We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a beautiful place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hudson, FL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

From the check in to the check out, everything was wonderful! The location was perfect since we were skiing at Shawnee Mountain, I ran one morning and was so close to our place that I ran passed the turn off to the slopes. Our place was great, extremely clean, even had 3 bathrooms instead of two. We rented a DVD from the front office to watch, cooked dinners and relatively felt at home the whole time we were there. The beds were extremely comfortable, each unit had an assigned parking space. The unit we had was not a really updated place, but it was still very nice so don't think that just because its not "new and updated" that it is going to be terrible. There is a great lap swimming pool and every morning there is an adult lap swim time and it is a great pool, Jacuzzi and locker room area, as well as a very nice but small gym, game room and arcade. The people at the front desk were very nice and the value was wonderful! We paid the same price per night that the local hotels were charging for just a room and we had a two story condo. It was really cold when we were there, so we didn't get to use the back porch which would have been nice. I think this is a great place no matter the season....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willia999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    108
    81
    50
    72
See reviews for
213
90
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Place is a little hard to locate due to lack of lighting at night. We checked in for an anniversary trip and the first unit left a LOT to be desired. Old, run down, broken furniture but it was late, we were tired and we figured we'd just worry about it the next day. They moved us into another unit which was nicer. Refurbished and in much better shape. Power went out one night so we used the pools at Shawnee Inn which weren't all that great. Pools (pool/hot tub) at Shawnee Village were cold/warm, (heating unit was broken so I won't hold that against them) but would have preferred warmer hot tub water. Very near Shawnee Ski area which we went too. If you show them your Shawnee Village wrist band you get discounted lift tickets which were a definite plus!! Also close to Newark, NJ (1 hr. away) which makes for a pretty easy NYC day trip! We'd def come again, it's worth the points at the beginning of the year. :D

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cnpknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in an updated (granite countertops, new flooring) and clean 2 bedroom 2 1/2 bath sleeps 8 townhouse that was comfy, quiet and reasonably priced. Came to relax, use the rec center and do a day trip to NYC. Had a great time and the resort provided ample supplies for our 7 night stay. Would recommend this resort based upon updates, comfort and clean facilities.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank LewisCentertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Very old units. The check in was very disorganized. They ask me for my phone number to contact me when my room was ready. They never call so i went to reception and a lady from london that work there expect me to do the long line again. She was very rude. No service to help you with your luggage. Eventhough they gave me my unit late, the check out is at 10am with no chance for 30 min for late check out. My family expect more from this resort because is s wyndham. But nahhhhh don't waste your money

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenndoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for reaching out to provide this information. We are sorry to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. We know that when you are staying with us there is a certain level of satisfaction expected. We are disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in. We know that while on vacation it is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thank you for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Laurel, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

Disappointed with the pool, hot tub, and general amenities. We stayed in the Fairway Village which smelled like smoke. First of all the hot tub wasn't hot and the water jets were very limited and weak. For 6 people in the warm tub, only two people had a jet to enjoy. Second, the basket ball courts were taken up by teen kids playing full court combat basketball and where others could not enjoy. Third, parking in the fairway village was limited and not close to your villa to offload and load your vehicle. Fourth, the fairway villas smelled like smoke from the fire place and all of our coats and clothes went home smelling like smoke. This was great when all four of us in the car driving four hours smelling like smoke. Please consider other options when choosing this resort. I consider us professionals when it comes to travel as we are both RCI and Interval members.

Room Tip: Plan for offsite amenities and rooms that don't smell like smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank npm863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for reaching out to provide this information. We are sorry to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. We know that when you are staying with us there is a certain level of satisfaction expected. Please be assured we will address the issues you experienced with the hot tub temperature and the fire place smoke. We apologize for any frustrations with our parking set up. We know that this part of the vacation process should be convenient. Our goal is to make each part of the vacation experience satisfactory. We value your suggestions and feedback as it gives us guidance on what to provide our guests during vacation. Again, thank you for reaching out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I just came back from Shawnee village staying in ridgetop view. When I booked this thru wyndham I was told it was newly renovated with all these great things to do. Reality was the unit hadn't been updated since 1980, if you had six people in this two bedroom unit it would have been very uncomfortable. There was mold in the shower and the appliances barely worked. The recreaton center wasn't very nice, the saltwater pool was green and the temperature was barely 60 degrees. I asked the lifeguard why the water was freezing and she said they have one heater for pool and hot tub. The hot tub didn't have much jets and the temperature was also cool. The fitness room had five pieces of cardio equipment, two of which was working. The shower areas were not very private and also dirty. I did sit thru the timeshare speech and what amazed me was this resort is one of their gold resorts, you would need nearly two years of vacation points to stay here during a prime week. This place was no better than the local holiday inn. The shawnee ski area had a bunch of rude ignorant people in the ski school, they acted like they were doing you a favor. I would never consider wydham for a vacation club based on the dishonesty of this place, they advertise in their books these great amenities that are terrible. Don't take this timeshare package unless you plan on being drunk and staying in your room.

Room Tip: Don't fall for the cheap price, it isnt worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the review. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room and resort accommodations. We know there is a certain level of expectation when staying with Wyndham. Please know we are working to improve our units and facilities however this may take some time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We value your feedback as this helps us to improve in many ways.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed in a ridge top villa. We were very pleased. Villa was old but very clean. Had a great time. Would go again. Close to Shawnee mountain skiing area and close to a lot of attractions. Had to sit thru a presentation but worth the gifts that were given.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmcnei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
13.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
16.3 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort

Property: Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
Address: 5255 Buttermilk Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301 (Formerly Fairfield Poconos at Shawnee Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Village Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing