We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly A Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duncansville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2013

My cousin recommended this hotel, saying it had an excellent reputation. The property is immaculate, the hot tub was hot (not luke warm), the complimentary breakfast was excellent with a view out onto a patio and down to the river that runs along the back of the property. The room was quiet; we did not have any noise from the hall or parking lot. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and most helpful. The entire establishment is non-smoking. The only downside—they do not allow pets.

Room Tip: Just tell the person at the desk what your preferences are (first floor, near the pool, close to bre...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Please thank your cousin for the recommendation. We are very grateful to you for your complimentary review and hope to serve you again soon!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. This is one of the loveliest hotels we have stayed in. The staff are really friendly, the breakfast was excellent.The rooms are very spacious & very clean indeed.our room overlooked the river at the rear of the property which was just beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for the lovely compliments! Our staff will be delighted to receive your praise.
I agree that the Blair Run is a great view. We hope to have you as our guests again very soon!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We have been staying at this Comfort Inn at least 15 nights per year since it opened 12 years ago. Unfortunately, we have set our standards for Comfort Inns by this hotel and we are often disappointed that we don't get such great service. Ever person is polite, friendly and treats us like family. The rooms have always been spotless, breakfast well presented, the pool clean and there is nothing that is too much of a bother for the staff. I hope we are half as good as guests as they are as hosts.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel have a nice view of a stream.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you so very much Anne! You know that you and your husband (and friends) are our favorite guests! We so look forward to your football stays.
The staff truly appreciates the recognition.
You are great guests for sure!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We liked everything;

Clean
Affordable
Quiet
Free wifi in all rooms
Long bathroom counter--plenty of space for his toiletries and mine
Complimentary hot breakfast
Lovely river abuts hotel property; guests can sit enjoying the view, flowers and trees, on benches or at tables provided by hotel
Super friendly and courteous service
Marzoni's Restaurant in same parking lot as hotel serves great food! Try the crispy wings with one of their kicking margaritas. Made dinner very convenient.

If we pass through Duncansville again there is no question we would stay here

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ginny000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

This is a real compliment coming from Virginia Beach with all of your fine hotels and restaurants. Thank you so very much!
We certainly do look forward to your staying with us again.
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We booked the day of, so weren't really expecting much for the price. Room was huge, lovely and clean, nice grounds, everything worked. Breakfast was very good, well stocked, actually had cream for my coffee (can't do the non-dairy creamer thing - bleck!). Staff at the desk and in other areas were pleasant and helpful. Would recommend it :)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndyandGerrie_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2013

Kudos to my staff! They are a wonderful group of employees that personally care about the hotel and your great review reflects that. Thank you so very much for staying with us!
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have stayed at this Comfort Inn in Duncansville for several years now when visiting family in the Altoona Area, so we figured it was time for us to review it. This Comfort Inn is simply outstanding! The customer service clearly makes it stand out above the rest. The employees are always pleasant, helpful, and eager to go the extra mile. The rooms are fantastic and always are pristine in cleanliness and appearance. We recently stayed for two nights and the housekeeping was phenomenal, even replacing the microwave popcorn sample for a second night. The hotel staff might wonder if these little, insignificant things really make a difference to their customers. We would tell you that these things are exactly what separates this Comfort Inn from the others. The breakfast in the morning is great with extra seating in the Allegany Room when it’s available. We used the pool with our children and they loved it. Again, the pool area is very clean and inviting. We always have a first-class experience when staying at the Comfort Inn, Duncansville.
The only item that kept us from giving it a five-star rating was the hot tub. Having stayed at the hotel for a number of years, they used to have a great hot tub with powerful jets. Recently, they had to replace that tub with a new one as we imagine the old one no longer worked properly. The new hot tub was okay. However, the main jets never worked and the water was warm, but lacking just a degree or two more that would be soothing. I have read previous posts on here that the inoperable hot tub is due to customers not understanding how it works. We have to say, while we are not hot tub experts, we certainly have been in enough hot tubs to determine how to operate them and tried many times to start the main jets. Previous comments from the management on Trip Advisor suggest that a sign was going to be installed so customers could better understand how to use the hot tub. We saw a sign that stated that if the water was below the skimmer to please notify the front desk. The water was never below the skimmer and it still did not function properly. We would encourage the hotel to see if the new hot tub is still under warranty and determine what the issue is so all the jets work not just the water filtering ones. In the end, it is just a hot tub, we know. However, from reading other posts on here, it appears that it is the one area that continues to be mentioned as an issue with this Comfort Inn in an otherwise superior property with an amazing reputation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Family122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for your nice comments! On behalf of my entire hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise. Good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times and it is very rewarding when a guest recognizes their efforts.
Please know that I am continuing in my efforts to determine what can be done to alleviate the issues that have been expressed regarding our hot tub.
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Normally Comfort Inn is a pretty safe bet, but this time didn't go as planned.

Pros: Sink was inside the bathroom with lots of counter space. Room was spacious and had a nice flat screen tv with lots of channels, a microwave and a fridge. Breakfast was well stocked at 7:30.

Cons: There was a dirty washrag laying on my sink when I walked in. The room was so damp that my bedding and towels were wet. This means I froze all night even with the heat turned up to 78. There was a hair hanging from the clean towels that clearly wasn't mine. There was only ONE tissue in the tissue box, had to use toilet paper. There was some type of filthy stain with stuff stuck to it on the top part of the comforter. Had to fold it down and wrap the sheets around it so it wouldn't touch my face. I was just too tired from driving all day to deal with getting all this crap corrected. Seems like the cleaning staff is pretty lazy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CravingBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comfortsales64, General Manager at Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

I truly apologize for not exceeding your expectations regarding your recent stay. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.
Please know that I am taking your feedback to heart and I will personally look into your concerns regarding the Housekeeping Staff.
Recent weather conditions have been challenging in controlling the humidity levels in the hotel. We do offer dehumidifiers during these times. Please feel confident in informing my staff of any situation that impairs a pleasant stay at our hotel.
It is my hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Sincerely,
Jodie Zembower
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Duncansville
4.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Altoona
10.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Altoona
Comfort Suites Altoona
#2 of 15 in Altoona
425 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Altoona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 15 in Altoona
451 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Altoona
Hampton Inn Altoona
#1 of 15 in Altoona
813 reviews
1.9 mi away
Altoona Grand Hotel
Altoona Grand Hotel
#10 of 15 in Altoona
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona

Address: 130 Patchway Rd, Duncansville, PA 16635-8429
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Duncansville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Duncansville
Price Range: £62 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike, the Comfort Inn Duncansville features an indoor pool and hot tub, free Comfort Sunshine Breakfast, and Platinum Award winning service. The property is adjacent to Marzoni's Brick Oven and Brewing Co., and Hoss's Steak and Sea House. All rooms are warmly appointed and offer free wireless high-speed internet, 32 inch flat screen Tv's, microwaves and refrigerators. The hotel is just minutes from downtown Altoona and the mall, and convenient to all area businesses and attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Duncansville - Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Duncansville
Comfort Inn Duncansville
Duncansville Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing