We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service sucked”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Was here this past weekend. We had our family reunion here. First i would say that to me this is a couples hotel. The only have one bed and a sofa bed. Customer service was not great. Myeslf and several cousins said that when calling to make reservation the employee were rude. The employees were not friendly at all on the phone. They were even nasty to my cousins who planned the event for the family reunion. When checking in the lady who waited on me was nice. The room are really nice and spaces. I had two room...one room that was a suite. Overall the hotel looked clean but I did notice the linen for the sofa bed smelled soon as you open it and was stained. We were able to get new linen. I did not eat the free breakfast. I would not stay here again because customer service is big to me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiley4life2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear smiley4life2003,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Our Family was going on a vacation, just to visit the whole major attractions of PA. We were going to see Bush Kill Falls around this area and it seemed to be the only hotel that was decently priced, clean and close (from the other reviews and pictures). We were placed in a handicap room, where we had one 12 year old, one 7 year old and we were not even handicapped. The shower in the handicap bathroom, did not allow the water to go down the drain but instead flooded half the bathroom floor. We had to use four big bath towels to clean up the water. Then all the towels had to be placed in a plastic laundry bag. That was a lot of work!!!! Then, during the night, the hotel was full-capacity. The elevator door, opened and shut until 4:20 am. The four of us in room 208, did not get any sleep that night until starting 4:20. The next morning we were exhausted. And because we were so exhausted we had to cancel are reservations for canoeing. Hopefully the manager will contact us on Monday.

Room Tip: Dont let them give you a handicap room, especially by the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoJoGurlMayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2013

Dear JoJoGurlMayers,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry about the room confusion and the noise during your stay. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I really liked the amenities offered by this property.The staff was helpful and always polite when encountered.

Even the clock radio can handle your MP3 tunes.As you have a large fridge ( apt size) with ice maker you can leave the cooler home.The smaller unit had a pull out couch w/linens in closet.Place was great for two people ,three would be tight ,four jammed.

Pool was clean but cloudy,piped music in all common areas.

Only two complaints that need to be addressed.Large stain on carpet near bed and as I was showering the water pressure went to nothing for a minute or so,this is room 415 at 11am.

Grab some creamers from coffee bar in common area.. as there is coffee in room but no creamers,for that first morning cup..oh and be ready to see some characters at the breakfast ie Bathrobes,jammies....please...........

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockiie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Our family of four stopped for the night at the Staybridge Suites on our way to Long Island for the 4th of July weekend. Upon arrival, we found the staff reasonably helpful. Our two bedroom suite was well appointed and clean: the kitchen area was beautiful. The living room was a tad smaller, but since we had two bedrooms, not an issue. Very comfortable beds---so comfortable after a 7 hour drive that, well, we all overslept! The water pressure from the shower could have been stronger though.

The stay, as with the trend of most hotels, comes with a complimentary breakfast; this is one area in which they can improve a in terms of the hot items served. The hot egg option was the frozen egg-substitute patties, which were only edible (according to my husband and son) when drenched in hot sauce and cheese (provided); thankfully, there was a hardboiled egg option as well. The meat option was corn beef hash. Now, I realize that they probably don't have the same kitchen options that, say, an Embassy Suite would have (full, cooked-to-order). However, there are other options for eggs and breakfast meat that can be appealing. The rest of the breakfast options (fruits, breads, etc.) were good---though a second waffle maker might ease the bottleneck/wait for that. Again, it's complimentary. It would just be nice to have a few more appealing choices for the hot buffet. One note: on weekdays, the breakfast cleans up by 9am. Thankfully, it was a holiday so they kept it open longer and were willing to bring out food if needed. But mind the time---a few others came in around 10 expecting to eat and things were cleared.

While we didn't stay long enough to take advantage of other amenities, they do have a light buffet at night, with wine and beer. The indoor pool and gym looked inviting as well. And it's in the heart of the Poconos, so this is a good and affordable option for those looking to take advantage of this very scenic area and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: Two bedroom is a nice option if traveling with family. Not much more than a one bedroom and everyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

It's my families first time at Staybridge Suites and it's def a keeper, staff were friendly..Tina would always approach us when she sees us to make sure my family was doing good and see if we needed anything. Location was good nearby to a lot of places, easy to find. Pool was clean, room was clean everything was in great condition. Staybridge Suite is def a keeper and I'd recommend it to my friends and family when they visit Poconos!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steff_82_24_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went to PA for a one night getaway. We arrived early and our room was ready . Tina at the front desk was very friendly and she also called my room to make sure everything was ok with the room and if we were happy; we were!
Room was clean and very modern with a kitchen! Bed was comfy as well.
The breakfast buffet in the morning was the best I have had at a hotel where the breakfast is included.
Checkout was a breeze as well and Bruno at the front desk was great as well. Would highly reccomend this hotel!! I will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We had a 2 bedroom suite. Everything about the room was great and better than our previous experiences at other Staybridge Suite locations.

Good location, clean rooms...obviously not that old of a property.

Our only disappointments were the breakfast and the evening reception. Both were lacking and in quality and variety compared to other properties.

Still the best in the area but probably a little overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jussla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stroudsburg - Poconos
1.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
654 reviews
12.6 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
11.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos

Address: 561 Independence Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-8202
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range: £77 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing