We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dingmans Campground
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dingmans Ferry
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Shawnee River Village 2(Shawnee on Delaware)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tom Quick Inn(Milford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Milford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
8
16
8
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
16
8
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgeneral storedelaware riverport o pottiescamperscanoemilford
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Service is terrible, very rude employees. Not a good place to camp woke up to snoopy park rangers and bird poop on my tent. Also,half of the road is closed down due to road work.So it takes extra long to get everywhere
Mind you ticks are everywhere!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

My Family and I had a fantastic time at Dingman's. The location couldn't have been any better and our site on the river was perfect. It'd be nice if they had a playground for the kids but they did have an open field for the kids to play ball. there was lots of site seeing to do around the area. the staff was very friendly and Park rangers patroled once and awhile. it was a nice place to bring the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed one night here on our way to Maine. Glad it was only one night. We had a beautiful site right on the river with a very large group of college aged students taking up the next two adjacent sites. They were too loud and too noisy well into the night. It was obvious that the "quiet hrs" beginning at 10p. would not be enforced. With two little ones camping with us, it was difficult to keep them focused on sleeping versus all of the noise coming from the next campsites. The next morning during checkout I complained about the lack of enforcement of the stated "quiet hrs" beginning at 10p. The manager said that it was a known problem, they had rec'd many complaints, but the large group was checking out that same day. How interesting. A stated policy that you choose to ignore and do not enforce simply because it's a large group and likely don't want to upset them for future visits and business. Great. Thanks for lacking the spine to step in and enforce your own policy.
And do I even mention the dirty filthy bathrooms with spiders and cobwebs everywhere?
Do yourself a favor. Skip this place entirely!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank KatiedlC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Highest rating to Dingman's Campground. Every employee was friendly, helpful, and seeking to excel. The campground is clean and well maintained. There is separation between the RV with services, RV without services, and tent only sites. There are plenty of trees and bushes between sites for privacy. Even the port-o-potties scattered around were clean and top notch (running water to wash your hands, even). The two shower & flush toilet buildings were a bit small but adequate. Also, from the campground you can rent canoes for a run down the Delaware River - they drop you off upstream and you canoe at your own pace back to the campground. The newly opened McDade bike/hike trail also passes across the campground entrance. The staff even walked around the campground to warn people of incoming severe weather. Truly, one of the best campgrounds we've stayed at. (We were in a tent.)

Room Tip: Tents - lower numberer sites along the river, esp if you want to access the river.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank david_dale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

This was our first time camping at Dingman's Ferry. We shared a large campsite with another family. Combined we were four adults and three children between the ages of 5 and 7.

Overall, it was a great trip. We were meant to stay two nights, but there were severe storm and tornado warnings, so we decided to go up early in the morning in stead of at night. My only complaint was that when we called to reserve we asked for advice as we had never been to the campsite before, we were assured we were getting "the best" campsite (site #124). In my opinion, it may have been the worst I saw. It was plenty spacious, but right beside the boat ramp (easy water access, but noisy and high traffic) and at a t in the camp road (lots of night time head lights). However, the main issue was that this was the only site I saw that had no shade during the hottest part of the day. Literally all the other sites were well shaded and leafy, very private. I guess I know for next time! The bath houses are not so great (but it is camping) and the porta potties are going to be rough in 90 degree heat, no matter how nice they are!

On to the good stuff....the area is gorgeous! The camp store was the nicest I have seen and all the personnel we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our site was very large with plenty of parking. We had a fire ring (but no grill ring, you can purchase one at the camp store if you need) and two picnic tables. No where to run a wash line, which is mighty important when your kids spend the day in the river (but that seemed to only be our site). The Delaware River was easy to access, the water was a pleasant temperature, and the current was not too strong. I really recommend water shoes. There was a huge field that was mowed for frisbee and horseshoes. The water spigot was easy to access and the water was safe to drink.

We walked to the McDade Recreational Trail, which was very nice, good for hiking and biking. During the evening, a ranger came around and invited the kids to a ranger talk on animals in the park. We did attend and it was really great. Very informal, friendly, and hands on.

We had a great trip wildlife wise. We saw three deer, a young bald eagle, several heron, and a bear! Virtually all of these things were seen in the early morning hours and were just breath-taking.

We did not bring our canine friends, but they are allowed. However, it did seem to be a source of tension among our fellow campers as not all dogs were well-managed by their humans.

I would definitely return again.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
6  Thank TravelingJindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews