We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great bistro fare”
Review of Maxim's 22

Maxim's 22
Ranked #32 of 278 Restaurants in Easton
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Really great bistro fare”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We went here after visiting the Crayola Experience next door. What a nice surprise to find such an authentic French bistro in Easton, PA. The menu had great variety and the items we ordered (caesar, mac n cheese, omelette special) were FABULOUS. I ogled the other food in the room and the burgers, frites, and egg dishes looked pretty legit too. Service was good and atmosphere was great. Stop by!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    64
    20
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
564 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Despite good apps we left hungry”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

When i called for a reservation, i told the man we were going to attend an 8pm concert at the state theatre. He recommended a 6pm reservation. We arrived on time and were seated promptly. After a brief wait, we ordered our drinks. We mentioned that we were going to the show. The drinks took a little time to get to us, but no worries yet. The waitress, Marcie, was pleasant. We were ready to order, but then she told us the numerous specials. We needed a minute to think about it all. She, unfortunately, gave us about twenty minutes before returning. In the meantime, we told the hostess that we were going to the show, and the waitress still hadn't taken our order. She said, yeah, the waitress is outside waiting on someone else. Okay, so she arrives and we reiterate about the show. She says " no problem". We place our order. The apps arrive in a relatively timely manner, but the second round of cocktail one person ordered never arrives. We try to flag down the waitress but she is busy. Meanwhile, the apps are delicious. My friend and i share the foie gras on creme brulee toast with sour cherry topping. Delicious. Someone else has a lovely tomato salad with crab and corn salad. Another has the fig special. Everyone enjoys the food and delicious bread. Unfortunately, that is all we get to eat. Despite numerous requests for service, and reminders that we have a show to catch, the entrees don't come out until 7:45 ( oh, and the second round of drinks just slightly before that, only one person was able to finish his second cocktail). Right before the entrees came out we informed them we were leaving and wanted the bill for the apps. They insisted there was time to eat. Then, the food came out and we said no. Then the hostess came over with food and said there was time and she didn't want us to go hungry. Too late for that. She said she could wrap it up to go. What? And we would take it to the concert? Or walk back to our hot car ( no time for that) and let it spoil? Who wants left over french fries and steak, or beef tips in a cream sauce that sits in a car for three hours? We left and made it to our seats with literally two minutes to spare before Jackson Browne came out at 8:02. Some constructive criticism for this restaurant: on show nights, if you cannot manage to get meals out on time, offer a prixe fixe limited menu instead. Maybe your kitchen could deal with that. Also, print the specials on a menu and present it at the same time as the regular menus. Don't expect patrons or servers to remember four app specials and three entree specials. And don't offer those specials unless you could deliver them in a timely manner! Finally, when people raise the red flag about service partway through the meal, do something about it instead of ignoring it. And comp the second round of drinks if they couldn't be consumed. One of the party said it best. Not only did he regret not getting dinner, but that we still spent $120 and left hungry.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank travellerfromatown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good Food!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This rather new addition to fine dining in Easton, Pa is upscale dining. For Easton, PA the food is a bit pricey, but worth it! We had excellent Lamb Chops. Desserts were great too! It is located on Northampton Street between the circle and the State Theatre..on the same side of the street as the Crayola Factory.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellentt”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great food - great service. I got a parking ticket. Remember to feed the meters! They stay on past 6pm.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riegelsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Consistently good, satisfying and comfortable.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having done drinks and appetizers at the bar, dinner on weekends and midweek, lunch and brunch on a Saturday and Sunday, I find Maxims to be very consistent in terms of quality, service and atmosphere. Love the bar... it's expansive in both size and offerings. One of the more imaginative wine and beer lists in the LV, with the former in particular reasonably priced with offerings from both New and Old World. I appreciate the "pour" options on many of the wines: by the glass, the carafe or bottle. The appetizer list ranges from seafood to red meat to poultry and all good. The brunch offering of Eggs Benedict I find as good I've had anywhere: eggs cooked exactly as I like them and the salmon version was both substantial and excellent quality. The Steak Frites is my wife's go-to entree... very tasty and tender meat, lovely fries and at $22-ish very good value.Like any place, once you get to be a regular, the service is generally good... but we were newbies at first (obviously), and the service was both warm and welcoming from the start, which is one reason we became regulars. Maxims is a very comfortable place to be and reasonably priced within its category.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gone_past_peckish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maxim's 22? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing