We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel is new, and so is the management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel is new, and so is the management”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a relatively new property in a good location near shopping, restaurants and interstate. Nice facility (although the access road is well -hidden; it is behind the Red Robin.)

Nice room, the one flat-screen works really well, fresh furniture, etc. The management is still learning though. Room was not perfectly clean on arrival, what was billed as a suite should have had 2 TVs, we got there late so we ended up in a room too close to a noisy common room late one night.

The breakfast rush in the morning was the huge problem. The hotel was full of hungry families because of all the nearby summer camps and the staff was completely overwhelmed by it all. Supplies quickly ran out, trash accumulated, etc.

All in all, I expect this will be a good place to stay when their work out the kinks and they are not completely full.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank srr3306y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    48
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
96
31
8
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

We chose this hotel because we figured it was new, so it couldn't be bad. It was so nice. The lobby is small, which isn't a negative, just if you are looking for a grand entrance, you won't find it here. It has two really unique, blown glass chandeliers, and some really cool chairs. There is a well stocked store, complete with frozen dinners for late night snacks. The front desk personnel was great! Very friendly. There is a nice room off the lobby with a big screen tv and sitting area, and tables set up for the nice breakfast served daily. Really cool pancake machine, ready made western omlets, bagels, muffins etc. Outside area has a bunch of tables, and there's a neat gas fire pit. Indoor pool and hot tub (small, but the hotel only has 3 floors of guest rooms, so it is fine), small gym, and business room with two computers to use. Rooms were nice: Big flat screen tv, microwave and fridge. Bathroom has granite counter top, nice little nook with shelves for extra towels, and the mini bottles of shampoo, etc. It was nice that they were out of the way, and not right on the counter top. beds were so comfortable and they even had firm and soft pillows. Hotel looks exactly as shown on the website photos

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denred04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

A very new property and extremely clean. Nice if not huge pool and a good complimentary breakfast. No too near the main roads so not very noisy. A good overall stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Traveled to the Scranton area for a concert at Montage Mountain with my family of four. We booked online using a web based site. I called as we were driving to the area to confirm our confirmation and to confirm a late arrival. The staff person on the phone was very polite and cordial and very accommodating. She confirmed our reservation and assisted with some additional directions to the site.
We arrived around 11:45 p.m. to find an easy check in and a very helpful desk staff person. I asked how long the restaurants were open on the strip outside. She took the time to contact several of them which included Red Robin, Quaker Steak and Lube and Pizzeria Uno. The Red Robin is next door and they stayed open so I could run down to get several meals to go as we were starving from the late night concert.
The Hotel was new, clean and our room was a good size including two queen sized beds, flat screen tv, desk, free wireless, refrigerator and microwave. The lobby was nicely decorated, with a large lounge in the evening with fire place and during the morning changed to the morning dinning area. The breakfast was nice, hot, and filling. We did not come down to breakfast until 9:45 a.m. due to our late night. I was hoping for a hot coffee and maybe a muffin because it was so late but I was surprised to find hot eggs, ham, biscuits, sausage gravy, fresh cinnamon rolls that were warm, yogurt, 4 different kinds of cereal, toast, bagels, juices and coffee.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Driveway connected to Red Robin driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gouldsboro
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

A new hotel in the area. Rooms very nice, quiet considering location. Good location for dining, entertainment and shopping. A nice addition to the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minchoww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Stayed at this hotel a few weeks after it opened.
Our "suite" was on the main floor, with 2 queen beds & a pull-out couch. Great for travelling with my niece and sister-in law.
Room was huge, with great, high ceilings. The "suite" was not separated with sleeping & couch area. Would have liked the couch separated to afford more privacy.
Breakfast was great - fresh & tasty (and included).
We stayed here on our way to NYC from the Toronto area. Easy to navigate to, not too far off the highway. GPS couldn't accurately guide to the hotel once we were on the street, but was fairly easy to figure out, as the hotel is clearly visible.
Great deal. Hopefully doesn't lose its shine!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-Paloozarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickson City
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
2.6 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Scranton Dunmore
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 6 in Clarks Summit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Address: 1265 Commerce Blvd, Dickson City, PA 18519
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Dickson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2016 IHG Torchbearer Award. Stay Smart® when you visit the Holiday Inn Express® and Suites in Dickson City, PA. Consistently ranked in the top 2% of hotels in the brand in North America and winner of the prestigious Torchbearer Award, given to Elite hotels who provide exceptional quality and service. Our award winning hotel has a sleek and modern design with many amenities. We are conveniently located in the heart of the restaurant and shopping district with over 50+ restaurants and shopping stores within ½ mile. Enjoy our many amenities including our Free Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, Large Indoor Pool and Spa, 24Hour Fitness and Business Center, Free High Speed Internet, Gated Patio with Fire Pits and Gas/Charcoal Grill for guest use, and Airport Shuttle. Our hotel is close to all the major attractions such as Elk & Montage Mountains, Steamtown National Historic Site, Lackawanna Coal Mine Tour, The Pavilion at Montage, Mohegan Sun Arena, & Mohegan Sun Casino Our Dickson City hotel is located just 2 miles north of Downtown Scranton and close to all of the major Universities and Hospitals such as University of Scranton, Marywood University, Geisinger CMC, and Regional Hospital of Scranton. Business travelers love our location for easy on and off the highway without dealing with the congestion of the city. We welcome numerous business clients both large and small from Bank of America, TMG Health, Wegmans, Walmart, Gentex, Kiewit, and Invenergy. Having a reception at a venue near Dickson City or Scranton? Our hotel offers superb room accommodations and offers shuttle service to local venues such as Fiorelli’s, Gennetti Manor, Montdale and Scranton Country Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton Hotel Dickson City
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Dickson City-Scranton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing