We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Denver B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My wife and I stayed with Liz and Ben for a night during a weekend getaway for our birthdays. It was a great experience and Liz and Ben were great hosts. Breakfast was great, the rooms were very comfortable and the entire place was spotless. The outdoor hot tub was a treat and was fun to relax in the evening overlooking the quiet and peaceful woods. Countless little things that our hosts thought of made the entire trip very enjoyable and relaxing.

We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife & I decided to celebrate our anniversary in the Lancaster region. We were looking for a nice, clean B&B. We decided to stay at the Furnace Hills B&B based upon location & the favorable reviews. What we got was so much more! Ben & Liz are spectacular hosts who go out of their way to make you comfortable. Our room ( 'Antique Room') was totally clean, very cozy & the bed was incredibly comfortable! Each room has a private entrance & additional access to the common areas, which was also great. In addition, the breakfast served was incredible-really good home cooking! And we loved the location, a real mountain feel yet only minutes from the local tourist events. We would highly recommend Furnace Hills B&B and hope to stay there again real soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Proprietor comments-
• Reception: Liz Ehrhart was a delightful and down to earth person who welcomed us with great warmth and enthusiasm. Her husband Ben and two lovely girls were an added bonus. And of course Angus, their beautiful Husky, greeted us very calmly but affectionately.
• Willingness to accommodate: Liz was so willing to help, she carried a suitcase up to our room and showed us all the features of the room, inn and grounds.
• Assistance: This was actually a beforehand thing- her directions to the B&B were spot-on.

Facility comments-
• Appearance: The house is a gorgeous log cabin that was extremely well planned, for both accommodation and beauty. The interior is just as lovely, a great-room that gives one a lovely view, upstairs or down. The rooms are very well done, fairly simple but with individual character (we were in the Penn State room). Bathrooms are very roomy (shower only in our room).
• Cleanliness: All was spotless.
• Comfort: Only one armchair in our room so we sat in the upstairs loft area of the great-room where two comfy armchairs straddled a small table. A small fridge and Keurig machine allowed us flexibility in having a snack in the evening. There is a TV downstairs in one corner of the great-room.
• Accessibility: Exterior and interior stairs allow access to all rooms- but all four rooms are on the second floor.
• Location: It is set in a beautiful woods with lots of privacy but there are homes within sight. It is located in a somewhat remote area and might discourage zipping back to the room to freshen up
• Special features: Outdoor hot tub. The quiet beauty of the Pennsylvania woods.

Breakfast comments-
• Quality & quantity: Liz was an excellent cook and she made delicious breakfasts with lots of variety and an abundance of food. French toast casserole- fantastic!

Special comments-
• Liz and Ben's support of WCNY Public Television Tel-Auc in Syracuse, NY, is very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syrcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

his bed breakfast was one of the best places we have stayed at. Liz and her family made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was nothing short of great, everything was home made. There is a outdoor hot tub which is a good end of the day treat. Liz and her husband went to great lengths to make this bed and breakfast a home from homemade cookies, to chocolates. My wife and I are planning to come back
annually.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruashark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Liz and her family are so warm and friendly, they made us feel so welcome. Liz seemed to think of absolutely anything you could need while staying here. There is a little area outside the rooms that is stocked with soda and water. Nearby is a Keurig coffe maker with lots of varieties of warm drinks. Hubby is enjoying the hot tub out on the deck at this very moment. We can hear all sorts of birds singing. It is very peaceful here. Yesterday we were lucky enough to see three deer not too far away. Liz is a wonderful cook, this morning we had homemade granola, yogurt, assorted fruit juices, a platter of fruit, ham and homemade sourdough blueberry bread oops almost forgot, she made us a delicious German apple pancake. (Better than my own!) you simply can not go wrong by choosing to stay here.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tpatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

We just spent a weekend at Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast. What a wonderful place!! The drive to the bed and breakfast is beautiful. To get to the house you go down a long driveway bordered by trees. The house is amazing from the outside and so warm and welcoming on the inside. Liz and her family do not treat you like a guest. Instead they make you feel as if you are visiting with friends. The atmosphere is so unpretentious and relaxing. From bowls of candy in the rooms, a refrigerator stocked with soda and juices, and a single cup coffee maker available 24/7 to the most wonderful breakfasts you can imagine, everything is focused on making you feel at home. Most enjoyable are Liz and Ben's daughters, Rebecca and Joanna. What amazingly polite and friendly children. It was fun to see their smiling faces at breakfast. I only have one regret...I forgot to ask Liz if she would share her recipes for apple cider donuts and cinnamon buns. Guess we will just have ti visit again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k177600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

This was our first B&B experience and this place has it all: comfy and clean rooms, good and healthy breakfasts, walking trails around the property, hot tub, beautiful home and common area, cute dog, and most of all a friendly and helpful family. Each room has it's own enterance which was nice for coming/leaving early. Our flight out was very early in the moring, so Liz made us homemade muffins and gave us grapes to take with us since we were going to miss breakfast with them. They made the experience very satisfying and they are very nice people. It isn't the closest drive into the main town, but it was a beautiful drive! I would recommend this to anyone who wants a peaceful and quiet place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Denver hotels
6.7 mi away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
7.3 mi away
Penn Amish Motel
Penn Amish Motel
#2 of 6 in Denver
37 reviews
6.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 6 in Denver
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Black Horse Lodge and Suites
Show Prices

Been to Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast

Address: 575 Mountain Top Dr, Denver, PA 17517-9557
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Denver
Price Range: £102 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy log home Bed and Breakfast located on 8 wooded acreas in northern Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Furnace Hills Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Furnace Hills Bed And Breakfast Denver, PA - Lancaster County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing