We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so much of a Let Down!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East Stroudsburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Foxwood Family Campground
Monroe Township, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not so much of a Let Down!!”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The weekend of April 27 was a community weekend for Foxwood Family Campground. This is the second year I had participated in this activity that recruited a lot of maintenance help. My responsibility on that community day was to run the store and provide everyone with the supplies they needed to do their chore for the day. Part of running the store included monitoring who came into the campground that day, and since I had control of letting people in, I know for a fact the security gate was not stuck open. After a long rough winter and the grounds hit with two pretty good storms, I will admit the campground and some buildings needed a lot of work. The main bathhouse was hit twice after the campground shut down for the winter, once during Hurricane Sandy and again in the winter months. The volunteers for community clean up weekend repaired the main bathhouse roof that was in desperate need of repair and the inside ceiling was fixed the following week.

Unfortunately, the storms also washed away the stone roads which made some pretty big ruts, but nothing a back hoe full of stone couldn't fix. The campground had two dumpsters on that particular day, one was in front of the main bathhouse filled with roofing debris and the second dumpster was down across the street from the store. The garbage disposal company had just come the day prior, therefore that dumpster was not overflowing with anything, let alone rodents. It's a shame animals can't read or we could request the owner put up a "NO EATING" sign for the hungry bears, raccoons, and skunks. The garbage that had been scattered on the ground has since been cleaned up. This happens in all dumpster sites when there are wild animals in the vicinity.

I agree, there are trailers that are in need of major repair in the park, but ones that are beyond repair have and still are being removed. If you had been to Foxwood prior to April 27, you should have also noticed all the repairs and improvements that have been done in the past few years, for example, the store and game room have a new roof, new outdoor lighting in front of the store, major improvements inside the store and den area, the bathhouse in the tent section has new flooring, the primitive cabins have been renovated, 25 additional seasonals with beautiful campers and sites within the past two years, all of the rentals in the seasonal area were moved to the rental area by the rally field, the log cabins were all repainted, the pool has been repainted, cable installed in the front field......just to name a few.

Foxwood Family Campground is still a diamond in the rough, and it continues to shine more and more every day!! There are obviously a lot of happy campers, or there wouldn't be a Foxwood's!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MK Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxwoodCampground, Front Office Manager at Foxwood Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay at Foxwood Family Campground and for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    22
    9
    8
    28
See reviews for
59
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We went to foxwood campgrounds in august 2012 and there was a whole group of us! When we first arrived the place looked a bit run-down but we decided to give it a shot! This place is munites from everything, river tubing, skiing, hiking, and even pocono racewayI loved the fact that we were only minutes off the highway but it was perfect! Woods all around, beautiful view, constantly seeing wildlife, and it was so peaceful! Once we met the owner he has a lot of great plans for the future of foxwood! Needless to say we were seasonals in no time!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Friend610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxwoodCampground, Front Office Manager at Foxwood Family Campground, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay at Foxwood family campground and for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Park, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I recently started camping a few months back, Foxwood was the first campground that we went to and I have to say that we have been back every other weekend since. The first time I was there I had some problems with my trailer and went into the office and asked if there was anybody that could possibly help and within and hour my problem was fixed. Everyone I dealt with on the phone and when I arrived was extremely helpful. I can"t get over in the short time I have been going there how many improvements have been made and continue to be made. There are always activities on the weekends for kids and adults, they have a fully stocked store, hay rides, fire truck rides and multiple other things to do there. I have to say my overall experience has been great. I am about the people and everyone is so friendly and they make you feel welcome. Keep up the good work on your upgrades Foxwood see you soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phiiladelphia, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We rented a trailer and it was okay. Semi-clean, smelled funny. The refrigeration smelled like shrimp and made all our food smell like it. The young kids working there don't seem to care about anything. That is a shame. They need to hire older people or train the kids better in customer service. They had a lot of fun activities for the kids which was really nice. I know they are working hard to fix the place up - hopefully they will get there in a couple of years.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lchorba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welland, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Do not be deceived! This campground looks NOTHING like its web pictures. Although they advertise that they have done upgrades, you would NEVER know it!!! The entire site is false advertising. The buildings and campground is soooo rundown it appears to have been abandoned in places. Trailers are left onsite rotting, doors falling off, burned out. Roofs on their buildings are missing chunks, and most you would be nervous to walk into. This is NOT a destination!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these East Stroudsburg hotels

Windsor, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We booked a nice tree covered tent site with water and electric.
the site did have nice tree coverage and we could sleep until 9am.
The pool was a refreshing and the campground is close to Bushkill falls.
Those were the good points.
The water at our site was brown, when it worked. The bath houses were not cleaned the entire weekend and apparenlty the seasonal folks don't know how to flush a common toilet.
Quiet hours are 11pm-8am, unless you're a seasonal....then you can play loud music,drinking and singing outside until 1am. Front office doesn't seem to care. Perhaps this is why the campground is less expensive and in a general state of disrepair. we will not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tess287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I have been going to Foxwoods for a while now. Infact, I am now a seasonal. I have reviewed Foxwoods before. I am not the owner. I would like to point out somethings:
1. The owner is working very hard to improve the grounds. This is not going to happen over night. The campground is over 75 acres.
2. I have been spending time with the owner and have gone with him to a camper with a problem. He fixed thier problem right away. If he can not remedy the problem he moves the camper to another site.
3. As for the abandon trailers, if a trailer owner lets his unit fall into disrepair it is not easy to have that trailer removed. There are laws to protect renters. These laws protect renters who take care of their property and renters who do not. There is a secluded section in the campground that has a lot of these units stored for disposal. Also, yes there are still some trailers on sites but they are being worked on everyweek. If they are not being worked on they will be removed as soon as possible.
4. As for the electric problems, again there are over 200 sites. Sure there are some hook ups that need repair. There were a lot of sites repaired and readied for this season and then 4 weeks ago the campground got hit with a severe lightning storm. The grounds were struck in a couple different places knocking out the power.
5. As for the store, it is open on the weekends out of season and 7 days during the summer. In the off season it is hard to keep perishable items in stock.
6. As for checking on campers and their families, again during the summer there is routine checks. In the off season there are more checks than one may think. Besides, you are trying to get away for a good time. Do you want someone breathing down your neck telling you what to do? Do something wrong or get too rowdy and you will see security
7. As for the Rec Center, it is closed at this time. The junk you are refering to are materials for renovations.
8. The water in the campground is supplied by wells with electric pumps. Guess what, sometimes these pumps kick out. For the record sometimes well water has a sulfur smell to it. The sulfur smell does not make the water bad.
9. As for the dumpster, There is a lot of different species of wildlife that reside in the Poconos. And believe it or not tend to enjoy eating at the dumpster. I can tell you this first hand that they hit the dumpster every night and they do not have the best of manners. The dumpster gets cleaned as soon as possible.
10. There are a number of seasonal campers that have been there for many years and this year there are a lot more first year seasonals. The owner has regular seasonal meetings and we discuss all of these items listed. Many of the seasonals pitch in thier time to help out with repairs and security of campers. If anyone has a problem in the campground and the store is not open, if you see someone at a camper that seems approachable feel free to go up and ask for help. Every seasonal can get in touch with the owner or someone who can render you assistance.
In closing, it would be easy for me to ignore this bad review and let others think this place is bad, but it is not. It is better every weekend (unless Mother Nature reeks havoc) and in no time Foxwoods is going to be the place to be. Again, I AM NOT THE OWNER but I do know him and I try to help out anyway I can. He is working hard to make Foxwood a first rate campground.
A tip for all, if you are going camping bring some essentials with you. A pot or fry pan. Some bottled water, milk, food. creature comfort items. As for not being checked on, believe me someone knows you are there. If this review doesn't help, perhaps a nice stay in a motel will suit you better. One of those places leaves a light on for you. GOD BLESS AMERICA AND THE PEOPLE THAT PROTECT US.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skiffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Stroudsburg
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bartonsville
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Stroudsburg / Poconos
2.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsburg - Poconos
Staybridge Suites East Stroudsbu...
#4 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
Days Inn East Stroudsburg
#6 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
3.6 mi away
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Country Club
Wolf Hollow at The Water Gap Cou...
#1 of 3 in Delaware Water Gap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
6.8 mi away
Timothy Lake South RV
Timothy Lake South RV
#1 of 8 in East Stroudsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxwood Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxwood Family Campground

Property: Foxwood Family Campground
Address: 400 Mt Nebo Rd, East Stroudsburg, PA 18301-8027
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > East Stroudsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in East Stroudsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 189
Also Known As:
Foxwood Family Campground Hotel East Stroudsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing