We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room in dire need of repair”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsburg
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Room in dire need of repair”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Room was in dire need of repair, cosmetic and otherwise. Room was supposed to be a "newer" room according to the web listing. I hope not. The wallpaper was literally peeling from the walls, most of the outlets didn't work, looked like the TV was put on the dresser as an afterthought (after the other one dismounted from the wall?) Beds were very uncomfortable. On a positive note, the desk attendants were very courteous.

Room Tip: unless you are on the property and can inspect the room first, I'd go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenandgrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
12
3
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
baltimore usa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

I stayed here one night while on a bicycle trip.It was clean & comfortable.It was $60[ this was 2 years ago] which was not cheap but not expensive either.

The bar/resturaunt next door served a good dinner and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baltimorepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Never, never, never, never, NEVER stay in this hotel.
My mother and I planned on touring Gettysburg, but unfortunately we ended up not being able to get a hotel in Gettysburg. This motel seemed to be okay, so we chose it instead.
We arrived around 9 pm. The check in time was 5pm, but our room was still not ready. The rude check in man told us to leave and come back in an hour or so.
When we returned, our room was filthy. Our nonsmoking room had ashtrays with cigarettes still left in it. The lock on the door was also broken. We went back to the front desk and asked for a new room. He refused to give us a new one. He insisted that "this is a nice town. You will be fine. No lock needed." We didn't feel comfortable staying in a room without a lock, so we threatened to leave. He whined and finally said he'd replace the lock. Twenty minutes later he walked into our room unannounced and grabbed some tools he left behind.

The next morning he billed us for 'extra cleaning services' because we insisted that he send someone down to empty the garbages, ashtrays, and bring toilet paper. He also charged us $350 for a new lock that was broken when we arrived.

This was hands down the most awful motel I've ever stayed in. The staff was rude and inconsiderate. They room was filthy. It was so awful that you couldn't pay me to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gettysburgstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2009

We stayed at the Rodeway Inn in Dillsburg on April 18, 2009 on our way to visit the memorial in Gettysburg. The first impression that I had on seeing the property was that it was a little run down and old-fashioned looking. The front desk was manned by two young girls - maybe 12 or 13 years old. I thought that this was rather odd as we were checking in around 6:00 p.m. on a Saturday evening, a time when one would expect the front desk to be busy. After a little confusion, the girls got us checked in.

Our room was not large but it was clean. The only complaint that I had with the room was that the bathroom door would not latch properly when closed. This property is quite close to busy Route 15 and I expected that the room might be noisy all night (especially as early during that Saturday evening every vehicle in Pennsylvania that did not have a muffler roared by!) However, as the night went on, things became quieter and noise was not an issue.

Eating in the area is limited if you do not want to drive to a restaurant. Adjacent to the Rodeway Inn is a family restaurant called Flapjacks. We ate dinner there and found it to be pleasant and reasonably-priced with average quality food. The motel does provide a limited free breakfast in the office area - coffee or tea and factory-wrapped honey buns and oatmeal creme cookies. It's not the healthiest of breakfasts, but it's free.

Would I stay here again? Maybe. It was fairly priced for an average motel and was less than an hour's drive from Gettysburg. Could you find many similar places in the area? Probably.

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dbakerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2008

We were on our way to Florida and needed a place to stop for the night. We were looking for clean, inexpensive rooms. Hopefully with a Fridge.
We found all this at this Rodeway, though not a huge place nor new it was kept clean with no harsh chemicals that I could smell ( I am very sensitive to smells) The beds were comfortable and the bathroom clean.
The service was also very friendly. Of all the hotels I stayed in on this vacation I put this one first on the list and plan to stay the next time I drive south.
From a Grateful Canadian!!

  • Liked — Clean with no strong smell!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanuckgirlOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2008

My husband and our two children stayed here almost a year while he worked here in Dillsburg. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean. Pets are welcome. Overall it has been a very nice stay. There is a good restaurant/bar next door, and it is located right in town with easy access to shops. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and friendliness of staff
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubama985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savoy ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2008

very clean the room was a little small we had a good night sleep and the price was right management very freindly and helpful

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — room was cramped
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dillsburg
7.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#12 of 13 in Mechanicsburg
53 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#18 of 26 in Carlisle
187 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Country Inn and Suites Harrisburg West
9.4 mi away
Days Inn Carlisle North
Days Inn Carlisle North
#8 of 26 in Carlisle
553 reviews
8.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Mechanicsburg/Harrisburg - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 7 N US Route 15, Dillsburg, PA 17019-1530
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Dillsburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dillsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Dillsburg
Dillsburg Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing