We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a fun time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Mountain Resort
Bristol, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always a fun time!”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My partner and I came up for a weekend in the Pocono's and stayed at Rainbow Mountain Resort. We have stayed in the past and it was great to be back! They have upgraded the karaoke bar and the dance club, seems like there's some new energy in the place. The weather was prefect for crystal clear pool! You really can't beat the weekends there, basically like a cruise, great music, food, and atmosphere! Thanks guys and gals for a wonderful time! J&J

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

What A wonderful experience we had. The rainbow mountain was a fabulous place. The people the food and overall entertaining. The people who worked there are very professional and kind and cared about us. We would recommend the Rainbow Mountain Resort a must see. We will be back Thank You to all of your staff.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piscataway, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

I wish I had better news to report... My gf and I went up to Rainbow Mountain last weekend with a pair of close friends anticipating a lovely getaway where we could just "be ourselves", have some fun in the sun, and enjoy the beautiful natural environment. In theory, Rainbow Mountain should be wonderful. However, we had an atrocious experience there.

Everything was dirty from the pool (filled with flies, mosquitoes, bees since it doesn't have a pool filter) to the lodge. I am not the most high-maintenance of women, but everything was absolutely substandard. The waitstaff took forever to first seat us, then for our food took 50 minutes to come out once we placed our order and was cold, and our order was placed incorrectly. Now I understand that they had one waiter for several tables, but even as the place cleared out, the service was slow. I couldn't believe how many things went wrong in the brief time we were there. (On a happy note: the manager was lovely and attentive--however, there really was no saving the experience)

Needless to say, there was no way we were going to stay there in the frightening looking shacks they have on site. We stayed at the nearby Shawnee Inn instead, which was pleasant, clean, and quaint. I have been everywhere from motels to 5 star resorts/timeshares, and had yet to experience something as awful as what we dealt with at Rainbow Mountain. The only thing I can walk away with from there that is positive is the wonderful company I was with. Please, spare yourself and your partner/friends---if you want a getaway, stay away from Rainbow Mountain!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dulcinenadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

THis resort used to be my favorite place, but 12 years ago it changed ownership and lost it's way. A few months ago it was sold to a couple who vacationed here for 20 years and they have brought it back to life. We stayed in July and had a great time. There was entertainment in the dance club and music videos on the dance floor. The new lounge had Karaoke and the olympic sized pool was packed with people. They even had a Sunday t-dance party with a DJ by ther pool. THe food was great and everyone was so friendly. I plan on going back soon.

Room Tip: ask for the free night. If you stay the weekend, they add a night free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaci7585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have vacationed there for five years now. I just got home as a matter of fact. I am female and have no problems getting service and the menu has something for everyone and they will accommodate you if you have food allergies like me. They really do treat everyone like family, it is laid back and everyone is friendly and knows how to have a good time. The rooms are clean but do need to be updated however the dirty dancing feel is intriguing and has a romance about it. I just found out while there that there are new owners; they have been updating what needs to be. I actually didn’t recognize the down stairs bar in the night club at all. I can’t wait to see what changes come for my next summer vacation!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanW1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
255 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We traveled to Rainbow Mountain for a weekend with friends. While I thought it was expensive for a rustic place, I figured the cost included breakfast and dinner so it might be worth the cost. After spending a weekend there, I would say it is not worth the price. First of all, the rooms were a huge disappointment. They are old and run down. The bathroom had rust stained fixtures and mold in the shower stall. Awful! The food was okay but the whole package was hardly worth the cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingbeachbum00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2010

My partner and I stayed here in October. We traveled to NY for business and decided to stay here on the way home. I stupidly booked 2 nights prior to getting there and seeing what it was like. We were charged for a "Theme Weekend" yet there was NO THEME whatsoever. There were very creepy guests who took over the resort and the staff catered to their every needs pretty much forgetting about other guests.
I was really looking forward to this trip and was incredibly disappointed. They state on their website that they are "rustic" but "charming". There was nothing charming about hair and rust in the showers that were filthy. The towels and sheets were stained and looked terrible. We were unable to get our money back and were ignored when we inquired about it.
Although we were there in the fall and expected fewer guests, I expected better service. The food was good, but there were numerous meals that we had to pay additional for as the room price did not cover it. And they ran out of some food as mentioned by another guest. Wings could easily have been purchased from a local store.
The bar was a disaster. The karaoke was not working and it took them over an hour to figure it out. The drinks were OVERPRICED for the drop of alcohol that the bartender put in them.
I looked forward to this stay for several years and was disappointed with every aspect. I would never recommend anyone stay here.
The theme weekend when we were there was a joke and we should have been reimbursed. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2GirlsAndaJeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
4.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
7.9 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
3.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Mountain Resort

Property: Rainbow Mountain Resort
Address: 210 Mt Nebo Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-8163
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Stroudsburg
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Mountain is a gay-owned and operated resort, restaurant and nightclub that has been serving the community since 1981. Nestled high atop a mountainside on 25 private acres, including a 2 acre pond, we boast a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. Welcoming both men and women and open to ALL lifestyles, we are open year round with our friendly and helpful staff ready to serve you. We are near many warm weather activities such as boating, canoeing, rafting, kayaking, water skiing, golfing and water parks (both outside and indoor). In the winter, there is snow skiing (downhill and cross country), snow boarding, tubing, and snowmobiling. All year long there is great hiking, horseback riding, antiquing, outlet and flea market shopping, and gambling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Mountain Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing