We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many pros, one HUGE con.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Denver
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Many pros, one HUGE con.”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were coming to the area for a dog show and stayed here for 3 nights. It is an old Comfort Inn which has been taken over by Red Roof. The desk clerks were super helpful and always friendly which we liked. Our room was huge (King Superior on the ground floor). Dated but clean. We were super happy with the layout and the spaciousness of the room.

Our toilet did clog once but we were able to rectify this. Our bed was a little on the hard side but not a huge issue. Obviously the place could do with an upgrade but again these issues were not major for us.

Our biggest issue was the cigarette smoke. The hotel is not 100% smoke free and boy does it ever stink. The air flow in the hallways had the smell of smoke coming into our room under the door. Like someone was smoking outside our room. We both had headaches throughout our stay. The front desk was always very responsive to our issues but really, it sucked.

Furthermore, some idiot kept going to the side door to have a cigarette and he would stand right in the doorway to have a smoke. It is the primary reason we are giving this Red Roof stars. For us, the cleanliness and room size were great.

We also had issue with other people not picking up after their dogs. It is a pet peeve (no pun intended) of ours. We pick up after our dogs. We make sure that they are tidy in the room. We value being able to bring our dogs to the hotel. Why can't people just pick up after them??? Some moron let his dog poop on the sidewalk right outside the same side door and then just left it there! Argh.

Not sure that we would stay here again. The smoke is a real issue and just not okay for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cynicked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    23
    19
    14
    16
See reviews for
23
20
13
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jackson, nj
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I suspected we were in trouble when the kid at the reception desk couldn't tell me how to get to my room. Then the directions were so vague that we wandered around a bit before finding a door to get up to the second floor.

Then, we were appalled at the unhygienic construction of the room. There is no sink in the bathroom, which means that every guest has to turn the knob to leave without even the opportunity to wash their hands. Who knows if and when the knob is disinfected. And of course, there's the matter of simple privacy in that you couldn't do anything at the sink without being in full view of everyone in the room. Not the fault of that hotel's management, but an incredibly stupid design on the part of Red Roof Inn.

Early in the evening our toilet clogged. I called the desk and was told I could come down and get a plunger. Apparently the ONLY employee on duty in the entire hotel was an elderly lady. After much argument, she called over to the hotel next door and they over a 14 or so year old kid who unclogged it. I wondered what would happen if there was a real emergency and the ONLY staff member was a slow-moving old lady.

The shower drained slowly because of all the hair in the tub. This improved only slightly after being cleaned the second day. Also, instead of putting the fresh towels on the racks in the bathroom, they were left piled on the sink. A used bar of soap was left in the sink.

Although probably not the fault of the hotel, the hallways reeked of cigarette smoke as if guests were smoking in the hallways instead of in their no smoking rooms.

They provided a limited continental breakfast. We would have greatly appreciated some low sugar offerings, such as Cheerios or corn flakes or maybe some hard boiled eggs. But everything there was full of sugar. The only cereal available was Frosted Flakes and Raisin Bran. There were waffles, but no sugar free syrup. They had "bagels" (not real bagels of course), but the cream cheese was frozen. The incredibly flimsy plastic silverware wasn't useable for anything.

Not the worst place I've ever stayed, but I'd never stay there, or any other Red Roof Inn, again.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oldcrow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Stayed at this hotel while picking antiques, it was close to antiquing areas. The room and washroom were clean and the WiFi worked well. The only negative for this hotel is that they allow pets and there were alot of barking dogs. I got a great deal booking online of around $50, was looking to book it again and it seems they want over $80. Worth staying for $50 but not $80. I would stay here again as long as the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick123x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I stayed in a non-smoking room on the second floor with 2 double beds. The room was very clean, and I didn't experience the bad smoke odors that the other reviews mentioned. The beds were comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. The do offer a continental breakfast in the morning. I was traveling with 3 dogs and they were welcomed by the front desk staff. There is a good size area near the back of the property (by the shed) to take your dogs to relieve themselves. I felt safe here and did not experience any issues with anyone staying in the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunnyday1k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilonia, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I didnt feel safe here. The hallways stank with cigarette smoke realllly bad! The room wasnt very clean and was worried about bugs! I dont think i would of chosen to stop here! They don't show you how they are off the street and all the buildings are joined. Just not at all what i would expect or a location i would have picked! For the money, i supose it is ok, but if you have a family? and wanna feel safe? keep on driving... i have decided in hotels? you get what you pay for!

Room Tip: I would stay away from here... but it is a decent hotel for the money you spend. I just didnt feel s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taneytown, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful but when a hotel says it has a fitness room and free HBO they should have that. First the GYM was low level out dated equipment also basic channels and there to do nothing around there but it good for the night and they are pet friendly. The hot breakfast was awful

Room Tip: They need to say what they have and mean it :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

My friend and I stayed one night in a 2 queen bed room, on the first floor. Upon check-in at 9:30pm, our room was clean and exactly what we needed. I would recommend staying here. We saved money and had all we needed.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipU2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
7.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn Akron
Rodeway Inn Akron
#1 of 1 in Akron
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
68 reviews
11.4 mi away
Inn at Reading
Inn at Reading
#5 of 7 in Wyomissing
395 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Morgantown / PA Turnpike
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Denver

Property: Red Roof Inn Denver
Address: 2017 N Reading Rd, Denver, PA 17517-9168 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Denver 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Roof Inn Denver, PA is renovated with all new rooms, contemporary furniture, new bathrooms with granite counter tops, a comfortable easy chair, interior and exterior corridors, and more. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Red Roof Inn Denver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Denver
Denver Comfort Inn
Red Roof Inn Denver PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing