We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langley Castle Restaurant

Langley Castle Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Langley Castle Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Part of the historic castle hotel open to the public for lunch and dinner
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We celebrated my parents golden wedding in the conservatory at Langley castle -we had an excellent day ! The location, service, food and even the weather were brilliant and I will definitely be going back - perhaps overnight next time !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mark t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    34
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Fabulous Lunchtime Cuisine!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Another visit here for lunch and another fab menu priced at £16.95 for 2 courses or £18.95 for 3. The quality, quantity and presentation of all 3 courses was outstanding with special mention of the dessert which looked like boiled eggs with soldiers but was in fact rhubarb and egg custard selection, very artfully crafted and delicious.
Very relaxed atmosphere here and very good value, you can then relax in the upstairs drawing room for coffee if you wish.
I've still given this a very good rating based on the food rather than the service. The waitress dropped my drink, showering me with mineral water and glass, a fragment of which I found stuck in my hand driving home. Of course accidents happen, and I received an apology, but a nice touch like my coffee on the house to compensate having to sit through my meal with a wet leg wouldn't have been too much to expect. But it was quickly forgotten about by the staff and I even got billed for the spilled drink!

Helpful?
1 Thank Clarenicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great cuisine.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Great food and a great ambience. The restaurant oozes medieval character. Staff are friendly and approachable and service is prompt and very efficient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Craig_Row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Popped in 4 afternoon tea on route north. £25 for afternoon tea for two was reasonable value, but the surroundings were outstanding. Would have preferred a couple more sandwiches, but what was served was very nice, well presented, and the earl grey tea we chose was a great accompaniment. Staff very friendly and attentive.
Will return here to stay as it appears to be a very atmospheric place and in a great location to explore the surrounding area.

Helpful?
Thank uzinsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Valentines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

Visited Langley for the valentines evening. Upon arrival sat in the drawing room in front of a cosy fire & given complimentary strawberry bellinis which were lovely followed by tasty canopes. Once in the restaurant our starters arrived - beautifully presented & the pigeon breast was so tender. Have to say afterwards my lips did sting as the pancetta made it incredibly salty. Pink champagne sorbet was lovely, followed by halibut which was beautiful in taste & presentation. My boyfriend enjoyed his fillet steak too, unfortunately I think the waitress misheard him & it was more medium well than medium rare but never mind! Dessert was a selection of strawberry & chocolate desserts which were nice but not what I would have chosen myself, & my boyfriend had a cheeseboard which had a great selection. Was disappointed that we were not in the new modern restaurant (something to do with the heating) as the old one is slightly dated. Would go back for a special occasion as the service was great & a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nomnom0813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Langley Castle Restaurant also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham
 
Morpeth, Northumberland
 

Been to Langley Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing