We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Retro charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of DuBois Diner

DuBois Diner
Ranked #4 of 69 Restaurants in DuBois
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Retro charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

At around 9:30 p.m. I pulled off Route 80 for gas and a motel at Exit 97. I was discouraged to find only Arby's near the Exit. I drove a few miles farther looking for something more appetizing, when I saw the bright lights of the DuBois Diner. The place was empty and near closing, but the cheerful staff made me a tasty chef salad to take back to my motel room. While waiting, I could admire the great red and white retro diner decor.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaracarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    56
    22
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

I really want to like this place but really not that great. Atmosphere is great however food tastes frozen and not homemade. I expect diner food to be "from scratch" but this isnt. Have had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and it was "ok" but not what I expected. Had the breakfast buffet and there was a lot of grease involved! Tried the roast beef sandwich/mashed potatoes and it did taste like it came from the freezer. It is a fair place to stop but dont expect real diner food.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leecyleecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
119 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice in one day!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We were looking for a place to get a bite to eat while in Dubois for the state football semi finals. We noticed the DuBois Diner a short distance from Mansell stadium. The diner sports a red and white 50's retro motif with booths and tables as well as stools and a counter. Some of the sandwiches are named for vintage cars. The place is very clean and the servers helpful. There is a varied menu with sandwiches, dinners,homemade desserts and breakfast served all day. In our party, one person had the New York stuffed french toast which she described as a breakfast sandwich on French Toast. The only miscue was the egg was cooked over easy instead of fried hard as requested which made for a messy sandwich. The home made Cinnamon Roll was served warm with cinnamon sauce-it was a great accompaniment to a good cup of coffee. A variety of burgers are available-one of our group had the standard burger with pepper jack cheese and hand cut fries. He was very pleased. The Pittsburgh style cheese steak and the New York style Roast Beef sandwich were well received as well as the homemade chips and baked beans. The fish sandwich was felt to be a little small but tasted good. The coleslaw was adequate. The Coconut Cream pie was homemade and almost as good as mother's. A variety of ice cream treats are available. I was disappointed they could not make a chocolate ice cream soda listed on the menu as they were out of syrup. But the Cherry Ice Cream Soda was a good substitute. There are also a variety of buffets offered depending on the day of the week and time of day. Unfortunately we did not get to partake. Maybe next time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who is writing these positive reviews???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We were driving from Chicago to NYC and were drawn by the positive reviews. Kids were starving and we were excited to find a good place right off route 80. Shockingly, the place turned out to be a complete disappointment. Food is of cheapest quality. My omelette was not made from real eggs, my daughters burger seriously did not taste like beef and their salad bar looked scarry. Service was OK, the server was too talkative with people at the bar to pay attention to us, she barely remembered to come by and to make things more uncomfortable she was yelled at by some guy, possibly owner, he in a very rude way told her where the door is...not a pleasant place to work...or dine....was hoping for some wholesome pa food....this is definitely not the place

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bfs330i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemlock, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Step back in time...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

If you love diner food and the nostalgia associated with a home-cooked menu...then you have to stop at the DuBois Diner. Great food...service...and atmosphere!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dhaefele2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to DuBois Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing