We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy, leaky, and infested with ants.”
Review of Fernwood Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fernwood Resort
at78rpm
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Filthy, leaky, and infested with ants.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I so wanted to love this place. We brought some friends and their kids with us; the area has tons of things for kids to do (at a price, unless your interest lies solely in visiting the beautiful and adjacent Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area.) The layout of this resort is lovely, and the golf course is meticulously maintained. However. However.

When we got there, it was warm and rather odd-smelling inside, so I wanted to open a window in the kitchen. I pulled up the blinds and let them drop: the handle for opening the window was encrusted with kitchen grease and general filth. The window had soap spots on it, splashed up from the sink below. So I went to open the dining room window, and the screen fell out. (The other window had no screen at all.) I gave up and let the air conditioner run instead.

At the bottom of the stairs (the units are 3 levels) outside the bathroom, there was water coming up from between the tiles. We thought it was our friends' children having left their wet bathing suits there; this was not the case. The water came up from somewhere below the floor. This probably explains why there were ants in the bathroom. Two different kinds, too. Small brown ones and big black carpenter ants, running in and out of the cracks in the bathroom tiles and grouting. I also saw ants on the dining room table, which rather disgusted me.

The stove has no vent, so if you cook something and it gets smoky, you might well set off a fire alarm. We didn't, but we were quick to open the door and, yes, the dining room window. Another thing about the stove: it's situated such that you can't open the utensil drawer or the dishwasher without first opening the oven door a little.

Watch out when you're washing dishes or showering: the hot water is easily hot enough to cause a painful scalding with just a little movement of the faucet.

The beds are hard, and the pillows are reminiscent of sandbags. The bed coverings consist of a sheet and a bedspread. I'm not too comfortable using a bedspread as my sole blanket, because they are not commonly washed as frequently nor as thoroughly as other bedding. There should be a separate, light blanket.

The chairs are comfortable and there are lots of them. The back of the couch, however, was coming undone; the staples had fallen out, and this part faced the dining room. The carpet is stained and in need of immediate replacement.

So, what was good? Well, the landscaping is beautiful. There's a lovely little vest-pocket park perfectly suited for reading, with two overhanging weeping willows reflecting in a weed-choked pond. There are three pool areas, and they are all good pools. The people we met at the resort, from workers to guests, were all very friendly and neighborly. And the resort is located just outside the Water Gap National Recreation Area, so some great picnic grounds along the Delaware are just a ten minute ride away. If you're willing to explore the area, you'll find a lot to like. It's just not likely that you'll appreciate this resort if you have a unit like we had.

One final thing: they will offer you wifi at the rate of $10 / day, per device. So if you have two laptops and a tablet, that's $30 a day. That's highway robbery.

Room Tip: All the units are the same: 3 levels. They all are in decent locations; you can't really go wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at78rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
First and foremost please allow me to apologize for the less than desirable stay here at our resort. I only wish that you had notified our Front Desk, or Guest Services Director to ensure that you had a most enjoyable vacation. Our goal is to accommodate anyone and everyone the best possible way.

I have also asked our Quality Assurance Team to try and determine the villa number in which you stayed so that a complete inspection can be done. I can assure you that their reports are extremely detailed and any issues found, including those you have made note of, will be addressed. Our inspection process is usually quite thorough and I would apologize for any shortfalls in our more typical standards of presentation on this occasion. We are continuously working hard to improve our resort and currently have an aggressive villa improvement program in place.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    54
    57
    62
    122
See reviews for
167
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We should have known when we pulled up to our unit and saw the large construction dumpster greeting us. It would be understandable if it was full of construction debris from the "remodeling", but it was over flowing with garbage (and flies). Great start, especially in the hot humid weather. We stayed in a two bedroom villa. The a/c worked, kinda. In the bottom level where the bedrooms were it was about 62 degrees. As you went up, so did the temp. My kids in the loft were sweating at nite, while we were freezing down stairs. There was no adjusting the thermostat. It was on or off. Speaking off freezing, on the bed was a sheet and an old thin polyester bed spread. I thought I found some blankets in the closet but soon saw that they were extra mattress pads. We used them as blankets to avoid frost bite. This was a time share exchange for us. In the 15 years of using our time shares, this was by far the worst. We asked to be moved to a different unit and were told nothing was available until Monday. I asked for the dumpster to be removed and was told they would take care of it. Almost forgot the carpet. We could not walk on it with out shoes on. It was ripped stained and dirty. We saw sales people showing customers around and thought they had to be kidding. What could they show them? Every thing we saw needed a lot of attention. If they issued us a trash bag when we checked in on Saturday and asked us to pick up any trash we saw while walking around the "resort", it would have been full by Wednesday. It unbelievable how people leave trash behind. That says more about the clientele than the resort.
So Monday we went to our newer unit. It was better but still had the same A/C issue. We did have actual blankets in this unit along with supplies in the kitchen that the other unit didn't. There were holes in the stairway wall, broken cabinet drawers and broken glass under the front edge of the fridge. Where the trash cans are in the kitchen, up against a wall, you can see stains on the wall from where people throw trash into the barrels. The good news.... A somewhat cleaner carpet, no rips and we could walk on it with out shoes on. The new unit also had a beautiful view of the Algee filled pond with garbage floating in it. Foam cups and plastic bottles. Two of the three fountains in the pond worked. We also had to be careful not to walk in any poop from the geese that surrounded the pond. The weather was great the week we were there so we used the pool a lot. The thing I noticed at the pool was we never saw any staff there. A couple times there was someone handing out towels (when they had them). We skimmed the pool ourselves to get the bugs and hair out. The restroom near the pool had this awful smell that we couldn't place. Beer bottle caps on the pool deck. Ice cream truck came to the pool and ran out of ice cream! They advertise that you can get sports equipment from the Valley Station. Called to get a basketball but were told they were all signed out. They are supposed to be returned by 8 each night. Called when they opened the next day and still no basketball. On day three they said they talked to the manager and said they are tiring to get more basketballs. Two of the guest who signed them out had checked out and didn't return them. Day four we got a basketball.
We drove around the estate and found where the sales people must be taking customers. There are some nice units in the newer sections. There is also a new welcome center where you can get free wifi when it is working. Just out of curiosity, we kept driving by the dumpster near the first unit and it wasn't moved until Wednesday, four days after I asked. Constantly heard people saying their keys didn't work. Ours stopped working the day before we left. The front desk said the keys were fine and she would have maintenance come take a look at the lock. He said my keys needed to be replaced. I asked him to tell the front desk and luckily he just got the keys for me from his office rather than deal with the front desk himself. Played a great round of golf at a fantastic price! Tree ventures ropes course was great too. The younger staff seemed to be happier and more willing to help than the older staff members. We had a great vacation despite our stay at the villas at the fairways and the tree tops.

Room Tip: Check your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottsN4543VR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
I sincerely apologize that you had a less than desirable stay with us.

I was disappointed to hear of the concerns that you had made mention of. These items should indeed have been noted and corrected prior to the room being released for check-in. Our inspection process is usually quite thorough and I would apologize for any shortfalls in our more typical standards of presentation on this occasion. I have also passed along your concerns to our Manager of Housekeeping so that he can discuss your comments with her staff.

I have asked our Quality Assurance Team to do a thorough inspection on Villas you occupied. I can assure you that their reports are extremely detailed and any issues found, including those you have made note of, will be addressed by our Preventative Maintenance Team.

We are consistently working to maintain and upgrade our resort. Our staff work diligently to ensure our guests are given the experience they deserve. I hope that you will take time in the future to visit us again and see the improvements we have made.

In the meantime, I would like to thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We made the reservation thinking this was just a hotel. Come to find out it is an actual resort, dated.....but what the heck, we did Tie Dye T Shirts and the Activity Center had an Ice Cream Social, played basketball went swimming in many of the pools on the property. I think we paid about $100 per night.....what a steal at that price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your thoughts. We sincerely appreciate the feed back we receive from our guests and owners. I was happy to hear that you had a more than satisfying stay here with us at The Fernwood Resort and The Villas at TreeTops and Fairway. Our Resort has plenty of activities for all ages. I’m was happy to read that you and your family had a chance to experience some of them.

We hope to see you in the future for an even better and unbelievable stay here at our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Here for a family reunion. Our feet are black from walking on the carpet. My 1 year old had black feet and hands. Horrible customer service after checking in to a room without a/c. Do not recommend this for anyone it had been one disappointment after another.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I do apologize for the poor level of customer service and the cleanliness of the accommodation I can assure this is not our normal standards.
We are continuously working on improving the resort from not only our own observations but also the valuable feedback we obtain from our guests. Our goal is to provide total guest satisfaction.

I have contacted our Quality Assurance Team to try and determine which villa you stayed in, so that a thorough inspection can be completed with regard to the problems you listed. These items should indeed have been noted and corrected prior to the unit being released for check-in. Our inspection process is usually quite thorough and I would apologize for any shortfalls in our more typical standards of presentation on this occasion.

We hope too see you in the future for a much better stay here at TreeTops and Fairway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We've been going to Fernwood for the last 6 or 7 years, usually around Thanksgiving vacation. We get the 3 bedroom units and they are awesome. Large, fully equipped, clean and a nice view of the mountains. The bedroom even has a fireplace, sauna and Jacuzzi. There are 2 indoor pools (outdoor pools as well if you come in the summer), 2 arcades, kids activities and a few restaurants on property...and a bar. They have snow tubing, horse back riding and other activities, as well as organized activities for the kids. I would highly recommend this resort to families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyers1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our staff takes great pride in satisfying our guests and owners here at the resort. Our goal is to satisfy our guests and owners above and beyond their expectation. I was very appreciative to hear that you enjoyed the three-bedroom accommodation and the amenities on the resort. I can assure you we are continuously making improvements to the Resort. We hope to see you again soon for another wonder trip here at the Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We read all of the reviews prior to going so we were worried. I called ahead and reservations agreed to make sure a supervisor checked our unit before we got there to ensure cleanliness. While you can tell that the units need some updating mostly on the exterior, I can say that our unit was CLEAN. There was plenty to do for the kids and adults (Tree Ventures is a must do). While we were there we even saw maintenance working on some of the units exteriors power washing, painting and replacing wood. We had a 2 bedroom unit that is really 3 with the loft with 2 twin beds (my daughter loved the spiral staircase and bridge to her castle). I thought the price was very reasonable for the amount of space we had and since cleanliness was our most important priority we were very happy with our stay. We will be back next year and bringing friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for choosing The Fernwood Resort and the Villas at Tree Tops and Fairway for your vacation. Our main goal is for all our guests to have an enjoyable time while visiting our family-oriented resort.

Our villa accommodations, Tree Tops and Fairway are designed for all to enjoy families, couples and singles alike. We pride ourselves in offering many varied activities right on property so that families can enjoy quality time together or separately should you choose to do so.

Our resort does have an ongoing refurbishment and a preventive maintenance program, as well as a Quality Assurance Team that takes great pride in making all of our guests vacation experience the best it can be.

We look forward to welcoming you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Beautiful setting, great and attentive staff, but something is sorely missing. The property has such good bones but is in dire need of general maintenance/upkeep/paint/tlc/etc. Non functioning AC, screen doors popped off, an interior door coming apart, old/tired fixtures, beat carpeting, furniture with exposed springs, mattress held together with duct tape. We really like Fernwood and want to give it more stars, if it warranted it. It was clean, the staff did try to rectify all of our problems but I really am kind of tired of the 1990s. I am reviewing the Villas at Fairway; not Treetop or the hotel itself. I know things are changing as we speak but this was my second visit in three years and I heard the story three years ago.

Room Tip: There are a few "rehabbed units", ask for one of these. Also both of my rentals although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lherman2012, Customer Service at Fernwood Resort, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I sincerely apologize that you had a less than desirable stay at our resort. Our inspection process is usually quite thorough and I would apologize for any shortfalls in our more typical standards of presentation on this occasion. Although, I was very happy to hear that the villa was clean prior to arrival and that our staff was trying to accommodate you as best as possible.

We are continuously working hard to improve our resort and currently have an aggressive villa improvement program. I have asked our Quality Assurance Team to try and determine the villa number in which you stayed so that a complete inspection can be done. I can assure you that their reports are extremely detailed and any issues found, including those you have made note of, will be addressed.

We hope you will come stay with us in the near future to see the improvements that have been made.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
3.3 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
17.4 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
1.9 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernwood Resort

Property: Fernwood Resort
Address: 2157 River Road, 5785 Milford Rd., East Stroudsburg, PA 18302
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fernwood Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
400-Acre Pocono Mountain Resort located adjacent to the Delwaware Water Gap National Recreation Area offering one and two bedroom fully appointed villa rentals. Four seasons of activities include Blue and White Lightning all season tubing, Pocono TreeVentures aerial ropes course, Pocono Zip Racer dual 1,000 ft racing zip lines, Fernwood Golf Course 18 hole par 71 golf, Edge of the Woods Outfitters with canoeing on the scenic Delaware River, year-round horseback riding, bumper boats, Wintergreens Patio Grill with live entertainment and summer theme nights, massage, mini golf, video game area, Destination Earth Paintball, skiing at nearby Shawnee and Camelback Mountains, water park packages with Camelbeach, shopping at The Crossings Premium Outlets and hiking at Bushkill Falls - the Niagara of Pennsylvania. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Fernwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fernwood Pa
Fernwood Resort Bushkill
Fernwood Hotel Bushkill
Bushkill Fernwood Hotel Resort
Fernwood Bushkill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing