We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langley Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in the derwenter room for a belated birthday treat sat night couldn't fault anything beautiful big room and bathroom fantastic meal in the restaurant just off the Josephine as it was a busy night and it was quieter in there compliments to the chef meal was something else hubby said the steak was best he had Ever tasted staff so attentive and polite lovely big breakfast sun morning nothing to much trouble to any of the staff thank you so much for a wonderful experience which will stay with me forever

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Sand62 - I am really pleased that you enjoyed your birthday treat and stay at Langley - It was indeed a busy night and the restaurant was buzzing and a great Atmosphere - The Pavilion and the Grill menu does offer that extra choice and I agree with you that the RibEye Steaks are totally delicious - I will of course pass your comments on to the rest of the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    165
    66
    27
    16
See reviews for
193
712
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

this hotel sits in a stunning location and has a great deal of history. We stayed here for two nights early in October as I was competing in the Kielder marathon. We stayed in what is called the Castle View which is a two minute walk from the main hotel. The room was clean, comfortable and catered for anything we required. On the day of the marathon I needed an early breakfast which we had in the room which was no trouble to the staff that brought it to the room at the requested time.
All the staff we dealt with were very helpful, polite and nothing was too much trouble. We were never left waiting for anything. We spoke to the manager on our departure that was very enthusiastic about all aspects of our stay and is a credit to the hotel as he obviously cares a great deal about the hotel and everything that goes on in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear John - It was a pleasure to meet you and congratulations on competing in the Kielder Marathon - I am so pleased that we were able to fulfil your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay. I do hope that it will not be too long before you can return. Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Having driven past Langley Castle on many occasions visiting friends and family in the North East we thought we would give ourselves a treat especially as we hadnt been able to get away on holiday this year due to health problems. Well what a treat we had, we arrived on Wednesday afternoon and were shown to our room at Castle View, a very short walk from the main castle, our room was spotlessly clean, very comfortable, tastefully decorated, generous in size and very warm. Having made ourselves comfortable, we went to the Drawing Room on the first floor of the castle where a roaring log fire kept the whole room cosy and welcoming and sat in the window seat looking out on the fountain. The Castle stands in lovely grounds and the autumn colours on the trees was spectacular so after a lovely cream tea we took a walk around to admire and photograph all the facets coming across a group of peacocks en route! And meeting the general manager Anton Phillips who had our mouths watering at the thought of dinner!
Having decided that a four course meal would be just too much for us, we ordered a single course of Chateaubriand that was served in the Josephine Restaurant, which was truly delicious and very filling that unfortunately I couldn’t quite manage breakfast in the morning! Whether you eat in the restaurant, or just have a light slack the produce is First Class and not out the way price wise. All the staff we met were professional, friendly, and very helpful, however Aidan did go just that extra mile and we had a bit of a laugh on his Battlement Tour this morning.
Couldn't fault anything it was excellent, we will certainly be going back and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadameFeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear MadameFeef - It was a pleasure to meet you on your recent visit to the Castle and am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the Chateaubriand hit the mark - The Battlement tour have become more comprehensive over the last few months and contribute greatly to the overall experience of staying at the Castle - I am looking forward to your next visit - please check the web site for special offers - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, the setting is absolutely superb. Our room
was in the Castle View building just a very short walk to the main castle, it was a suite i.e. large room with a good seating area. It was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was one of the very best I have come across in any hotel. It had both a bath and a separate shower which was extremely powerful.
The minor lapse was that the mini bar had clearly not been checked and items were missing, I reported this to Reception and was promised that someone would be over with the missing items, four hours later they had not arrived. I went to Reception, told the Receptionist, whose first words were 'it wasn't me'. No apology.The bar was then replenished.
The Restaurant is superb, the staff are amongst the most discreetly attentive I have come across. The food is outstandingly good, well served and well presented .At £42.50 for the table d'hote menu it is not cheap but it is certainly good value.
I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Alan - I would like to thank you for posting your kind review following your recent stay - I will pass your comments onto the Restaurant and Kitchen team - I do want to be value for money but based on quality - I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Castle in the not too distant future - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My husband and I (sound like the Queen!!) stayed here on Sunday night to celebrate my birthday and had a fabulous time. We stayed in a Castle View room which was beautifully decorated, exceptionally clean and spacious and very welcoming. The en-suite bathroom was large and spotlessly clean (very important for a bathroom I think) We spent time in the Castle itself and were very impressed with the whole experience. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and courteous, nothing was too much trouble for them. The grounds are so peaceful and tranquil with beautiful peacocks roaming freely. Spectacular venue and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Can only say "Enjoy your stay"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Joan - Many thanks for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay - I am genuinely delighted that you enjoyed your stay - the Peacocks have been a feature of the grounds for several years and so many guests are enchanted by them and especially when they have all their plumage - I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here for one night in October 2013 for our anniversary. The Castle is beautiful, a real Castle, with seven foot deep window seats, suits of armour, the works. The décor is lush and the rooms are amazing. We stayed in a Castle room, the Cadwallader, with a beautiful four poster bed, bigger than I have ever seen, and luxurious décor. It is a little bit of a sharp walk, up a small spiral staircase, but there is a lift you can request the use of, although we didn't bother.

The restaurant was beautiful and very cosy, the food was delicious and very reasonably priced for such a beautiful location. It was nice to sit in the grand drawing room in one of the large comfy sofas near the fire for a drink and complimentary appetisers. All the staff were pleasant and helpful, especially our young waitress who seemed a little nervous but she did a fabulous job!

The only bad part of the stay was having to leave on the Saturday morning, after a hearty breakfast.

Room Tip: It might be a little more expensive but the castle rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linds4y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Linds - I am most appreciative of the comments you made following your recent stay - The Castle is a Castle, complete with spiral staircases - but these contribute to the authenticity of staying in a genuine Castle - but for those not able to manage the stairs, we do have the service lift to enable access to all levels of the Castle. I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley on another occasion - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I booked this little stay through a Groupon voucher, and I can honestly say I was not disappointed. This hotel is beautiful, luxurious and peaceful. The staff are outstanding and so much attention to detail is looked at. My little boy was over the moon staying in a real life castle, and I am sure this short stay will stay with him for a long time! The food is delicious and again, nothing is too much trouble. If I had to some this trip in one word, I would say outstanding

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Karen - thank you so much sharing your experience of Langley Castle and I am delighted you your son enjoyed the stay - I will put a copy of your review on the staff notice board - I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company on another occasion - Special offers are always available on the web site - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley-on-Tyne
13.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,522 reviews
9.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
7.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Property: Langley Castle Hotel
Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Castle Langley
Langley Castle Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing