We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Do Trip in the Delaware Gap”
Review of Water Gap Trolley Experience - CLOSED

Water Gap Trolley Experience
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live Narrated Historic Virtual Tour featuring Delaware Water Gap and Shawnee on Delaware located in the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area. Knowledgeable Tour Guides not only give you the history of the area but also point out Must See and Do local hot spots. Also enjoy interviews with local notables.
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This was one of the first 'tourist' things i did in the Pocono region. If you search around online and go to their website you can get a coupon for 10% off. Although there maybe others online as well.

They are buses that look like old trolley cars. This might sound cheesy but it does work well. Before your tour use the bathroom on site (Portable bathroom) as whilst there are stops along the way none have bathroom facilities and there are none on the trolleys.

There is food on site and a well stocked gift shop, there is also a load of flyers you can pick up there for money off at other attractions nearby. Indeed your ticket gets you discounts with local businesses anyway. There is mini-golf on site, it's not state of the art but will keep your kids amused.

Anyhow on with the tour, the buses don't have air con on them but the windows do all drop down trolley bus style to give reasonable ventilation. The guide seemed pretty knowledgeable about the areas history. He gives a good running commentary and points out sites of interest and relays their history to you as you drive along. He also stopped in several places and you could get out if you wanted to, the stop overlooking the gap is worth getting out for a photo opp. Be aware that at some times of year (We've done the tour again with visiting family) trees/bushes/leaves can partially obscure the view of a couple of sites but not many.

We learnt a lot from the guide about the areas history (Very popular with Jackie Gleason and co). My daughter aged 5 loved it both times.

Note the trolleys run to much later on in the 'season' than other PA tourist businesses. Free parking on site - my tip - pick somewhere shady!
Lastly the 'Apple Pie Bakery' just a stones throw away is 'Highly' recommended! I now drive an hour just to buy my pies from there! It's not on Trip Advisor so I can't review it!
We never had trouble getting on but I see from other reviews that it may get very busy at times so worth a call to them
Hope you found this review helpful.

4  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

38 - 42 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We tried to take this tour during Founder's Day. We were told that there was an opening as someone else had not shown up. The woman at the window advised us and two other parties to come back 10 min before the boarding time. When we arrived, the other parties names were scratched off but ours wasn't. When we tried to pay, the woman said the original party had shown up. She lied! Their name was not scratched out! Apparently she didn't want us to ride her trolley for some reason. I overheard several other people saying they went back several times but couldn't get on either. I know they were busy but if they would have just admitted up front there was no room instead of telling people to keep coming back it would have been better. She told me to come back another day. I'll never go back to that place. The town is a drab down-on-its-luck kind of place. Save your money and your time. Don't go to DWG.

1  Thank RRGUY9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Owner at Water Gap Trolley Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

We would like to apologize for any misunderstanding regarding reservations on Founders Day. There are actually 2 lists for reservations. 1st list is for those that call ahead - the other is a Wait List in case there are no shows. We hold reservations until the last minute in case people are caught in traffic. The wait list is honored in the order people come to the window - and according to the number of seats needed. We do our best to accommodate as many as possible but unfortunately sometimes there just aren't enough seats. We never intentionally mislead anybody.

Founder's Day was actually quite a busy day in DWG with a little something for everyone! There was a Classic Car show plus an Artisan Show at the top of the hill. At the Trolley Depot we hosted live entertainment that day along with 10 unique Vendors and Pony Rides to help support Horses 4 Hope (Therapy Horses!)

DWG is a quaint little town and we realize it isn't for everyone, however, we do try to make everyone's visit enjoyable. If you find yourself in our area again perhaps on a less busy day you might find the tour interesting? Of course we would be happy to have you as our guest just call ahead.
Debby Ketterer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Was unsure what to expect with the 1 hour trolley ride. Was pleasantly surprised, the guide was extremely knowledgeable and couldn't have had a better personality. Some sites were hard to see due to the foliage but it's certainly out of their control. For the price, it's definitely worth taking a ride.

Thank DelawareBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah K, Owner at Water Gap Trolley Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! We appreciate you understanding about the foliage too! Perhaps we will see you again?
Debby Ketterer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The was an okay experience. The tour lasted for over an hour and the guide was very knowledgeable about the area.

Thank Nickesha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was recommended by someone and based on the reviews here, we took the tour. The tour guide was nice and did his thing but the sites and materials he had to work with were either not visible due to foliage covering them or not really that interesting, i.e., so and so's house, old church, old school, etc. I found it boring and will not recommend it. It was also a very hot day and trolley is not air-conditioned.

Thank mctheknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Gap Trolley Experience also viewed

 
Shawnee on Delaware, Pocono Mountains Region
Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing