We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing , layback vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
GreenLeadersSilver level
Yorktown Heights, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing , layback vacation”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We love it at Shawnee.. lots to do , beautiful mountains , great outdoor pool and grounds. People are very friendly.

This time we stayed in a great updated 2 bedroom unit ... some of the units are nicer than others .. hoping they continue to upgrade the older units.

If your looking for a luxurious vacation this is the the place to go.. but if you are looking for an old fashion vacation , with the great outdoors , kids activites this is a fun place.

We will defintley come back again next summer !!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hi MariaL,
It was a plesasure to read your review of our resort and we are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your time with us.
We are always making improvements to our units and have many upgrades planned for the upcoming fall season. We do make every effort to provide clean and well maintained units to all of our guests.
Looking forward to having you visit with us again next summer!
Thanks Again for staying with us!
Cindy A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    113
    84
    50
    72
See reviews for
220
92
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

It seems the Shawnee Village Resort has grown to the point where it has exceeded its capability to maintain its accommodations. Four of us travelled two days to check into a two bedroom Depuy unit. Carpets and upholstery were terribly stained and dirty; you could not breath in the fetid air. Furniture was old and scarred. Not at all like the website photos. We were then moved to the River II which was better with new carpet, paint and a more open concept. However, there too, the blinds needed repair, most of the windows would not open, bathroom sink stopped up... When you think Wyndam, you don't think substandard; however, that is what we got!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank L0lalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Dear L0lalulu,
I am truly sorry that you were not totally pleased with your stay with us. We are always looking to improve our units, as well as, service to our guests'. I was pleased that our staff was able to relocate you into another unit that you seemed to appreciate better. I apologize that we missed some details in the unit and we will certainly have those issues addressed.
I hope that you will stay with us in the future and experience first hand the improvements that we strive to make daily.
We appreciate your feedback,
Cindy A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

San Diego, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The unit was in pretty good shape on the inside except the bathroom, which was rather filthy around the edges. On the outside, not so good. We had a terrible time finding the place the night we arrived. The exterior lights were not on at night, it was pitch dark and we tripped on stairs we couldn't see, there were NO signs identifying the unit or the parking, and the unhelpful staff at the office gave terrible directions and didn't answer the phone, then gave us the runaround, so that we had to drive back and forth several times between the office which was about a mile away from the units. I love the location, but the management sux.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy T, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 14 September 2014
Hello Anne,
I apologize for the lack of customer service you and your family received during your recent stay. At Wyndham Shawnee we strive to make every guest encounter a memorable enjoyable experience. I definitely will follow up with our Housekeeping department as the cleanliness of your entire unit should have been addressed before your arrival. Going forward we will make it our priority to avoid any future occurrences from beginning to end. I thank you for making us aware as we do not tolerate anything less then a positive memorable experience! Feel free to contact me directly at the resort should you like to follow up further.

Sandy
Guest Services Manager
5704211500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I was able to find a hidden gem when I booked with this resort. I had no idea that it was a timeshare facility because when u called and booked, they had not mention that to me!! I luckily was able to get one of the Crestview units, and it was more than enough room for both my kids, my parents. Even though I felt the pool wasn't the cleanest of pools, I felt it was a perfect place to spend the ending of summer before school starts at a place that wasn't to far and had enough activities for them to be well entertained!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Asa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Thank you, Asa M for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and had a great end to summer with your family. Please know we will address your concerns on the pool area. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Best Regards,

Desiree T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elkridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We reserved a 2 bedroom villa based on descriptions and pictures on the resort's web site and reviews on TripAdvisor and Yelp. While the web site stated that condos and floor plans may not represent the exact villa we'd be staying in we expected something close to the description (open floor plan with lots of windows, and of course, clean). We ended up in something that had no resemblance to what was advertised. Our villa was dark, chopped up and had very small showers. But the filthy, stained, carpet was what really resulted in this poor review. Take a shower and put on shoes or slippers, otherwise you will have dirty feet when it is time to go to bed. I found it shocking that a resort associated with Wyndham would allow a villa to be rented with carpet that needed a very deep cleaning or replaced. Thankfully, the villa was clean otherwise. The kitchen and appliances were well maintained. On another note: At check-in, we were sent to another counter to get our parking pass rather then getting it as part of the check-in. Strange. Well before we could get the pass we had to listen to a time-share pitch, which was high pressure. 3 kids in tow, tired after a long drive and long wait to check in, we just wanted to go to our villa. We were not asked if we'd like to learn about time-shares but manipulated to ensure a sales person had an opportunity to push this on us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desiree T, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Judy B,

We strive to ensure our guests experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. Please rest assured we will have our housekeeping staff address these concerns with regards to the carpet moving forward to avoid any future occurrences of this nature. Our 2,500 acre facility have numerous unit layouts yet please do not hesitate to contact the site directly and we can provide additional details to ensure that expectations are met. Thank you for making us aware.

Best regards,
Desiree T.
570-421-1500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I'm writing this in the evening here, and the noise from the upper unit is maddening! You can hear every door shut, kid running around, and sliding door of the back porch. I was even in the bathroom and heard the upstairs toilet flush. We had picked Crestview due to the newness and reviews. They are aesthetically beautiful, and the setting is great with a cul de sac lay-out. There are a lot of trees behind the buildings, but you can still see the older buildings in the next court.
The room is large, with entrance way the has door into a bathroom for bed room 2, and then opens up into main area which has table with 4 chairs and built in bench, open concept flow into kitchen with additional seating for two. The living room had the standard resort uncomfortable chair, semi-comfortable chair, and so-so couch. The master bed room is off the living room and is large, with large two room bath with jetted tub and sink in one, and toilet sink and washer/dryer combo next to large shower. There is a screened in back porch off the living room. The second bed room is large also with two queen beds and another entrance into their bathroom.

The downstairs unit that we are in doesn't have access for people with motor disabilities; there are about 10-12 steep steps down. That wasn't fun with 5 suitcases and other stuff.

The resort itself is massive in property. The welcome center has a small outside pool, parklet, couple of volleyball nets. But the star down there is a large putt-putt course.

We have been waiting for a RCI Gold Crown in the Poconos. But, even though it's nice the interior noise is too much to stand. We probably won't be back, and will most likely leave a day or so early.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Seamus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Good Day SeamusS,
Thank you for your feedback regarding our resort. I apologize that your vacation was impacted by noise levels from another unit. Our Crestview units are quite popular with our guests. I was pleased that you mentioned all the positive points as well. I do hope that you will visit with us in the future and possibly stay in another area, as each area has unique layouts that you may find better suited to your needs. Thank you again for sharing your experience.
Warmest Regards, Cindy A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We've visited Shawnee Village the past two years in the fall and we're going again to see the foliage this upcoming Fall. The resort is a serene location with plenty of activities within the grounds and nearby 15-20 minute drive. We stay in the 2 bedroom town homes which accommodates our family as well as a set of the grandparents to stay with us. Although not ideal, we do have to bring our own coffee, dish washer and laundry detergent. We deal with it as long as the hotel rates warrant the few extra spends. Nearby we'll spend most of our time visiting McDade trail and the Jim Thorpe where we take Steam Engine trains for a ride through the woods. This has become annual retreat and recommend others to try out...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CIndy A, Manager at Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear SumitS,
Thanks for the great comments regarding our resort. We are so happy that you enjoy the peacefulness of our property and look forward to your next visit in the fall. The foliage is certainly a breathtaking experience along the banks of our beloved Delaware River. Please feel free to contact me directly should you need anything while with us.
Enjoy your Day, Cindy A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
1.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
240 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
0.7 mi away
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
The Shawnee Inn and Golf Resort
#1 of 4 in Shawnee on Delaware
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Pocono Palace Resort
Pocono Palace Resort
#1 of 2 in Marshalls Creek
1,984 reviews
16.3 mi away
Skytop Lodge
Skytop Lodge
#1 of 1 in Skytop
1,130 reviews
12.0 mi away
Camelback Lodge and Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort

Property: Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort
Address: 5255 Buttermilk Falls Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301 (Formerly Fairfield Poconos at Shawnee Village)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Shawnee Village Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shawnee Village Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing