We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shawnee Village Resort: Crapfest 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Condo was "okay". It's better than sleeping on the ground. The furnishings, bedding and accommodations are vastly out-dated. Carpets stained and foul smelling. Each condo needs it's own BBQ, bathrooms smelled like musty urine and the fridge didn't work. Maintenance staff were friendly, polite and efficient; however the "check-in" staff were rude and condescending. My son asked "Is this where we check in?" and the desk clerk stated, "obviously" and rolled his eyes. For the price, there is not much to do unless swimming in a hairy chlorine bath is your thing. Nature walks were beautiful, town is quaint and friendly and all the guests looked equally disappointed... so there's some comfort in that. My daughter actually started crying as soon as we walked through the front door and the rest of us were crying on the inside.

Room Tip: get condo close to the recreation hall if you have young children, otherwise you'll be driving t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The Ridge Top units are old, tired, and dirty. I didn't want to sit on any of the furniture or walk around barefoot. There was a infestation of ants when we got there, a charge for wi-fi, and all the dishes still had good on them. This has been the opposite of relaxing. Total DUMP!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen0988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, CLUB WYNDHAM Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Hi Karen,

We apologize that the unit accommodations did not meet your expectations and were not fully clean upon your check-in. We know you expect a certain level of quality when staying at our resorts. Please know we are continuing to improve our property location and your feedback will help us to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed in the RidgeTop units. Even though this is a Wyndham unit, Wyndham owners will notice this property is not the typical Wyndham quality. The two bedroom unit is older (last renovated in 2007). The room was clean. One queen bedroom and one room with two double beds are upstairs, along with a large bathroom featuring a jacuzzi tub and a shower. The kitchen is large and easy to work in, though the typical Wyndham appliances are missing. No blender. There is a charge for internet - $6.95/day per computer. I'd have to call this place a mountain retreat. We loved the screened in porch. We saw two bears walk right next to our place on their way to destroy the trash cans. A badger lives under the home next door, and a groundhog is under ours. There are deer and skunk nearby, too. Wildlife at its best! :D

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed in the River Village II location and was there about ten years prior. They have updated beautifully since then with central area, updated decor and furniture and the place is amazing.

You have your own pool behind the buildings (and they all have their own screened porch which is nice) and the main building is a hort drive to their huge outdoor pool. They also have an indoor gym in the main building for rainy days. The 2 levels is nice so you can get away from the main group if you want to read, etc.

All in all, an excellent trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKI J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

We took a mini vacation for 4 days and 3 nights at Shawnee Village. We had a nice small condo that slept 6. The room was clean and the unit could use minor updating but it served its purpose. Negatives were there was no blender and you had to pay for wifi. I used my IPhone as a hotspot so I did not have to pay $6.95 a day for usage. If you as me this ridiculous for a company of this size to put the cost on the customer. The recreation center was very nice where we swam, played basketball, and arcade games. We had a very nice time at paintball asylum and Shawnee water park. Check Groupon for discounts. All is all it was at least a 4 star stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darkgable21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Renting multiple villas (Northslope II) and using the recreational park has been a yearly tradition for our family reunion. This year the park was double booked and rather than working and compromising between the two groups, management have asked us to leave and threatened to call the state police. After providing proof of renting multiple villas, management were willing to let us stay, but we must forfeit the picnic tables and eat sitting on the ground. It was the most inhumane statement I have ever heard from a professional organization considering we had elders and pregnant females in our group.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vin025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, ClubWyndham Social Media Team at Shawnee Village Resort at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We are sorry to hear about your experience with the Sun Mountain picnic area and staff while visiting the Shawnee area. Since your accommodations at the Northslope rental are not owned, operated or affiliated with Wyndham or the Shawnee Village Resort, we are not able to resolve this directly. However, we would like to put you in contact with someone who can assist. Please email NEPA Property Management at patriciab@wilkins1.com. Please extend our apologies for this experience to your guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

There is no communication between the 3rd party rental and Wyndham management for reservation. The lady Mcbride who is supposedly the head of reservations is rude and very respectful. She said "Wyndham owns Northslope II and she received 75 dollars for the reservation of sun Mountain recreation Area wherein when our group made reservation for 12 Villas that option was not offered and made it clear with Wilkins the 3rd party rental office which handles the reservations. The Mcbride lady is rude and disrespectful and was yelling to the leader of our group and she said that we have to vacate the place because we are not suppose to be occupying the place. No rep from Wilkins is available that sat 7/20/13. When she was shown proof that we had 12rented villa and the package goes with the use of the park enjoying the same privilege of renters and owners. She said we stay but has to give up tables and put our food in the ground and eat sitting on the ground which everyone felt less of a human being by the treatment they gave us. .dont ever rent this place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaReyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

We are sorry to hear about the experience with the staff and the Sun Mountain picnic area while visiting the Shawnee area. Since your accommodations at the Northslope rental are not actually owned, operated or affiliated with Wyndham or the Shawnee Village Resort, we are not able to resolve this directly. However, we would like to put you in contact with someone who can assist. Please email NEPA Property Management at patriciab@wilkins1.com. We hope they can resolve quickly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
13.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,494 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
115 reviews
10 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
0.7 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort

Address: 5255 Buttermilk Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301 (Formerly Fairfield Poconos at Shawnee Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in East Stroudsburg
Price Range: £78 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Village Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing