We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic French country-side stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel la Truite Doree
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Yzeures-sur-Creuse, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic French country-side stop-over”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The restaurant offers typical regional French cuisine at very affordable prices. The simple but comfortable rooms in the new annex all have balconies or terraces, great for smokers. Excellent airconditionig, really necessary on hot days. Friendly staff, pleasant atmosphere, very quiet at night, a perfect choice for a one-night stop-over, away from the noise of the freeway.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    161
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
88
379
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nice
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Be well advised to book demi-pension: it's excellent value for delicious local, authentic southwest cuisine with a warm, friendly welcome...and you might not get a table for dinner otherwise, as this hotel's bustling restaurant is justly very popular with the locals as well as travellers - booked solid the night we stayed.
For €130-odd we were given a comfortable standard room with a pleasant balcony overlooking the valley, 3-course dinner (drinks extra) and a fairly decent breakfast (as French continental breakfasts go): will definitely return here when next in the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main hotel, were very satisfied with quality - and walking distance to restaurant/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nissabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The room: we had a room in the annexe - which was basic but comfortable. There is balcony outside which overlooks a small river in which you can just about see the fish. Only minus was that the air conditioner in the room that we had needed to have its filter cleaned as when we turned it on - there was a smell of ammonia. Not a huge problem and we didn't mention it as it was not that hot and just turned off the unit. However, it is had been warm we'd have very possibly asked for another room. The bathroom is small as another reviewer has mentioned but perfectly adequate and, most importantly, clean.

The restaurant: This hotel has an excellent restaurant and you can eat outside on the terrace. Service was quick even though it was very busy. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the food is very good indeed.

Breakfast was OK if a bit noisy and not up to the same standard as the restaurant. If you were expecting something similar, you might be a wee bit disappointed.

The hotel has a number of other features to recommend it: it has lots of safe parking and is near Cahors and local cave dwellings. It also has a lovely pool and a new table tennis table with bats (and plenty of balls) - not usually the case when you find a table tennis table!

Above all it is a family run establishment and their warmth comes through in the quality of service from the staff they employ. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbd119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tunbridge wells uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This Logis has an excellent restaurant and if you are staying demi-pension there is a wide variety of interesting local dishes to choose from. Service is very slick and friendly and there are plenty of outside areas to eat in when the weather is good.
We had a room in the annexe with a little balcony overlooking a rushing stream which was very nice. The rooms are comfortable but basic and the bathroom was very small.
Breakfast was a disappointment. It was totally self-service with automatic orange and coffee machines that served up a weak and tasteless brew. It is served in the bar area so is noisy and busy and not a relaxing start to the day.
The position of the hotel is excellent and it is a short distance from Cahors, the lovely village of St.Cirque, and the exciting caves of Pech Merle.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mungoandmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Just a few kilometres outside Cahors the village of Vers has an excellent Logis.
Comfortable rooms and good food, we had their cassoulet as a main course.
It wasn't where we expected tostay the night but it has now joined our list of favourites.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inner-Rock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soudorgues, France
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

This was our third stay at La Truite Doree in 3 years and it has never disappointed us! The warm welcome, fabulous service from the family staff and truly excellent local cuisine made our stay so very enjoyable!

We don't understand why the hotel now has only 2 "marmites" as we feel it is one of the best of the Logis de France we have ever stayed at in terms of the quality of the food and restaurant ambience so it should achieve a 3.

Generosity personified? Because the staff were always willing to go that extra mile to please and the food (for a demi-pension) was absolutely faultless. The hotel was completely full when we stayed and the restaurant had no free tables on a Friday night in September which says it all! Fabulous local food including salads withe local Rocamadour (goat) cheese, smoked duck breast and local, beautiful walnuts, trout from the rivers of the Lot and magret de canard with delicious sauces and to crown it all the famous walnut tart served with walnut and maple syrup ice cream - delicious!

We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the Vers river cascading over the waterfalls near the terrace of our very well appointed room.

Highly recommended - a beautiful and charming village too and brilliant for an overnight stop to the south.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pixietoadstool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir pris du temps pour donner un avis à LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous vous en remercions et vous disons à bientôt. EVELYNE.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vers
6.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
959 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Les Gabarres
Hotel Les Gabarres
#2 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
166 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
23.0 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Truite Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Truite Doree

Property: Hotel la Truite Doree
Address: rue de Labarre, 46090 Vers, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Vers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Truite Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel la Truite Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing