We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Deerfield Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Deerfield Spa
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What an awesome place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

What a great place. I was looking for a trip for my birthday and I wanted to go to a spa but not just to lounge around. I came across Deerfield and it was just what I was looking for. I wanted something with nice scenery, comfortable and that would be great for me health and pocket wise. Deerfield was perfect. I choose the 10-day special and I am so glad I did. The food, the exercise and the staff totally met and exceeded my expectations. You have the choice to totally relax and do nothing or you can really make this place work for you. I took advantage of the exercise classes while I was there and came home 13.5 lbs lighter! NO JOKE! and enjoyed every minute of it. I felt good and slept well the whole time I was there.

The guests and the staff are a hoot. Everyone is so welcoming. Some of the guests have been coming for years and some, like me, were first timers. My mother met me there and we had a ball. We were so comfortable that when we were sitting in either of our rooms we felt like we were upstairs at a family member or friend's house. One guest played the piano and I ran and grabbed my flute and we had great time singing and playing. I even had leisurely evenings in the lounge working on a puzzle. My mother booked her return trip before she left. We traded a lot of numbers and e-mails and have already been in touch with a lot of folks we met there.

I had 3 massages, Swedish, Hot Stone and Lomi Lomi, while I was there and with all the exercise they were welcomed and did the job. Cynthia was so nice, gives a great massage and also did my eyebrows. It has been so hard for me to find someone to do them correctly and she is a real pro. I did most of my exercise classes with Cyndi and she is a real gem and super encouraging. The chef did a great job and the wait staff, Adam and Keith, are the best! I got a kick out of making them laugh. Deerfield in not in the least pretentious but their wait staff is super professional, very polished and highly accommodating and they learn your name very quickly.

The only thing I missed while I was there was not being able to get a manicure on site. I did stop and get one just a short distance from Deerfield. That is the only thing I can think of that I would change. If there was something else, it wasn't a big deal since I can't seem to remember anything else now. I really liked my room, housekeeping respects how you have things arranged and I honestly was never distracted or really aware of the road noise others write about. I was a happy camper all around and even went antiquing one day in town.

I would travel here alone and I would be totally comfortable, they really look out for you. Joan is great and when she hugs you at the end of your stay you know it is genuine. I will return for my birthday next year as well and I am really looking forward to it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    24
    3
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
13
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mashpee, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

I just returned. I don't understand all the negative reviews but understood the reviews after being subjected to people who would complain about not having something to complain about. . It's very affordable but don't expect Canyon Ranch. Do expect a very clean place with really good food..friendly staff, knowledgable trainers. I went alone and it turned out better than I expected. A few people who I met want to come back together because we had such a good time.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper call and ask for a room not facing the street. My only complaint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I have been to this spa several times in the past but this was my first visit for a few years. When I arrived I immediately felt as though I had come home.The entire staff is very caring and all of them are good at what they do. Although it is true that Deerfield could use some updating in several areas, the guest rooms and public spaces are well maintained and the food was more creative than I remembered. However I was glad I had brought my own caffeinated tea bags and sea salt. Sea salt grinders are available in the dining room but you have to ask. They were running a special, 10 days for the price of a week with a $210 credit towards spa services, so I feel I got a good deal and all the benefit of staying longer, which I had always hoped to do one day. I took lots of different classes and went on a couple of hikes I met some friendly and interesting people and was able to relax, lose some weight and get more fit. There is not that much to do at night, and the few things scheduled were pretty low-key, but I did not go there looking for entertainment or nightlife. One evening we had bingo, on another night there was a nutrition lecture, some nights there is an evening yoga class, every Thursday night there is a cooking demonstration, and one evening there was a dance party where we learned swing and merengue and had a great time. Also, many of us scheduled our spa services in the evening. Tired from a day of working out, I was mostly happy to read, relax and watch the flat screen TV in my comfy room if nothing else was going on. This spa not a luxury resort, it's a comfortable place where you can relax, work out, get a good massage, facial or body treatment and eat healthy food while meeting new people and maybe learn something new about how to stay healthy and fit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

I have been going to Deerfield for 16+ years now and I LOVE it! It is nice and small (intimate)so you never are lost in the crowd. The food is healthy, portion controlled, and WONDERFUL! The classes are great and such a variety. I started coming for the hiking as it is my favorite exercise - I go in the fall as it is beautiful then. The instructors and staff are great - talented and personable. The price is a great value and since it is short drive from NYC - a wonderful retreat for all. We call it our "adult sleep away camp". If you go try to take advantage of one of the 10 day specials (10 days for the price of 7) - this is the best deal! Plus when you go for 10 days you really feel the stress relief and the pounds come off. Wish I could go more often than once a year.

Room Tip: You have choice of annex rooms (separate from main house) or rooms in main house. I like the main h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eldeedee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

I've just returned from another wonderful visit at Deerfield Spa. What more can I say, except the service remains excellent, the food is still delicious and wholesome, and the staff are polite, attentive, and caring.

Joan, Deerfield's owner, truly extends herself to make visitors comfortable, and is "hands on" and ready, willing, and able to assist at many levels. The wait staff/servers are magnificent, and classy.

The nutritionist provided invaluable information, as well as a cooking demonstration, which yielded healthy and delicious fare., .We were also given a copy of the recipe that she prepared.

I especially enjoyed the sunrise hikes and the beginner's hikes, and the guides who take us on these magnificent hikes. Additionally they are knowledgeable and patient. There are various levels for all.

The housekeeping staff were very friendly, courteous, and also provided excellent services.

Now that I'm home, I've have to deal with the real world, as I just left a real life fantasy.that helped me feel better. However,Deefiied Spa has certainly made it easier for me to to so.

I would be remiss if I failed to send shout to Janice and those assisting her.

Exercise classes are available by competent individuals.

Hope to see you soon "If my heart is still beating and the creek don't rise"-Joane

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewJerseyToya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

The staff was very nice.The exercise classes included a large variety of unique and fun choices.
The entire facility is small, outdated and not kept up.The food was just okay with not much on flavor. There definitely a way to make food tasty and filling without all the fat and calories, however the chef at Deerfield Spa has missed the mark.
All and all it was a nice place to just get away for a few days. Definitely would recommend major updates to justify the rates that are being charged.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Callie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

I have been to D.S. many times over the past 15 years or so, and I have never been disappointed. They have a gazillion choices of classes every day, including off-site hikes. I always meet interesting, friendly people. The place is small, so you get to know everyone very well. To be honest, the exercise classes are not all that challenging, but the instructors are EXCELLENT and will always give you tips to modify. Plus if you do classes all day long, I guarantee you will be tired at the end of the day and see results. Regarding the food -- I read some of the other reviews and I think that those reviewers have just never had spa cuisine before. Everything is designed to be healthy and help in weigh loss. So it's not going to be your typical restaurant fare. For spa cuisne, it is excellent and I was full after every meal.

And Joan the owner, goes out of her way to make everyone feel at home. The facialist is excellent, the prices are reasonable, and for sure I will be going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldmc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
9.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
12.9 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfield Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfield Spa

Property: Deerfield Spa
Address: 650 Resica Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18302-9709
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deerfield Health Retreat and SPA is an all inclusive retreat with full exercise program, 3 healthy meals, 2 snacks, 8 hikes a week, lectures and full use of the facilities. Outdoor heated pool, and Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Deerfield Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deerfield Hotel East Stroudsburg
Deerfield Spa East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing