We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was pleasantly surpised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was surpised . The way the other reviews were written I expected it to be horrible . They were beautiful cabins, big enough for a home. There was enough room for 8 people and there were only 2 of us. There were plenty of beautiful bedrooms , and huge tubs within area. The foliage was beautiful. Also there were a lot of activities to do. It was beautiful and the staff was incredibly helpful .

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Wendy,

I am pleased that you had such a great time while visiting with us. We are very fortunate to be surrounded by such natural beauty.
It is always nice to hear that our associates are helpful and that you were pleased with your accommodations! We do our best to delvier a geat experience.
Hope you will visit with us again in the near future.

Cheers,
Cindy A.
Assistant Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

I was pleasantly surprised . We stayed at Shawnee village resort 2 and it was beautiful. The front desk were very helpful to us as was the wydham staff. The place was huge , big enough to sleep 8 people and there were only 2 of us. The bedrooms and baths were huge and there were a lot if activities here. I loved the mountains that surrounded it. Everything was so nice and the weather was perfect around 73 degrees. I really liked this place. It was bigger than the one in New Hampshire we stayed at.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princessAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Princess Austin,

Great to hear how pleased you were with your recent stay. Our area is naturally beautiful and lends itself to quiet relaxation for all!
We strive to provide clean and well maintained units for all of our visitors to enjoy. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with others, as well as, all of us at Shawnee!
I hope that you will visit with us again in the future!
Cheers,
Cindy A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at Ridge Top Summit unit 192 and were very disappointed. The refrigerator had a terrible leak. Whenever the freezer was opened, water poured into the refrigerator and we had to put a bowl there to catch the water. there was not an extra pillow, blanket, roll of toilet paper, no salt in the salt shaker, no tissues, no shampoo, a charge for internet---haven't done that in10 years. When we asked for a late checkout--Sunday at 10 A.M. seemed early-- we were refused. When we were checking out we were told that even though the Wyndham name was on the property, each section was privately run by a community board and made their own decisions on housekeeping and checkout. Either Wyndham needs to take their name off or step in because this certainly didn't work! Also the concierge did not know points of interest in the area at all! Isn't that their job? Seemed all they wanted was for us to go to yet another sales meeting to buy a time share. I think NOT!

Room Tip: cabins a drive away from the main house. Noone but security answered the phone after 11P.M.Very dar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy T, Assistant Guest Services Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Hello Bette,

I am sorry to hear about the experience you had with us here at Wyndham Shawnee. This is certainly not our Wyndham standards. I apologize that your refrigerator had a leak during your stay. Thank you for providing your room number as I will provide this information to our Maintenance team to look in to and eliminate any future occurrences. As for the amenities in the rooms certain rooms do only provide certain amenities. As a courtesy we do provide items at the Front Desk such as shampoo, toilet paper, soap, and other items for your convenience. Thank you for your response as we strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all of our guests and your feedback will help us to do so.

Warm Regards,

Sandy Torres
Assistant Guest Services Manager
570-421-1500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at condo unit 128. These were the oldest one I'm sure. They were outdated, dirty, and not maintained very well. Always seems that they never put anything back into these condos. And then they go and built new ones. Which you never seem to be able to stay in.
There is a problem there with the bears! They have signs everywhere about "Don't kill the bears". Which means if you fed the bears they will keep coming around and they will get used of humans. Well here is the problem. They have plastic trash boxes that hold 2 barrels. The bears can easily get into them and have them selves a feast. They got into the trash every nite. And low and behold the next morning they would come around pick up the trash put it right back into the barrels and leave the trash. They never "took" the trash. the trash stayed there every nite and every nite the bears came. I see a big problem here. They are luring them back every nite and not addressing a big problem. And if it hasn't happened yet someone will get hurt surprising the bears while they are having the feast. We spoke to the front desk and their response was. " Well if people know about the bears they won't come here". Yea on then they bears will have to be killed because it will be the bears fault. Right! So word to all be very careful when venturing out at nite there. We followed the bear one nite and he went to every trash at every condo!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Hi Karen,

Thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with the room and resort accommodations. Please know we are working to renovate our property and improve the guest vacation experience. In regards to your mention of the bears, we will speak with maintenance to ensure the trash is taken out daily, which should help with decreasing any appearance of bears on property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just returned from a 6 day stay at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort. We stayed in Ridge Top Summit Unit 249. I was quite hesitant about our stay when reading a lot of the reviews. With that being said, I was very pleased. We were in a 2bd 3bth unit, very clean and well stocked. The resort does a good job providing a daily activity schedule. My only suggestion would be smaller age groups. My party had kids ranging in ages from 5-8 and we found a lot of the activities were overtaken by older kids a lot of the time. Also, they need to do a better job with the garbage situation. I called about garbage strewn all over the back of our unit on the second day and it was still there upon leaving. We did see other bags that were ripped open along the property one day and cleaned up later. Perhaps different dumpsters would be better to secure the garbage from the wildlife. The staff were very courteous, even while witnessing some unruly vacationers, they were very professional in their dealings. The kids loved the pool, and the lifeguards did a good job at keeping unruly kids in line. Happy we decided to go and would go back and enjoy Shawnee as well as the area attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cpalhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I know that Shawnee is probably the first of the timeshares in the Pocono Mountain area. The pictures show that the units are older, but older is not always a bad thing. We stayed at the Ridge Top Summit units and I was thoroughly impressed with the unit itself. The furniture was dated, but in excellent shape. The rugs are also older and there were a few stains in the carpet, but the unit itself was very clean. The sheets were in great condition and the towels were extra thick. The kitchen was stocked better than any other timeshare where we have stayed -- they even had baking pans. The staff was top of the line. Any requests were immediately and pleasantly handled. The location is good as you are right near the Delaware Water Gap and all the outdoor activities provided at the resort and nearby. There are events sponsored by the resort, but we only attended the Welcome Wine and Cheese Party with karaoke. It was a nice evening with three glasses of wine per person (tickets provided), chips, pretzels and cookies. It was nice that some of the staff participated, as most people were there to listen and not to sing. The resort is surrounded by woods so we saw deer and bear passing through, which is why you are not supposed to put trash out after 4 PM. We had a groundhog under our screened in deck and enjoyed watching the wildlife in the area. A nice play to eat nearby is Alaska Pete's. I would highly recommend them for their fresh hamburgers and a wonderful place even for families.

Room Tip: Request a room on the side of the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcd0127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here during the second week of April 2014 and not many people were at the resort this time of year. The unit was decent, there were a few minor issues with doors and accessories in the unit, but otherwise a charming place. The people who work at this facility are very inconsistent with the quality of the service. For instance, this afternoon, went to the office and gift shop. The woman who helped us was incredibly sweet, kind and helpful. Then, there were multiple times I had to call due to another guest who was parked in my assigned parking space and the person who I phoned regarding this issue was incredibly unfriendly and unhelpful. One thing that is easy to control in a business is the level of customer service provided by its employees, it doesn't seem that this facility cares about the level of service, which is unfortunate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhekl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClubWyndham, Social Media Team at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

We are extremely disappointed that you were not provided our Count on Me service throughout the duration of your stay. We agree that there should be a consistent level of customer service to our guests. Please rest assured we will revisit the service provided by our employees. We value your feedback and appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
13.8 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,490 reviews
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
253 reviews
2.9 mi away
Budget Inn & Suites
Budget Inn & Suites
#2 of 7 in East Stroudsburg
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
114 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort

Address: 5255 Buttermilk Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301 (Formerly Fairfield Poconos at Shawnee Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in East Stroudsburg
Price Range: £89 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Village Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing