We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pedal and Paddle”

Edge of the Woods Outfitters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Edge of the Woods Outfitters offers self guided Delaware River Trips and Bike Rentals in the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. We also operate a retail store that serves as a popular resupply for Appalachian Trail Hikers, and visitors interested in outdoor adventure. EOW is proud to offer free trip planning and National Park information. Each day during the summer season, EOW offers family outdoor adventures that are perfect for first timers. We also handle groups that want an extreme, multi day biking and boating adventures. For groups we offer guided trips, and pickup and drop off service, biking and hiking tours, canoe, kayak and raft trips. Call today to book your trip!
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pedal and Paddle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Our Pontiac Solstice and Saturn Sky car club held its annual summer solstice get together in the Poconos in 2014. As an extra attraction, I helped arrange a Pedal and Paddle event with Edge of the Woods Outfitters. It was very easy to set things up, even from a thousand miles away. On the appointed morning, our bike riders were picked up and Bushkill Inn and transported to the bike trail. At noon, those wanting to participate in only the paddling portion of the ride were picked up and dropped off at a picnic site along the river where the owners of Edge of the Woods, Chuck and his wife, served a great picnic lunch for all. (I say picnic lunch, but it was more like an outdoor New York deli with meats, cheeses, fruit, and even cold beer and watermelon.

Edge of the Woods is large enough for a pretty good sized group but small enough to give special attention to the details that make an adventure like this a joy that will last forever.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    12
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Canoe/Bike combo ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Offering a paddle and peddle trip is why we chose them. Trip was seamless and service was great. Canoes were clean and in great condition and much to my surprise the bike were of good quality and in excellent working condition. A big plus is that you don't have to do both on the same day. 10 mile canoe trip took us 3 hours with high/fast water due to heavy rains the previous days.

Helpful?
2 Thank DelawareBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great service (scary t-storm!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the first phone call until the final drop off, each member of the staff was friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They had a small stand to buy sunglasses, drinks and sunscreen at the registration spot which was also helpful since I forgot my sunscreen. They just seemed like they were trying to be helpful throughout.
One major piece of advice - check the weather! We ended up in a serious thunderstorm... thunder and lightening right where we were. We paddled through the rain until the lightening started and we found somewhere to pull over and stayed there for 15 minutes fearing a tree was going to get struck and fall on us.
The 10 mile trip took us 5 hours including the thunderstorm, a couple short stops and without paddling straight the whole time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank shmeetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great Bike Rental!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I rented some bikes for a nice bike ride along the Delaware River with my family. The staff was extremely courteous, friendly, and helpful. The bikes were high quality, allowing us all to have a great time. Would definitely rent again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shabbir V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great 10 mile canoeing trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My family rented canoes from the very friendly owner who answered all of our questions. The canoes were put in and out of the Delaware River for us. The trip was a lot of fun and the scenery was incredible. You did not feel like you were in NJ or PA. It was a very easy 3 hour trip as the current practically carried your canoe down the river. There are plenty of places to stop to enjoy a picnic lunch or rest.

Helpful?
1 Thank 67lakeshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Edge of the Woods Outfitters also viewed

Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Edge of the Woods Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing