We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky yesteryear eccentricity, minus A/C and heat”
Review of Mercer Museum

Mercer Museum
Ranked #2 of 31 things to do in Doylestown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Managed by the Bucks County Historical Society, this museum pays tribute to Henry Chapman Mercer, noted archaeologist, antiquarian, artist and writer.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quirky yesteryear eccentricity, minus A/C and heat”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a truly unique museum. Six stories with lots of twisty staircases and nooks that kids will love to explore. I thought it was wonderful, but had to cut my visit short because I didn't realize the building had no heat or central air and I was there on a very hot, humid summer day. It was honestly sweltering in there, to the point where I was sweating profusely, nauseous, and dizzy. I wish I had known up front about the climate so I could have planned to visit another cooler day. I didn't see anything about the lack of heat/air on the museum website, but I may have overlooked it. If it isn't on there, they should add it so people with health issues can plan accordingly. If you can tolerate temperature extremes, you'll be fine. If not, go in spring or fall. It is a quirky, eccentric, unique experience and well worth the stop! They also offer AAA discount savings.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JenJennieJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    117
    19
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“trip down memory lane”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Spent and afternoon with my grand daughter. Checked our the special exhibit on the history of Route 66 and how it changed our nation. Saw some neat cars and a gas pump that said 28 cent per gallon, far cry from today's price. We then wondered the rest of the museum climbing all the way to the top. Even though it was 93 outside the cement building was pretty comfortable even with out air in the older part. Lots of interesting displays of object from early times. Many neat things to keep you interested even if you 're too young to read.For younger children they have some games to keep them entertain and searching for object through out the museum. A real treasure in our town.Next store is the Michener Art Museum which has awesome displays of local artists and international works to view too. If your hunger it's easy walk to town where there are many different food options to appeal to almost any palate.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cookincath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annville, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing Collection”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I was in town and had some time to kill so I visited the Mercer. Enjoyed the Toy Exibit they had down stairs. The self quided tour is great, you can take as much time to wonder as you would like. A very interesting place to visit, I stayed about two hours. The staff at the front desk was friendly and informative. *Free admission with a military id.
NOTE: If you have trouble with stairs this might not be the place for you

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank misscottonpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE USA
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Wonderland of everyday 19th century tools”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A wonderland of treasure of everyday items from the last century fills this 6 story concrete building, built by Henry Mercer to display his collection. Upon building completion in 1916, he donated it and its contents to the Bucks County Historical Society.

Henry Mercer was an unconventional man. He was interested in the practical use of tools, as well as their importance as archaeological artifacts, and he was one of the first collectors of ordinary person's objects (as opposed to those of the wealthy elite).

Henry arranged items by their use, so you will see travel, farming tools, woodworking, household kitchen and baking items, hat making, broom making, leather goods, health care, and on & on (complete with a wide collection of tortoise hair combs).

A fascinating plethora of items, complete with an antique fire engine, stage coach, and butter molds.

Be sure to go to the his Moravian pottery & tile works as well as Henry's home: Fonthill Castle located just a mile from the museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Multi-Story Attic”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good museum housing thousands of American artifacts. Lots of items that we see in antique shops plus many not to be found anywhere else. In addition, the building itself is fascinating in its design and construction. It does come across like a giant attic, with a dusty appearance although it is not dusty. The lighting is not bright (it says that is to protect the artifacts); however some larger exhibits are difficult to see clearly from across the space, such as the conestoga wagon on an upper floor, because the view is hampered by the contrasting light from the large window next to the dimly lit wagon. I would like to see some more labeling of the items themselves rather than the rooms of collected pieces seen through fixed windows. Is worth seeing, especially the collection of cigar store "indians" which include figures other than indians.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Capndick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercer Museum also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Mercer Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing