We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable motel with pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duncansville
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable motel with pleasant staff”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were not impressed with the front of the hotel because it faces a big parking lot but entering the hotel you find tastefully decorated, clean and well maintained public areas. Our room was clean and comfortable. We appreciated the view from our window as it faced a mown grassy area that borders a stream. If it wasn't winter, we might have might enjoyed the benches and perhaps the picnic table but the pair of mallards did not seem to mind the cold. Breakfast was served in a pleasant setting with decorations for St. Patrick's Day. The food area was clean and well supplied. The staff was pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the north...that is the back side of the motel...face the lawn instead of the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 786Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Please do come back and visit again when the weather is warmer! Our guests (and employees) really do enjoy the scenery!
Thank you for the many compliments regarding your stay. I will surely pass them onto the staff. They are always happy to receive such kind words.
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    41
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
46
9
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stay at this Comfort Inn whenever I travel to the Johnstown/Altoona/Ebensburg area, even though Johnstown and Ebensburg have Comfort Inns. The staff is incredibly friendly and know me by name. It is a great feeling to walk through the door and feel like you are being welcomed back home. The hotel is always spotless and the rooms are very comfortable. The added amenities such as the recliners, microwaves, and frig make my business trip more enjoyable. Marzoni's across the parking lot has great food and beer and Martin's grocery store behind the resturant is very convienent. I would highly recommend this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Let me say how very pleased I am to receive your high recommendation! The fact that you have chosen us when you obviously travel between Johnstown and Altoona is quite a compliment! As always, our goal is to be our guest’s “home away from home”. Thank you so much for confirming that we do indeed accomplish that. We certainly do look forward to your next stay with us.
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

This hotel makes a very positive impression from first entrance. Everything is incredibly clean, neat, and well organized. The staff are highly competent and seem genuinely concerned about their guests. Though some of the furnishings in the hotel appear a bit worn (such as the carpet, which needs replacing--the carpet in my room had stains), my overall impression is that the management cares about running an excellent establishment. The bathroom was spotless, the room smelled clean and fresh, and their was no dust anywhere. The bed was comfortable, rooms were quiet, and I slept very well the nights I was here.

The workout facilities are average and could benefit from a bit more updated equipment. The pool area was also clean and comfortable. The hot tub was substandard and didn't work well. That was my only disappointment.

I highly recommend this property and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the river side rather than the parking lot side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musician47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
On behalf of my staff, thank you for the wonderful compliments regarding them and the hotel.
Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and are looking into your concerns to focus on improving. We are happy to announce that we are in the process of updating the carpeting in our hotel and a few rooms have already been completed.
The hot tub does not function in the same manner as our former one and any adjustment made by a guest affects its proper operation. Therefore, we are in the process of evaluating its efficiency and will be posting directions on the hot tub operation directly in the hot tub area, in an effort to solve some of the problems that have resulted.
We look forward to your next visit with us!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I was pleasantly surprised at how clean and modern my room was here as well as how lovely the hotel was decorated for Christmas. The bedding was pristine and fresh and the room was large, yet cozy. The staff was friendly and helpful. I particularly enjoyed the continental breakfast: large variety and make-your-own waffles (my fave!). The restaurant across the parking lot, Marzoni's, had an innovative menu and delicious food. Great value here!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kari O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Let me express how wonderful it is to hear from you! Christmas is a special time here at the hotel and our staff enjoys decorating and the holiday season.
Your kind comments regarding the breakfast and the hotel in general are very much appreciated. It will be my pleasure to pass them on to my staff.
Please come back and visit us again. The summer months in Altoona offer a great variety of enjoyable experiences and we would be more than happy to be your host!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frostburg
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Got a super great rate when staying here. The staff could not be any friendlier. The facility is nice and clean. The pool area is great although the hot tub is a bit strange in how the water flows. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We were right next to the elevator but did not hear any noise from it. The breakfast was very nice and well stocked. There is a great restaurant in the parking lot next to the hotel with their own microbrews. Can't wait to go back. Have already planned a trip for next month too.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdmbfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Wow, what a great review! Thank you so very much! I am so pleased that the hotel and staff made you want to write your kind words and plan a return visit in January.
I always share any comments with the staff and I am sure they will be pleased when I post this one!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We were cheerily greeted & checked in by Danielle. This is the 2nd Comfort Inn we've stayed at within 4 months. Clean, spacious and efficiently run. Great hotel, friendly staff & good selection at breakfast. Hotel was conveniently located near shopping, restaurants and for us, family. We would highly recommend this hotel - and Comfort Inn - in general. It's a good/safe bet when selecting a hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor - right across from the elevator. Room overlooked a stream - with benc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soundbiteroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
I will definitely pass on your kind remarks to Danielle and the rest of our hotel staff! I thank you for highly recommending us to others. It is our goal to make you feel "at home" when you stay with us.
Please visit us again when you are in Altoona (we are currently decorating for the Holidays and hope you get a chance to see our beautiful tree).
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Ever been away from home, in a bed that wasn't your own, and thought you wouldn't or couldn't sleep? ... THAT doesn't happen here! Thanks to the GM - Jodie and staff, this place is tops on my list when in the Altoona, PA area!

Room Tip: I've been on every floor ... in every wing. It's all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
We always enjoy your stays with us Tim! Thank you for the great comments!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncansville
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
84 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
445 reviews
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona

Property: Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona
Address: 130 Patchway Rd, Duncansville, PA 16635-8429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Duncansville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duncansville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, the Comfort Inn Duncansville features an indoor pool and hot tub, free Comfort Sunshine Breakfast, and Platinum Award winning service. The property is adjacent to Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Co., and Hoss's Steak and Sea House. All rooms are warmly appointed and offer free wireless high-speed internet, 32 inch flat screen Tv's, microwaves and refrigerators. The hotel is just minutes from downtown Altoona and the mall, and convenient to all area businesses and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Duncansville
Comfort Inn Duncansville
Duncansville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing