We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Piping Hot Jazz and Food”
Review of Deer Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Delaware Water Gap
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Deer Head Inn
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Piping Hot Jazz and Food”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We've been to the Deer Head three times in the past three months primarily for the phenomenal jazz. It's about an hour from our home and well worth the trip. Big time jazz players...Grammy award winners. They play three sets from 7-11 p.m. and there is a nominal entertainment charge...about 1/10th of what they collect in big city. You have your table for the whole evening. They don't kick you out after a set. It's cozy and intimate. Anything but fancy. Very informal. Wear your jeans. You can talk to the musicians, too. The place is smokin'. And, to boot, the food is fantastic....and reasonably priced. We've had fish, spinach turnover, crab cakes, burgers, parmasean, strawberry shortcake. Everythig is delicious, wholesome, well-prepared, and nicely service...and it comes fresh-made from the kitchen piping hot...just like the jazz. Have not stayed at the Deer Head. It's an old building. So, I wouldn't anticipate larger rooms. Just go for th entertainment and dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TastyBake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    23
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Stayed at the Deer Head Inn for a quick anniversary gettaway. Good comfortable King room with good bedding, nicely appointed bathroom, strong WIFI in the room, old world charm in the furniture and a welcoming staff.

Don't look to go to bed before about 11:30 PM on a Thursday night as the sounds of the Jazz from the club in the first floor can be heard in the rooms. But, then the Jazz is a centerpiece of why you should look to visit this venue. Great house band...just loved them. Guest band that followed was OK too. Good food and drinks served in a nice laid back and comfortable setting. No better club sound found in most NYC locals.

Be ready for stairs to your room, but as the clerk told me, with our stairs we don't need a gym in the place. You do get to rest up on a lovely balcony, with rockers and other seating. Real nice for a break from whatever your plans are.

Deer Head is close to Shawnee resort where you can find food and the Shawnee Playhouse. Also good BBQ in the area at Tickle My Pig BBQ in East Stroudsburg. Small hole in the wall with about eight tables but some of the best home cooked BBQ you will find. The Mac and Cheese and the Collards are the best. Ribs good too. Don't skip the Deers Head kitchen, which also makes great food and dessert.

Not far from the Pocono outlets, so you can get your "shopping on" in style. Parking in from, so no worries about you car. Make the trip, you will enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whitwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Deer Head Inn, with it's freshly painted, high-ceilinged rooms sans television takes you back to an earlier time.

You will enjoy an updated spotless bathroom, a friendly staff, very good food - dinner and breakfast- and excellent service, but the real draw of the place is jazz.

We saw Houston Persons and the place was packed- even bar seats were reserved. Note: make reservations early!

The combination of a great tenor saxophonist and an audience (including the jazz great Phil Woods!) there to hear the music made for musical magic- perhaps the best performance we've ever heard.

In the daylight, walk three blocks to get on the Appalachian Trail. Also, don't miss the cool Antoine Dutot School and Museum to get a feel of the historic lavish hotels in Delaware Water Gap at the turn of the century. An old fashion soda fountain with egg creams and milkshakes just across the street completes the old time feel.

Check out the Resort Overlook about a mile up the road to see the scene of so many paintings of the Delaware Water Gap and the Delaware River (you'll need to use your imagination and look beyond the freeway).

This rustic inn is simply heaven.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynofVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We had a lovely evening there last night, with some great music. I see that some reviewer have complained about being asked to be quiet during the sets. Au contraire, the only sour note for me was a loud couple next to be at the bar talking incessantly during the music, which was being recorded. If only the staff had told them to shut up.

But aside from that, this is a lovely historic pub with a long jazz tradition.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
322 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Good location for exploring Shawnee Mountain area attractions. It is a nice historic inn, no-frills but spacious rooms, clean, antique pieces here or there, walking distance to a couple of good restaurants. Ask for detailed instructions on how to operate the thermostats - we had a large party that occupied most of the rooms in the entire inn, and every room inexplicably had a problem of the thermostat turning itself off after a few minutes of running at night; a bit of an issue in mid-December... The restaurant at the inn is quite popular with locals for breakfast, and serves pretty good fare both for breakfast and at dinner. It also doubles as a jazz-club, with nightly live music shows, which could be a good thing or a bad thing, depending on perspective. A lot of people come specifically for music and dinner combo and expect to have a concert-like near-quietness in the room; large groups that want to have conversations during their dinner will be looked at with disdain and may even be asked to "keep it down" by a staff member. In these situations, everybody gets annoyed, unable to enjoy what they came for (be it music or conversation). On our first night, we were definitely among those who disturbed the music-lovers with our chatting, no matter how hard we tried to keep our conversations to whispering levels. On our second night, we decided to skip the music and go out for a meal elsewhere, which was undoubtedly well-received by the audience that came for the concert.

Overall, a positive impression of the stay, definitely above average.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IlyaBurlak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

My husband and I had a great time here recently. It was our first time, and it was even more charming than we had expected. The room was furnished w/interesting vintage pieces, and the bathroom was new and sparkling. We took advantage of the room/food/music cover package. We had reserved a couple of weeks ahead, and a very nice table was reserved for us with a great view of the quartet playing that night. I had not heard live jazz for a long time, and the music was stellar. Everyone was so welcoming, it really added to the pleasure. Oh, and the food was delicious! We will absolutely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Dear Deer Head Inn,

I came in Friday night with a group of seven people celebrating a birthday with a family member. We were very excited to find a live music venue we could spend this special evening.

However, our night became less than enjoyable when a staff member came up to me to announce that the piano player commented to him that we were breaking her concentration by our conversations, which were a tiny bit louder than a whisper. If we were rowdy, or out of control, I would have understood why this comment would have been made, but being a family member of a professional jazz musician, I understand the proper etiquette that coincides with going to a performance.

Considering we spent over three hundred dollars in your establishment, which had maybe ten other patrons in it, and that the staff sat a group of seven people right by the stage, perhaps the staff member that commented to us regarding our volume should have been thankful that we were even there in the first place spending money in a otherwise empty restaurant.

It seems from my experience that your establishment has something of a identity crisis. Is it a restaurant, or a music venue? If it is a restaurant that provides entertainment for its guests, then it must be understood that the patrons dining would be involved in conversation. Perhaps the musician in question would be better suited to playing a theater venue where the audience is quiet and only there to provide for the ego of the performer.

We come to the area quite frequently and your restaurant could have made a group of repeat customers. If your staff member could have kept the performers comments to himself, we would have been none the wiser. After all, people in large groups that come to restaurants when on vacation, do tend to use the time to catch up especially on a birthday dinner.

This e mail will be posted on any and every social networking site that your establishment is listed on. Perhaps having people read it will help them make the decision to avoid your business.

In addition, comments like these tend to be teachable moments for staff members in a customer service oriented position. Having been an owner and operator in several customer related businesses over the past 20 plus years I would not have remarked to the customer and been a bit more understanding that perhaps the performer was being overly dramatic about playing a small town empty venue, and not Royal Albert hall.

Sincerely,

Disappointed

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank versean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delaware Water Gap
0.7 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
103 reviews
1.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
1.5 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#6 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Head Inn

Property: Deer Head Inn
Address: 5 Main St, Delaware Water Gap, PA 18327
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Delaware Water Gap
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Delaware Water Gap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Deer Head Inn, home of jazz in the Poconos. The inn boasts 10 rooms each with private bath, 2 of which are suites. Our menu of eclectic American Continental is bound to satisfy everyone. We serve both classic dishes as well as adventurous faire. Our focaccia bread is baked fresh daily. We are open Thursday-Saturday 5:30 PM to 11:00 PM and Sundays 4:30 PM to 8:00 PM. We have live music Thursday thru Sunday. Reservations are strongly suggested. During warmer months we offer trivia on Wednesdays starting at 8:00 PM and usually ending around 10:30 PM. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Deer Head Hotel Delaware Water Gap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing