We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss!”
Review of Kevin's Hog Heaven - CLOSED

Kevin's Hog Heaven
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout
Description: Located directly on Peck's Pond in the heart of the Pocono Mountains. Beautiful views year round in a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Easily accessible from Rt. 84 and just miles from East Stroudsburg.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

After a visit earlier this year, my husband and I returned to the area with our friends from Denmark. It was just as delicious this time! We sampled most every meat and side on the menu and weren't disappointed. The pulled pork and Texas brisket were the overall winners, but the chicken and sausage were very good. If you are visiting a resort or hotel, skip the buffet and mediocre steaks. This meat is cooked with love and pride!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sutterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough.”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

This back woods store along a country road turned out to be a great stop. The food was great, big portions and a great price. The service was down home and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden BBQ Gem!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We discovered Kevin's Hog Heaven today and boy are we glad we did. We had an amazing lunch and were lucky to have met Kevin who is passionate about providing high quality smoked meats in a friend family style environment. Staff was extremely friendly and informative about the meat preparation. We had beef brisket, which was outstanding!! Actually it was one of the best beef briskets we had. Equally tasty was the pulled pork, which had a nice and smoky flavor and was extremely tender without being fatty. The meat was very fresh, we know as we saw it come directly out of the smoker to our table. What a nice treat and a satisfying meal.

We will be back with family and friends! Looking forward to trying the ribs and other tasty items on the menu.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gclabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANCASTER PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unique”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We would never have found this place if not for Trip Advisor. It's the real thing with the smoker next to the restaurant cooking all the time. Unfortunately we arrived late on a Sunday on the Labor Day weekend and they were out of ribs and brisket. We all ordered the pulled pork and it was excellent. Try this place if you want to escape from the tourist area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Down home country feel, Authentic smokehouse meats”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Short story: Seems like a local guy who loves smoking meat (AND IS GOOD AT IT) opened a restaurant. Food speaks for itself. Service and decor are OK but that's not why you come here. TRUST ME. EAT THE FOOD and you'll be glad you stopped.

A car-full of two hungry couples stopped in here as we were passing by. A charming country dump of a place that has slammin food! DO NOT MISS! This place is the REAL DEAL.

We were waited on by the owner who offered a "tour" of the smoker outside. We checked it out and this guy is doing it right! He was taking off two turkeys and had several briskets on which he said were far from ready (would be served tomorrow).

Sides were excellent. We had cole slaw, macaroni and cheese, fries, and baked beans. Portions of meat aren't overwhelming (only $9-$12/entree with two sides). I could've eaten more if I didn't have the left over of my girlfriend's ribs.

Overall, coming from a NYC guy who likes to eat well, this place is a must if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikelevay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kevin's Hog Heaven also viewed

Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing