We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Night”
Review of Knight House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Knight House
Ranked #80 of 138 Restaurants in Doylestown
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Knight House experienced a small fire and is currently closed. Please visit us next door at 86 West for the same menu and Doylestown's best happy hour! Our outdoor bar will still be open and rocking!
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average Night”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We have eaten here on a few occasions and have found the food to be of amble portions and tasty. It is solid tavern-style food that is not unique. The atmosphere is pleasant and the staff is helpful, but seem to not be on their "game" with timing of food delivery to the table from the kitchen. They seem to be under staffed which may account for the irregular service. The upstairs can be crowded and noisy at times. Their happy hours out in the court yard in the summer time are a fun venue.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph_F52511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, generous portions, excellent service, quiet, convenient”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We took grandpop here for his 85th bday. We planned an early dinner, parking right across the street and few steps made it easy for G-pop. Plus it was very quiet and we could hear to have a conversation without shouting. Huge menu selection. Seafood bisque was a perfect starter on a cold night. We had short ribs- best ever- my husband wants to learn to cook them now. I had chilean sea bass- it was crispy on the outside and melt in your mouth on the inside. They cheerfully agreed to substitute asparagus for the bok choy it was offered with. House wines were very good. cheesecake was also "as good as it gets." The waitress brought it with a candle for his birthday. We will go back! PS as were were getting ready to leave, a family came in with a baby who every so often let out an ear piercing shriek. Not managements fault! When did it become ok to bring shreiking babies to a fine dining establishment?

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice food, poor service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We visited here for lunch on a Saturday afternoon in November. Downtown Doylestown is historic and charming, and the restaurant is located in what was a mid-1850s home. The decor is pleasant enough, simple, perhaps a bit tired, but not off-putting. We were shown to the upstairs dining room, where we were the only guests. By the time we left an hour or so later, the room was pretty much filled.

We are three vegans, and we chose this spot because it had some veggie offerings. We ordered a group of small plates to share, and were quite pleased. It turned out to be a lot more food than we expected. The wok-fried brussels sprouts were fabulous, and worth a visit just for themselves! Chickpea hummus was more like thick, mashed chickpeas, not the smooth light spread we think of as hummus, but it was tasty all the same, served with triangles of pita. Four veggie burger sliders, made of beans, were excellent, though a bit bland; they would benefit from a kicky relish--or even, I blush to say, ketchup! Most forgettable of the small plates was the ordinary, rather tasteless, vegetarian roll.

All in all, it would have been a quite pleasant meal, except that the service was terribly slow. Our waitress was pleasant, young, and mostly not there. She said something about a computer breakdown in the kitchen, which might account for the annoying delay in our food arriving. As it was, we were pretty lucky. The people at the next table, who arrived just after we did, were just getting their soup as we were leaving!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaygee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Food .....but Disappointing Service”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Ive been resident in the Dolyestown area for a number of years, but I'd never visited the Knight House until last week. Some business colleagues and I ate there one Thursday evening around 6.30, siting outside.

The menu looked good, with a good selection of steak and seafood. When we asked the server what she recommended, she commented that "everything was good". Possibly correct, but not particularly helpful. We ordered the calimari and rib appetizers and enjoyed a drink while we waited. We then placed our order; two orders of the lamb/scallops and a sea bass.

Twenty muniutes later our three entree dushes arrived. No appretizers. They had been forgotten. The food was very tasty and we were pleased with our choices.

The service was frankly the disappointing aspect of our visit. I expected much more from the Knight House. It wasn't just the forgetting of the appertizers, but the more general feeling that the server didn't want to be there and that we were somewhat of a burden.

Maybe my expectations were too high, but the prices are not that of a chain restaurant, and neither then should be the service.

Would probably look elsewhere before returning

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BritintheUSA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Braised short rib, outstanding.”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Started with the caesar salad. Large for a salad before dinner. Entree was a beef short rib, done to perfection. Presentation was perfect. Also served with mashed potatoes and carrots. For dessert , we had the chocolate muffin with sea salt. (The muffins are legendary).
Restaurant now offers a byob option with a $10.00 corkage charge, however, happy hour applies to all drinks until 7, and drinks are half price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chubbyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knight House also viewed

Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 
Doylestown, Bucks County
Doylestown, Bucks County
 

Been to Knight House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing