We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers and steak”
Review of Black Horse Restaurant Tavern - CLOSED

Black Horse Restaurant Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Black Horse Restaurant & Tavern is the neighborhood place where fine food meets casual comfort. The chef is passionate about providing you with a casual, seasonal celebration of American cuisine. Enjoy his latest creations using fresh, local produce. His impressive culinary background paired with his sensitivity to what his customers crave assures your satisfaction. We invite you to stay after your dining experience for an after dinner drink and dessert that is sure to please your palate.Happy hour food and drink specials are offered daily from 4:30 PM to 6:30 PM in the Tavern and also on the outdoor dining terrace (weather permitting).
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great burgers and steak”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In the past few months we have been there twice. We live really close so it's easy to just drive by and forget it's there. It's right off the denver/ephrata turnpike exit so it is an easy destination for those traveling plus it's along Rt. 272 which means all the antique shoppers can find this quickly. If you have a party of five or more I recommend calling ahead for reservations and ask for seating in the gazebo. We have eaten there with our 16 y/o son and he really liked one of their burgers. My husband likes the steaks. Last summer we ate outside on the terrace. We always have had great service. Most recently, when we went with friends one of them had the risotto and really liked that option.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kendrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    38
    23
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much better now!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We ate at the Black Horse about 10 years ago and said we would never go back. Never say never! While the decor leaves something to be desired, the menu has been pleasantly revised and the food is so good! And it is so nice to have a restaurant that serves delicious vegetarian entrees! I'm not a vegetarian, but I order frequently from their vegetarian entrees. The asparagus fries are a great appetizer. The beef tenderloin flatbread is a great light meal. The beet salad with spinach is top-notch. And the arctic char I had recently was amazing. We have never had a problem with service, although I've heard from friends that at times service was poor. We always make a reservation, because they do get busy on the weekends.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmz_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing Compared To The Black Horse Ten Years Ago”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very disappointed in the downgrade of this restaurant! The Black Horse used to be a AAA Four Diamond Restaurant that only served the finest quality ingrediants and was simply exceptional! So Sad!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeastern, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife and I were headed to Lancaster and decided to stop at the Black Horse Restaurant for dinner since we have heard good things about it. We sat in the bar and were promptly greeted by the bartender. Our drink order was delivered promptly as was our dinner order. The food was very good in quaintly as well as flavor and the price was reasonable. As we were leaving we checked out the dining room and were very pleased with the atmosphere there as well. A very pleasant experience. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Black Horse”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Thought it would be a good place to eat and was in walking distance of the motel. Went a little late about 9:30 PM went in and sat at the bar. Bar maid came and took my drink order and was served promptly. Sat there about 10 minutes and had to get up and ask for a menu. Ordered a over priced ribeye with cheddar mashed. Was served in good time but the steak was not very good. The mashed were very good along with the sauce. Very poor service for a Friday night. In ecsense they will let anybody walk in the back door of the kitchen and tell them to cook your order wrong just to see if you will complain

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trubengal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Horse Restaurant Tavern also viewed

 
Denver, Lancaster County
Stevens, Lancaster County
 
Reamstown, Lancaster County
Stevens, Lancaster County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing