We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whoa! What a place-I will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is my first review ever of a hotel, and this place deserved the first one!
I have just driven from NY to CA back to NY, and have stayed in about 10 nice hotels in the last 3 weeks, this is BY FAR the best hotel!
Let me start off by saying when i first walked into the lobby i was greeted by a beautiful lobby that had 2 stunning beautiful blown glass lights hanging from the ceiling. Then I was greeted by 2 friendly and very helpful staff members Rebecca and Jamie, who proceeded to check me in record time! As a Priority club member I was given my complimentary water right away, and thanked for being a member.
They then went on to tell me about the restaurants in the area (there's got to be atleast 30 From Japanese to Olive Garden!), and gave me some coupons for some of them! Applebees here I come!
The breakfast room looks like its right out a club in Manhattan!
As I proceeded to my room I was amazed by the arcarde room, the workout room, the pool/spa area and lastly a laundry room that belongs in a magazine, (this also had an arcade!) The hallways are bright and sunny with lots of color!
Last but not least...the room....I got a 2 queen bed size room...its huge!
The bathroom besides being spotless, was big, and also nicely decorated
This is a beautifully decorated hotel , with great colors, and art work, not your usual hotel motif, the rug in the room is itself a piece of art! (hard to tell from pictures, but trust me!)
Some other key things I noticed, the breakfast time is 4 hrs long (most are 3).
The pool opens at 5am (most open after 8)
So between the staff, the look of the hotel, and the price... I have to give this place 5 Stars!
I am very happy I stumbled on to this place, I will surely be back, this time with the family!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirk1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

Hotel opened back in April of this year and it obviously hit the ground running. The staff is nothing short of spectacular. I was staying over the Pocono race weekend and wanted to stay an extra night but the hotel was booked solid. Jason behind the front desk despite being swamped with the influx of check-ins had the courtesy to call me before check-out to offer me a room due to a last second cancellation! Saved me the trouble of having to pack up shop and have to go through the hassle of staying elsewhere. The hotel's location, cleanliness, decor, FREE breakfast, pool, staff and MOST importantly rooms are second to NONE!!! Til next time!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jprams3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I've never written a review before but my wife and kids were so impressed with this H.I. Express that I felt compelled to say a few words.
Stayed here for only one night with the wife and kids. The hotel is still very new so everything is immaculate. Hotel staff and manager were very friendly. Free breakfast was great. Lots of choices. Some free breakfasts at other hotels have been pretty lame. This one had everything from pancakes to muffins. Great gym and pool area. On the side of the hotel is a patio with some tables that have gas fired pits in the table! Very cool. Rooms are clean. The beds are so comfortable my wife and I lifted up the sheets to see what brand it was. We are now getting the same for our house. We have stayed at Hilton, Hyatt. For the money this place cannot be beaten. It's a little hard to find if you don't have directions. It's only a half mile off I-81, but it's behind what is a Red Robin burger place, so you have to turn there to find it. I don't own any stock in this company or have any affiliation, but I have stayed in some average and below place with my family so I know a good place when I see it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a relatively new property in a good location near shopping, restaurants and interstate. Nice facility (although the access road is well -hidden; it is behind the Red Robin.)

Nice room, the one flat-screen works really well, fresh furniture, etc. The management is still learning though. Room was not perfectly clean on arrival, what was billed as a suite should have had 2 TVs, we got there late so we ended up in a room too close to a noisy common room late one night.

The breakfast rush in the morning was the huge problem. The hotel was full of hungry families because of all the nearby summer camps and the staff was completely overwhelmed by it all. Supplies quickly ran out, trash accumulated, etc.

All in all, I expect this will be a good place to stay when their work out the kinks and they are not completely full.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank srr3306y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We chose this hotel because we figured it was new, so it couldn't be bad. It was so nice. The lobby is small, which isn't a negative, just if you are looking for a grand entrance, you won't find it here. It has two really unique, blown glass chandeliers, and some really cool chairs. There is a well stocked store, complete with frozen dinners for late night snacks. The front desk personnel was great! Very friendly. There is a nice room off the lobby with a big screen tv and sitting area, and tables set up for the nice breakfast served daily. Really cool pancake machine, ready made western omlets, bagels, muffins etc. Outside area has a bunch of tables, and there's a neat gas fire pit. Indoor pool and hot tub (small, but the hotel only has 3 floors of guest rooms, so it is fine), small gym, and business room with two computers to use. Rooms were nice: Big flat screen tv, microwave and fridge. Bathroom has granite counter top, nice little nook with shelves for extra towels, and the mini bottles of shampoo, etc. It was nice that they were out of the way, and not right on the counter top. beds were so comfortable and they even had firm and soft pillows. Hotel looks exactly as shown on the website photos

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denred04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

A very new property and extremely clean. Nice if not huge pool and a good complimentary breakfast. No too near the main roads so not very noisy. A good overall stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Traveled to the Scranton area for a concert at Montage Mountain with my family of four. We booked online using a web based site. I called as we were driving to the area to confirm our confirmation and to confirm a late arrival. The staff person on the phone was very polite and cordial and very accommodating. She confirmed our reservation and assisted with some additional directions to the site.
We arrived around 11:45 p.m. to find an easy check in and a very helpful desk staff person. I asked how long the restaurants were open on the strip outside. She took the time to contact several of them which included Red Robin, Quaker Steak and Lube and Pizzeria Uno. The Red Robin is next door and they stayed open so I could run down to get several meals to go as we were starving from the late night concert.
The Hotel was new, clean and our room was a good size including two queen sized beds, flat screen tv, desk, free wireless, refrigerator and microwave. The lobby was nicely decorated, with a large lounge in the evening with fire place and during the morning changed to the morning dinning area. The breakfast was nice, hot, and filling. We did not come down to breakfast until 9:45 a.m. due to our late night. I was hoping for a hot coffee and maybe a muffin because it was so late but I was surprised to find hot eggs, ham, biscuits, sausage gravy, fresh cinnamon rolls that were warm, yogurt, 4 different kinds of cereal, toast, bagels, juices and coffee.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Driveway connected to Red Robin driveway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mullen4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dickson City
1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Dickson City/Scranton
0.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Dickson City Scranton
4.4 mi away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Residence Inn Scranton
Residence Inn Scranton
#6 of 10 in Scranton
162 reviews
7 mi away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
7.6 mi away
Courtyard Scranton Wilkes-Barre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton

Address: 1265 Commerce Blvd, Dickson City, PA 18519-1757
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Dickson City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dickson City
Price Range: £81 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2016 IHG Torchbearer Award. Stay Smart® when you visit the Holiday Inn Express® and Suites in Dickson City, PA. Consistently ranked in the top 2% of hotels in the brand in North America and winner of the prestigious Torchbearer Award, given to Elite hotels who provide exceptional quality and service. Our award winning hotel has a sleek and modern design with many amenities. We are conveniently located in the heart of the restaurant and shopping district with over 50+ restaurants and shopping stores within ½ mile. Enjoy our many amenities including our Free Deluxe Hot Breakfast Buffet, Large Indoor Pool and Spa, 24Hour Fitness and Business Center, Free High Speed Internet, Gated Patio with Fire Pits and Gas/Charcoal Grill for guest use, and Airport Shuttle. Our hotel is close to all the major attractions such as Elk & Montage Mountains, Steamtown National Historic Site, Lackawanna Coal Mine Tour, The Pavilion at Montage, Mohegan Sun Arena, & Mohegan Sun Casino Our Dickson City hotel is located just 2 miles north of Downtown Scranton and close to all of the major Universities and Hospitals such as University of Scranton, Marywood University, Geisinger CMC, and Regional Hospital of Scranton. Business travelers love our location for easy on and off the highway without dealing with the congestion of the city. We welcome numerous business clients both large and small from Bank of America, TMG Health, Wegmans, Walmart, Gentex, Kiewit, and Invenergy. Having a reception at a venue near Dickson City or Scranton? Our hotel offers superb room accommodations and offers shuttle service to local venues such as Fiorelli’s, Gennetti Manor, Montdale and Scranton Country Clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Dickson City-Scranton
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Dickson City-Scranton Hotel Dickson City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing