We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Romantic, Historic, and Welcoming Stay”

Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Berlin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 East Berlin B&B and Inns
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Romantic, Historic, and Welcoming Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I (30 and 28 years old, respectively) had the great pleasure to stay at the Bechtel Victorian Bed and Breakfast during our October Gettysburg Anniversary trip. At first, we were concerned that the proximity of the bed and breakfast to Gettysburg would be an inconvenience. As it turned out, Gettysburg is a very quick and easy car ride and we were able to park our car at the hotel (did not have to pay).

Carol, the hostess, and her husband are extremely hospitable. We felt welcomed in their home the minute we walked through the door. She quickly realized we were traveling and hungry and we quick to offer suggestions and reviews of local eateries.

We stayed in their smallest room and were still comfortable. Of course, with amazing breakfast food offered every morning, it was tough not to feel comfortable.

All in all my wife and I give this 10 out of 10 stars. We will certainly come back to this bed and breakfast should be in the area again.

Room Tip: Bring your own wine! They supply the glasses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We just left the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn. What an absolutely wonderful experience! The owners, Carol and Rich, are so warm, welcoming, interesting and fun to talk with. The mansion is a feast for the eyes with all the beautiful woodwork and attention to detail. We stayed in the Master Bedroom. It was beautifully decorated. The bed was so comfortable with plenty of blankets and pillows. The sitting area was comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. (Carol said that the recipe for the French toast is on the website. I am going to try to duplicate it.) I highly recommend this B&B and will return. P.S. I am not sure if there is Wi-Fi because we did not bring our laptops and really, I think that the technology would take away from being transported back in time.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aprilaurora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Womelsdorf, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Bechtel Victorian is very convenient to all the Gettysburg offers but away form the crowds. Outstanding dining at Sidney just a few blocks away. Hoping the owners can adapt to modern policies and technology (wifi) to keep it open.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank noel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

What a BEAUTIFUL inn! No detail was spared. The original woodwork and character was kept throughout the entire Inn and beckons you to adventure into every room. Rich and Carol, the owners, are very friendly and helpful. Being a short drive from Gettysburg, it was the PERFECT Inn to relax after a very hot day viewing the battlefields! The aroma of homemade cookies welcomed us upon our arrival, a nice treat! Breakfast was DELICIOUS, and plentiful! The history of the Inn was extremely interesting. After a brief conversation with Carol as she presented us our room, we discovered we had something in common! We grew up in the same town , bringing back fond memories! Carol's craftsmanship is to be envied, as she made the most beautiful window dressings for the Inn, as well as the fabulous quilts! AMAZING! Carol, Rich, and The Bechtel Inn!!! We'll DEFINATELY return!! And HIGHLY recommend!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cvette1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

Stayed here with my husband for our anniversary weekend and found the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn through a B&B website that I get "Hot Deals" from each week. We stayed in "Beaulah's Boudoir" and it was absolutely beautiful. It is the only room that has a king size bed and is located on the 2nd floor; even tho I am physically challenged, my husband took my walker up the stairs each time we went in and out of the Inn. The Inn is located on the main road through town, so if you stay in any of the rooms at the front of the Inn there is going to be road traffic noise. Also, the Inn is literally right across from a beautiful church with a bell tower, and the church bells ring out each hour, 1/4 hour, 1/2 hour, 3/4 hour and there is a multi song "Carillon" (sp?). It was interesting and pretty to hear since we live in the suburbs of Washington, DC but it took me a little while to get used to it!! The owners Rich and Carol were so wonderful and so friendly and made us feel so welcome from the get go. And boy, can Carol cook a mean breakfast! One morning, we had a puff pastry stuffed with sausage and veggies that melted in our mouths and the next morning we had thick slices of French bread that were baked with sliced apples, cinnamon and sugar. Mmmmm Mmmm Mmmmm! And Carol had homemade cookies out all day that were so yummy. The Inn is only about a 15-20 minute ride from Gettysburg, so I don't understand why people would choose a square white walled hotel room over a beautiful room in this Inn?!?!?! We took time before we left to take pictures of the Inn and even got Rich and Carol to pose for a picture! This will be my next scrapbooking project. If you are looking for a beautiful house full of Boyds Bears and collectible Boyds dolls, a delicious breakfast each morning, and wonderful hosts to take care of your every need, then the Bechtel Victorian Mansion Inn is the place to stay in the Gettysburg area!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Modemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

This bed and breakfast is an exceptional Inn to stay at. The decore is beautiful with original woodwork throughout. The Innkeepers told us the history of the manion as well and some local history. We stayed in the downstairs suite, which has a sitting room and cherry woodwork. Breakfast each morning was a gourmet treat and just delicious. We highly recommend staying here if you are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReviewofBechtelInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarrell, Texas
Level Contributor
270 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2006

The mansion is beautiful, and the innkeepers have decorated with Victorian era antiques throughout the house. We stayed in the turret room -- the turret is open to the outside and makes for a wonderful place to sit either in the evening or in the morning. The bed was comfortable, the breakfast plentiful and delicious, and the innkeepers themselves both helpful and gregarious. Note that the average rate cited on TripAdvisor of $100 is a little low, but that the rates here are in keeping with the area (and maybe a little more reasonable).

  • Liked — The innkeepers
  • Disliked — The price was a little more than I would normally pay
  • Tips/Secrets — Book in November -- the fall colors are in full swing but the inn isn't busy then
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mdiv2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Bechtel Victorian Mansion Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 400 W King St, East Berlin, PA 17316-9667
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Berlin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing