We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rainbow Mountain Resort
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I wish I have a lot of good things to say to describe this place, but my experience had been so disappointing. The room where we stayed in was dirty. The room smelled like mold, the carpet had not been shampooed in a long time nor vacuumed for that matter, the bathroom was disgusting, and the shelves were dusty.
Although the food was great, it took a very long time to come. We sat at the table for no less than 2 1/2 hrs.
The pool was nice, but I was a little leery getting in it.
I don't think I'll visit this place again. Perhaps, I'll just go to other gay friendly places to stay for the same amount of money but cleaner, nicer, and better amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poconoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
1
21
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surf City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I recently stayed here with a group of friends, mix of gay and straight for a long weekend. We rented a few of the cottages with inclusive meals. Upon check-in we were greeted by a friendly front desk staff and given the keys to our rooms.. and that is where the problems began. The room we stayed in had the dirtiest carpet I have ever seen in a hotel room in the U.S. The tub was brown and had cigarette burns in the shower walls. It was a HUGE bummer to have to spend the weekend wearing flip flops at all times in our hotel room including the shower. There was a thick coating of dust on all of the furniture and the room smelled like mold. For $250 per night, the condition of the room was unacceptable. In this day and age it is hard to imagine that this could be the case, but trust me it is and if you stay here you will find out for yourself.
Next problem was the restaurant.. we had inclusive meals for the weekend and ate there twice for breakfast and twice for dinner. The food was actually quite good.. they had a mix of steak, seafood, nice appetizers, etc.. Unfortunately the service and time spent waiting was horrible. Dinner both nights took no less then 3 hours and about an hour's time went by between courses. appetizer (wait an hour) salad course (wait another hour) and then dinner. It appeared that each server was their own host, server, bar tender, food runner, etc.. and it was very clear that there was no restaurant manager so the service was not efficient or coordinated. The first night for dinner that took 3 hours it was easy to forgive because the food was good but two nights in a row taking 3+ hours for a dinner was ridiculous and a huge let down.
A couple positives to end with... the pool was nice and the nightclub / bar was good. Drinks were reasonably priced and the surrounding area is beautiful with views of the mountains.
Unfortunately the negatives far outweigh the positives and I still would never stay here again and would not recommend to others.

Room Tip: be sure and bring flip flops if staying here. They will be needed for the shower and to walk on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I have been going to Rainbow Mountain for over 10 years.
This St. Patty's Weekend I was able to go with 4 friends from Thurs. the 15th to Sun. the 18th. & had the best time I have had in a long time.

The new owners have brought life back to this quaint resort - old pocono resort charm with a splash of confetti! Some staff changes have been made for the better as well as retaining the best of the best (Manager: Jayson, Bartenders: Jerry & Chuck, Wait/Cust.Srvs: Eddie, Joey, Nicky & Ty). The new Chef Pam is the Queen of the Kitchen making everyone feel like they have a personal chef with her incredible creations.

Many renovations have been done and more are in the works.

If you've been there before you must go check it out again - you will love it.
If you have never been there before what are you waiting for???

My friends and I will be going back many times.

Pete (Syosset, NY)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Great quick overnight getaway very close to manhattan. Went to check it out for summer time and we'll definitely be back great service great food fun Nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattDG3479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Of all the places in the world I love, one of the best is Rainbow Mountain. For twelve years I have run themed weekends and twice a year I work with the resort and all of the staff. The buildings were built in the 1940’s and codes were different then. The place has a charm of its own but the best part is getting to know the staff and making yourself part of the family, which takes about fifteen minutes on a bad day. When you are a regular at Rainbow it’s like taking a ride to grandma’s for a visit with all the cousins. Rainbow thrives on holidays, especially Halloween, but every Thursday a familiar crew gathers for Karaoke. On Saturday nights everybody dances in the disco. As the weather changes in the mountains it’s simply beautiful to watch the mist roll over the pond located in the center. Not everything at Rainbow is brand new and shiny but the new owners know that and are fixing what needs to be fixed while maintaining the innate charm of the place. Frankly, I will settle for what they have if they promise to keep their smiles, their hugs and family charm. I like old-fashioned warmth and you can find it at Rainbow. Did I mention the big porch? On a pretty day old friends sit there for hours and talk about everything and nothing. Just let Joey know if you need something to drink. Jayson and Rich are always around so there’s no reason to not let your needs be known. Finding flaws with Rainbow is like complaining about the Chelsea, or the Hotel Pennsylvania. You don’t whine, you embrace it and be glad a piece of culture is still here. M.Davis

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackettstown NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I heard that new owners recently took over and decided to book a weekend with my best friend. We had a blast. The room and restaurant were very good. But the best is the incredible huge pool ! We also enjoyed the nightclub and met lots of fun people. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank louis l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My partner and I came up for a weekend in the Pocono's and stayed at Rainbow Mountain Resort. We have stayed in the past and it was great to be back! They have upgraded the karaoke bar and the dance club, seems like there's some new energy in the place. The weather was prefect for crystal clear pool! You really can't beat the weekends there, basically like a cruise, great music, food, and atmosphere! Thanks guys and gals for a wonderful time! J&J

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
4.7 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
632 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
3.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
4.9 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
105 reviews
7.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Mountain Resort

Property: Rainbow Mountain Resort
Address: 210 Mt Nebo Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-8163
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in East Stroudsburg
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rainbow Mountain is a gay-owned and operated resort, restaurant and nightclub that has been serving the community since 1981. Nestled high atop a mountainside on 25 private acres, including a 2 acre pond, we boast a spectacular view of the surrounding mountains. Welcoming both men and women and open to ALL lifestyles, we are open year round with our friendly and helpful staff ready to serve you. We are near many warm weather activities such as boating, canoeing, rafting, kayaking, water skiing, golfing and water parks (both outside and indoor). In the winter, there is snow skiing (downhill and cross country), snow boarding, tubing, and snowmobiling. All year long there is great hiking, horseback riding, antiquing, outlet and flea market shopping, and gambling. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rainbow Mountain Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing