We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walk”
Review of Dingmans Falls

Dingmans Falls
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grandville MI
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Easy walk”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

A very easy handicap accessible trail leads you past the Silver Thread falls to the larger Dingman falls. We were told that you could see the falls best from the bottom so opted not to climb the steps to the top. A large photography group was just leaving when we got there so we were able to view and take pictures easily. Would have liked to have learned more about the area, but the Visitors Center was closed .

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleneFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    71
    10
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Nice falls at the end of a short walk”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The second-highest falls in Pennsylvania, Dingmans is a worthy stop any time of year that is both easy to reach and free to visit. In the early summer the ravine is full of Rhododendron, the fall visitor is greeted by colorful falling leaves... the falls are very exciting after a good spring rain, and imagine a 130-foot high icicle in the winter! (Visiting in winter means an easy 1-mile walk up the road from the small parking area on US209, as Johnny Bee Road is supposed to be closed.)
The visitor center is open daily from Memorial Day to Labor Day, and then weekends only til the end of the fall foliage season. There is plenty of parking and there are restrooms available. The "trail" is actually a boardwalk, and is only about 2000 feet from parking to falls. While somewhat narrow, there are viewing areas at both falls sufficient for a few visitors and a couple camera tripods. "Both falls"? Yes! Shortly after entering the ravine, the narrow but beautiful Silverthread Falls surprises people who were just expecting to walk to the end for the "main attraction".

Getting there:
The address listed by TripAdvisor as of this writing, "Dingmans Falls Road", doesn't exist. The closest address for those of you using traditional GPS units is 1 Mollineaux Road, or just go to the intersection of US209 and Johnny Bee Road and follow the signs. The coordinates for the parking area are 41.229209,-74.887245. The National Park Service has correct information, the incorrect information is from the Pike County web site. I have submitted corrections to TA (crosses fingers).

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_and_Neida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful falls!”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a quick, easy hike at Dingmans Falls. The trail is very well-maintained, and handicap accessible to the base of the fall. We enjoyed the hike up the stairs to the top of the falls, as well. The falls were beautiful from both angles. A senior photography group arrived soon after we did, so the hike back was a bit crowded at spots with tripods, etc, but that was the only small downside to our visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickUSA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“1.5 hrs. Well Spent!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

GPS Hint...put this in: "199 Johnny B Road" The address on the website and the address listed here on Tripadvisor would not be accepted by my Garmin GPS or my Mazda CX9 Navigation system. "199 Johnny B Road" IS THE ACCESS ROAD to the Visitor's Center for Dingmans Falls where you need to park your vehicle. Additional tip: Also in this same town (Dingmans Ferry PA) is another GREAT and FREE of charge park called: "George W. Childs Park" This GW Childs Park has three waterfalls and many photo opportunities to light up your Facebook page. Dingmans Falls can be done in an hour but probably most people will be like us an take 1.5 because of posing again and again for photos. George W. Childs requires more walking and I strongly suggest you plan for 2 hours for George W. Childs Park....oh yeah...my GPS hint for George W. Childs Park is: "100 Silver Lake Road" This GPS address will put you on the road that leads you up to the Park's entrance and parking lot. As for the details on what you will see and what to expect at Dingmans Falls...read the reviews that were recently posted. Many good and accurate reviews are already available. I just know you'll appreciate getting there...and my GPS hints will help you accomplish that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveSBrickUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Feel like I'm in a woodsy wonderland”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Very pretty falls. It's over 100 feet high I would say. The hike to it is only like 15 minutes but it's such a pretty hike. First of all the hike trail is a boardwalk like the kind you see at the beach, it's easy for wheelchairs and strollers. As you walk it, the smell of pine is all around, what a sweet aroma. You are surrounded by trees and beauty. You will pass a small falls first then you will reach Dingman's Falls. Very nice. If you can, take the stairs all the way up to the falls, its about 200 steps someone told me. You can see where the falls starts from. Enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dingmans Falls also viewed

Bushkill, Pocono Mountains Region
Milford, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Delaware Water Gap, Pocono Mountains Region
Dingmans Ferry, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Dingmans Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing