We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

Great Bear Golf Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Only one golf course architect could do justice to the natural beauty at Great Bear Golf Club - the one known worldwide as The Golden Bear, Jack Nicklaus. His 18-hole championship design demonstrates why he's been considered the master of his game for decades. Nicklaus has taken the natural advantages of the site and worked harmoniously with them to create a course that, besides it's play, is an experience in itself. Integrating the three lakes, several streams, wetlands, small bridges and rolling terrain, Nicklaus has created a course that presents itself differently to golfers of varying skill. For the experienced player, the course offers interesting challenges and pro tees that will bring out your strongest game. Yet it's also designed to be a course with the ultimate in playability, ensuring enjoyable round after round, revealing its intricacies and craftsmanship the more you play it. Great Bear is destined to be one of the Golden Bear's great ones.
Berlin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This course is first off, is Lady Friendly! My wife wants to play it again and again. The course is just beautiful and if you are playing well, you can score. The service is awesome! A must play!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sweenman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Great Bear Golf Club, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear sweenman85: Thank you for relaying your Great Bear experience. We appreciate the shout out for being Lady Friendly. Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hunt Valley, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Outstanding golf experience.”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Great Bear seems to be semi-private. Conditions were great and the course was very playable for all levels in our group of 20. Terrific practice facility, too. After golf we all ate there and were accommodated perfectly. Food was delicious. I highly recommend Great Bear for small groups.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob H, General Manager at Great Bear Golf Club, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Jim: Thank you for your kind words. You are correct. Great Bear is semi-private. The goal is for it to be a private club, but we need more members. I will pass along your accolades regarding the food to our hardworking chef and food and beverage manager. We hope that you will consider membership. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cresco, Pennsylvania, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Course... Jack's Best”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Nicklaus design that has had its troubles financially doesn't take away from the great layout, great greens, tees, fairways and great views.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Bear Golf Club also viewed

East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
East Stroudsburg, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Great Bear Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing