We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be for dinner”

Restaurant La Truite Doree
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Vers
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Even though the restaurant was completely full (a good sign) the service was really friendly and efficient. The food was excellent. And the tarte aux noix was fabulous. We recommend it

Thank Lip_Aug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for leaving your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to see that you had a good time with us.
Thank you Lip_Aug…and see you soon à La Truite Dorée.
Best Regards
Fabienne, Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a lovely restaurant, and the food is really delicious. I started with the soupe de poissons, and even shared it was way too much, but so tasty I couldn't stop eating. It does come with small crabs. Hot tip: don't try to eat these at all, or the person sitting across from you will be angry... I'll say no more.

Remember, too, that if you can't finish your meal, you do not ask for a carry-out box. Someone at our table did, and got a huge ice cream tub. So declasse!

Do order the lamb, the foie gras, the mussels, the fish, the panna cotta with rasberries, the creme brulee, but know that these will all be large dishes, and you will leave stuffed! What an evening it was...


Thank amicrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Propriétaire at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you for leaving your opinion on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to see that you had a good time with us.
Thank you amicrazy…and see you soon à La Truite Dorée.
Best Regards
Fabienne, Receptionist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This was my first visit to France & I, & family members, stayed @ a house in the Lot region. This restaurant was recommended to us & each couple went on separate nights. It was a delight! The food was excellent & the staff was very efficient. Actually, the wait-staff was always on the move, never to be seen just standing around. Some did speak enough English to assist the French-challenged members of our party & there was a waitress from the UK if all else failed. The restaurant always seemed to be busy, but we were able to be seated without a reservation. A big thumbs-up from all of us!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire. Toute l'équipe est comblée. Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans LE LOT et plus particulièrement à LA TRUITE DOREE. EVELYNE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were boating on the River Lot and Vers is a good place to stop, but not too many restaurants. However we were happy to find La Truite Doree keeps a very good table at a moderate price and were happy to eat there twice. It gets very busy so first night we were lucky to find a place, second day we reserved a table on the terrace.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RedHeadPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire. Toute l'équipe est comblée. Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans LE LOT et plus particulièrement à LA TRUITE DOREE. EVELYNE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stopped there for 2 nights as we aimed to visit around.
At first sight, we were there just for sleeping. We had a room in the "annex", just behind the bridge. And we had a nice, efficient, clean (and un- noisy) room.

At the end of the day, we decided to have diner there (un planned). And we had nice meals in the restaurant which is huge and cosy (very strange but true). They delivered very "sud- ouest" food but it was good and fresh. You need to try there the nuts cake & the rocamadour.

The wine (Cahors) is definitely harsh and rough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Damiano156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Gérant at Restaurant La Truite Doree, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015
Google Translation

Merci d'avoir pris le temps d'écrire un commentaire. Toute l'équipe est comblée. Au plaisir de vous recevoir à nouveau dans LE LOT et plus particulièrement à LA TRUITE DOREE. EVELYNE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant La Truite Doree also viewed

 
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
Saint-Cirq-Lapopie, Lot
 

Been to Restaurant La Truite Doree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing