermostat. It appeared there was a wall heater, but no control in the room. We hunkered down for a cold evening. The next morning we got up, and left the room around 8. No one that the reception desk again. We found someone hosting a brunch in the restaurant who looked for someone to help us, but couldn't find anyone.

We left for the day. Around noon I called and left a message on the general voice mail, leaving our information, alerting them what room we were in and to ask about checkout procedures. I got a return call around 4 that afternoon. The receptionist apologized for losing our reservation and not having the room we'd booked and prepaid for available. She offered us the weekday rate as a compensation, which turned out to be a savings of about $15 total.

We "checked out" the next day, which was just leaving our room key at the deserted front desk.

Not worth it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank FerandBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear FerandBert- We truly apologize for your troubled experience at our hotel. We understand your need for sleep and comfort upon a long trip. I wanted to address your concerns quickly. The Pocono's typically have lady bugs throughout the region and more abundant this time of year. We make reference to that upon arrival and in your check in packet. They are harmless, however if you are not aware of them- it is always a shock. Our hotel was built in the early 20's and the rooms heat is controlled on one system in each wing. We are upgrading our system in the 2014 season. We do want to make it right and offer you a complimentary hotel room and round of golf the next time you are in town. We do understand this may be too late- however do want to show you we care about your business and appreciate you choosing our hotel. I hope we can try and make this up to you in years to come. We again apologize for any issue you had during your stay. Sincerely Wolf Hollow Ownership

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This has been the 3rd year I have come to Water Gap CC with a group of friends and I look forward to it every year. The course has a lot of history and is challenging but the magnificent views and good times with friends certainly make up for the poor golf play. When you are done with your round you can enjoy a drink outside at the tiki bar, which overlooks several holes. I also must say the dinner definitely improved from earlier years (I had the tortellini). As for the rooms, you know what you are getting yourself into so don't expect big city amenities or luxuries. It is what it is, and it is very homey and warm. The staff are all friendly and do a great job accommodating a group of over 25 guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GolftravelerPhl, Owner at Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We hope to see you again soon. Let Tammy or Colleen know of any specific needs you may have and we would be happy to accommodate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware Water Gap
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
662 reviews
14.0 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,490 reviews
12.6 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club

Address: 288 Mountain Road, Delaware Water Gap, PA 18327
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Delaware Water Gap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Delaware Water Gap
Price Range: £51 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 Acre 18 hole Championship Golf Course, Hotel, Wedding and Banquet facility. Open Year Round. Open to the public. Home of the Eastern Open- where Walter Hagen won a PGA Tournament in 1927. 6 Miles to Shawnee Ski Resort, 15 Minutes to Camelback. 15 Minutes from Mount Airy Casino. 20 Minutes from Pocono Raceway. Property sits on the Appalachian Trail in Historic Delaware Water Gap. Entrance way to the Poconos. 70 Miles from the George Washington Bridge and 1.5hrs to Philadelphia. Stay and Play (Golf) and Stay and Ski Packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Ebookers so you can book your Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Water Gap Country Club Hotel Delaware Water Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing