We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel la Truite Doree
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding value”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The day I arrived in Vers (on foot, since I had been hiking the Chemin du Puy) the dining room was mobbed for lunch. My 15.5 euro lunch started with 8 very large and perfectly cooked shrimp along with a bit of salad. A complimentary bowl of pate de campagne was next along with requisite cornichons. Then came the main - a trout meuniere with rice and carrots. Finished with two scoops of ice cream. Oh yes, delicious bread also.

My room was quiet and tastefully appointed. My dinner was as good as my lunch. Staff all friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Propriétaire at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you very much for your visit and for your nice comment that describes the quality of our restaurant.
On behalf of the entire team, thank you.
See you soon Tom M à La Truite Dorée.
Best Regards,
Fabienne, receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    158
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
371
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having chosen this hotel on the basis of good Trip Advisor reviews we were a little disappointed with what we experienced. There were both good and bad points, however we certainly would not recommend it as anything above being average.

Firstly the good; our room was in the 'tower' above the restaurant and was very nice indeed. Certainly worth the money and had the old natural stone of the building showing through is a nice touch.

The bad; I would not recommend this hotel for anyone who is not able to speak fluent French. Both myself and my partner speak broken 'conversational' French however whenever dealing with the staff they seemed put out and annoyed by the slowness. Similarly if we had to result to English words they didn't seem to appreciate it.

The food was the other major issues. While they have an 'in-house' restaurant it is severely over priced. Instead head into Cahors and you will be able to have a meal for 1/3 - 1/2 the price and of equal (if not better) quality (we would recommend 'Le Lamparo'). Also, if you choose to have breakfast here get there early as they do not seem to refresh the breakfast buffet - so if you get there after ~8.30 then you will be left with the leftovers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Propriétaire at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your hotel room.
Our breakfast buffet consists of local product (local jam and honey) and homemade products (stewed apples, pudding), eggs, cheeses, butchery, pastries and fresh bread and many other things that you did not have enjoyed since you have not taken it.
As for our restaurant it is appreciated by many Lotois and foreign tourists and we hope that during your next stay, you will also enjoy.
Thank you Alastair…and see you soon à La Truite Dorée.
Best Regards
Fabienne, Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Having chosen this hotel on the basis of good Trip Advisor reviews we were a little disappointed with what we experienced. There were both good and bad points, however we certainly would not recommend it as anything above being average.

Firstly the good; our room was in the 'tower' above the restaurant and was very nice indeed. Certainly worth the money and had the old natural stone of the building showing through is a nice touch.

The bad; I would not recommend this hotel for anyone who is not able to speak fluent French. Both myself and my partner speak broken 'conversational' French however whenever dealing with the staff they seemed put out and annoyed by the slowness. Similarly if we had to result to English words they didn't seem to appreciate it.

The food was the other major issues. While they have an 'in-house' restaurant it is severely over priced. Instead head into Cahors and you will be able to have a meal for 1/3 - 1/2 the price and of equal (if not better) quality (we would recommend 'Le Lamparo'). Also, if you choose to have breakfast here get there early as they do not seem to refresh the breakfast buffet - so if you get there after ~8.30 then you will be left with the leftovers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alastair K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Propriétaire at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for leaving your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your hotel room.
Our breakfast buffet consists of local product (local jam and honey) and homemade products (stewed apples, pudding), eggs, cheeses, butchery, pastries and fresh bread and many other things that you did not have enjoyed since you have not taken it.
As for our restaurant it is appreciated by many Lotois and foreign tourists and we hope that during your next stay, you will also enjoy.
Thank you Alastair…and see you soon à La Truite Dorée.
Best Regards
Fabienne, Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rulzheim, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

At "Le Trute Dorree" you fill find verry friendly and proffesionell staff all time. The meals were all fantastic and we never had to wait (we had the food contained in the half board).Also there is a big winecard, especially with wines from the Cahors area. Rooms are comfortable and quiet (Vers is quiet at night). We are the second timethere and If we find time we will come again. One Advice for reservation: If the official website from logis or the truite dorree shows "complete" , try by phone.

Room Tip: At the rooms in the Annex, you´ll have the rushing of the river, comforting to fall asleep. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Werner W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EVELYNE-MARCENAC, Propriétaire at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
The whole team enjoyed your comment and is always motivated to always bring you more satisfaction.
We are glad that you came I was nice and you were responsive to our various services.
We hope to see you at next year's à La Truite Dorée.
Best Regards
Fabienne, Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed overnight on a walking trip. This popular hotel was very busy with families who had come for Easter Monday lunch and our room was not ready as the hotel had been full the previous night with guests checking out late. That was the only glitch. The room was modern with no frills and with a good shower/bathroom, balcony with table and two chairs overlooking the river and grassy bank. The bustling restaurant's half pension three course menu at 26 euros was excellent - we had fresh asparagus, cod with sorrel sauce and either one of several desserts or cheese - with plenty of other choices and friendly efficient service. The breakfast buffet menu was fine with the usual cold cuts, cheeses, yoghourts etc but less good hot-plate coffee. The outdoor swimming pool, seating with table tennis area were well tended. All in all it seemed a happy hotel with all generations, including the proprietors, enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci pour votre commentaire chaleureux. Nous sommes heureux de travailler à LA TRUITE DOREE avec notre clientèle fidèle muti générationnelle. Au nom de l'équipe un Grand Merci. EVELYNE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have spent many holidays (summer, Easter and autumn) at La Truite Doree and have never been disappointed - a friendly, family-run hotel - typically French. The rooms are basic but clean - we love the balcony in connection with the room. Lovely to sit outside and enjoy the calming sound of the river. The restaurant is out of this world - great menu lots of regional food - fantastic quality and super friendly service.
We can highly recommend this place situated in one of the most beautiful areas in France.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We have spent many holidays (summer, Easter and autumn) at La Truite Doree and have never been disappointed - a friendly, family-run hotel - typically French. The rooms are basic but clean - we love the balcony in connection with the room. Lovely to sit outside and enjoy the calming sound of the river. The restaurant is out of this world - great menu lots of regional food - fantastic quality and super friendly service.
We can highly recommend this place situated in one of the most beautiful areas in France.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERiis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Hotel la Truite Doree, responded to this review, 1 September 2015
Google Translation
Merci d'avoir laisser un avis sur LA TRUITE DOREE. Nous sommes comblés par votre commentaire élogieux. Au nom de l'équipe nous vous en remercions. Evelyne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vers
6.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
Hotel Spa Le Saint Cirq
#1 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
944 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Les Gabarres
Hotel Les Gabarres
#2 of 2 in Tour-de-Faure
159 reviews
7.8 mi away
Chateau de Mercues
Chateau de Mercues
#1 of 1 in Mercues
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Hotel des Grottes du Pech Merle
23.0 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
382 reviews
6.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Divona Cahors
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel la Truite Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel la Truite Doree

Property: Hotel la Truite Doree
Address: rue de Labarre, 46090 Vers, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Vers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel la Truite Doree 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel la Truite Doree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing