We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could be better could be worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tamarac, Florida
Level Contributor
122 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“could be better could be worse”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

So our bed was clean and comfortable but the room was small. We had two baths both with showers one with a jacuzzi. We had soap but no shampoo. In the kitchen we had a coffee maker but no coffee, no salt & pepper, no scissors, no coasters, and no placemats. These are amenities I have come to expect with Wyndham. We had 1 packet of dishwasher detergent and 1 packet of clothes detergent. The pools were very nice but I was surprised to hear of a 3 towel minimum for the duration of our week stay. I was a bit disappointed that I had to pay extra to play miniature golf. Free "Garyoke" at the Monday nigh welcome was lots of fun though.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PattiBF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Good Day PattiBF,
I thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay and the positive comments about your villas cleanliness. I will certainly share that with our team! We offer many complimentary activities geared towards a variety of age groups. I am happy that you enjoyed our Welcome Party and Gary our Karaoke point man. We do have some activities that are fee based and we make them affordable for all. Our 36 hole mini-golf course (2 courses) is very popular with guests and truly bargain priced. I hope that you will visit with us in the future as we improve our service and offerings on a daily basis.
All the Best, Cindy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    113
    84
    50
    72
See reviews for
220
92
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
375 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

There was a definite smell in the lower rooms which didn't clear out even opening the windows. The master bedroom was small, particularly by Wyndham standards. The jacuzzi was big enough for one, not two as in most other Wyndhams. Ants in the kitchen were sprayed 2 days after I called to report them. Not their fault, but the AC died in the middle of our stay. They did offer for us to change rooms. The WiFi is $6.95/day. One woman we met said dhe paid, but had difficulty connecting. I can go to a Motel 6 and get free WiFi, why not here?
On the plus side, there are plenty of activities scheduled throughout the day for the whole family. The aquatic aerobics was particularly good. The pools are nice and large. But come on people, $3 for 2 scoops of ice cream at the ice cream social?

Room Tip: Tree Top area was nice. We even saw a black bear eating the non-bear proof garbage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cflum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Cflum, I am sorry to hear you experienced some difficulties with the air conditioning and general arrangement of the unit during your stay. This is certainly not our Wyndham standards. We strive to provide top of the line accommodations for all our guests and your feedback will help us to do so. I apologize that your internet needs were not met. As you know we have many properties which house a large amount of guests and their wireless devices. We are working to improve this feature, however this may take some time. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause. We are so glad that you were able to enjoy our amenities and value your feedback as this helps us to improve in many ways.

Best Regards,

Desiree
570-421-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deep River, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Loved this resort. Nice and Quiet, had all the ammenities. Two bedroom with 3 bathrooms, fireplace, screened in porch. Plenty of parking. Close to shopping, flea markets and outlets.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — WiFi was not free. You had to pay per device. It was expensive
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank edangie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you, edangie316 for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are so happy that you were able to take advantage of the amenities and local attractions. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Desiree T.
570-421-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warfordsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This is our fifth year at this resort. We arrived early at 2pm and was able to check in. Check in is scheduled for 4pm. We were given keycards to check into our unit. After walking up steps to get to our unit (Ridge Top Summit), we were unable to use the keycards to get in. We saw a housekeeper nearby who opened the unit, asked that we stay outside, and called security to give us new keycards. Security arrived shortly thereafter and gave us new keycards. We were a little disappointed this year as there was no coffee, scissors, or drink coasters in the unit as there usually is. The unit was superclean, the air conditioner worked great. There is a screened in porch--great to sit outside and drink the morning coffee and watch the wildlife. We always want to be there on Monday night for the welcome party (Karaoke with Garyoke). He is great. We were a little disappointed this year as both the food and drinks were depleted in the first hour. This has never happened in the past. However, this is still a great place for a family as they offer many activities at the resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PAdoglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, General Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your great feedback PAdoglady. We are so pleased to hear that you have chosen Wyndham Shawnee Village as your destination for the last five years and look forward to helping to create a memorable vacation experience on your future trips. We had an extremely large response to our Monday reception and apologize that the function fell below your expectations this year. We have put provisions in place to minimize the occurence going forward. I value your suggestions and feedback, as it gives us guidance on what to provide our guests during vacation. Thank you again.

Desiree T.
Resort Manger
570-421-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corydon, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We arrived at Shawnee Village June 16 after dark and were checked in by 2 men on duty. They were very polite and asked if we had eaten so they could give us directions.

We checked into Crestview which was a nice 2 bedroom unit with spacious space and great screened in porch.
The only negative we found was worn, dirty carpet.
Our children enjoyed the pools and the miniature golf is beautiful ... only thing.. it costs $5 a game to play. We felt Wymdham members should have free amenities.
Staff was courteous and directed us to Martz busline to ride to NYC for the day.
It is a 1 1/2 hour ride ...had a great day touring on the Hop On/Off bus.
It is 2 hrs to Philadelphia .. had a wonderful day there.
We would return to
Crestview..

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, General Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you, ctshell for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Great to see that you were able to enjoy the onsite amenities as well as local area recommendations during your visit. We do apologize as to the carpet condition expressed as we know there is a certain level of satisfaction expected when staying at our resorts. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,
Desiree T.
570-421-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hackensack, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was the WORST resort I ever stayed in. I had to be transferred 3 times from the villas because of the filth in the first two. My family and I had to wait until 11pm to be placed in a clean villa. The villas were dirty, they had stains all over the carpets, cockroaches everywhere and smelled like urine and wet dog. The showers were filled with mold and the sides of the doors to the bathrooms were rusty and the paint was chipping. In the 3rd villa the towels were yellow, yet it was the cleanest of the 3. The pictures that I saw on the website were NOT reflective of the villa that I stayed in. I was disappointed in the lack of organization and hygiene. I was told Wyndham had great resorts that were both clean and fun for the family and I experienced the complete opposite. I will never stay or recommend my family and friends to stay at this Wyndham resort!!! My recommendation is to stay away from this resort……. Unless you're satisfied with a filthy, roaches, stains, mold, and rust.


The customer service of the front desk was great and was the only reason I chose to stay.

Room Tip: Do not trust the pictures posted by the resort. The villa I stayed in look nothing like them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy T, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Carmen,

I am sorry to hear about your vacation experience here at Wyndham Shawnee Village as this is definitely not up to our standards. Please rest assured that we have already reached out to our Housekeeping Manager to follow up on the rooms that you and your family were checked in to. It is awesome to hear that our customer service exceeded your expectations as that is our Wyndham Count on Me Way! I would like to speak to you directly to further discuss the issues. Please feel free to contact me at the number listed below.

Warm Regards,
Sandy
Assistant Guest Services Manager
570-421-1500 x 1842
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in R91. There's a nice flat screen tv and dvd player in the living room and the screened in patio area was nice too. Kitchen is very small with a utensil drawer that likes to drop out. The showers are very tiny and the master bathroom is very tight. The guest bathroom would be more spacious if it didn't have a big red japense style tub in it. The worst part is there's no AC in the upstairs bedrooms, the master bedroom gets really hot on warm days. There is a floor fan that can blow the warm air around, but it was very uncomfortable. And there a windows high up on the wall that have no blinds, so you are awakened very early in the morning by the sun.

The rec center is nice, although you need to drive there. Which makes using the pool a bit of a hassle. Towels are provided at the indoor pool, but you might want to bring a spare towel to keep your car seat dry! Mini Golf is nice too.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank djules36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, General Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
djules36,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Shawnee Resort. My apologies that the unit accommodations did not meet your expectations, we strive to present the units in a clean and maintained fashion as we make phased improvements on the interior furnishings. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy the onsite amenities at the property which covers over 2,500 acres. We strive to provide a relaxing vacation experience and hope you choice to visit the facility again so that we have opportunity to provide a enjoyable stay. Thank you again.

Best Regards,

Desiree Trull
Resort Manager
570-421-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
240 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
0.7 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
1,984 reviews
16.3 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,130 reviews
12.0 mi away
Camelback Lodge and Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort

Property: Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
Address: 5255 Buttermilk Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301 (Formerly Fairfield Poconos at Shawnee Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Village Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing