We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langley Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My partner & I stayed in the Tindale Room on the 9th November.
What a great place to stay, room was amazing.
Food in the evening was superb and was excellent value.
Staff were great, nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast, great choice and cooked to order.
It was nice to climb up to the roof & have an opportunity to look inside the chapel, Cassie was very knowledgeable and gave a nice tour this morning.
Was a great way to spend my second anniversary with my partner, couldn't think of a better place.
Thank you to everyone!!! look forward to a return visit in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear SG - I am glad you enjoyed your anniversary at the Castle - I will let Cassie know of your comments - I am sure that she will be so pleased - Do keep an eye on our web site as there are always special offers available - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    822
    157
    64
    23
    14
See reviews for
183
685
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed for two nights and had an evening meal on both nights. The castle is warm and comfortable. It has been carefully restored and added to over the years. The tour of the battlements added to our understanding of this unique place. Excellent room and lovely food. The drawing room was spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Kevin - Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay - The Battlement tour is so well appreciated by our guests as this contributes so much to the authenticity of the Castle and is the final experience that a guest will have before leaving the Castle - I will put your review onto the staff notice board and hope that you will be able to return to Langley in the not too distant future - best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for two nights - as a surprise for my birthday!! couldn't have wished for more. We stayed in the Percy suite which was stunning. I think it is worth actually staying in the castle to appreciate this wonderful building fully.

Breakfast between 8.00 - 9.30 is just a perfect start to the day. there is plenty of choice and all of it is yummy!!

I was gifted the champagne afternoon tea as part of my presents and thoroughly enjoyed spending a completely indulgent few hours in the stunning lobby area.

Dinner, what more can I say that hadn't already been said!! from the first to the sixth course (yes you did read that correctly!) was amazing. The head chef is a real credit to the hotel and produces some wonderful dishes, it was a privilege to be able to sample this. I would urge all who are in the area to try a dinner at Langley you will not be disappointed!

The staff, service, food, castle and the grounds itself are all superb and I am really hoping that we get to visit again sometime soon!

Room Tip: Percy suite is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suncatchershell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear SuncatcherShell - It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests and friends back to Langley - I will pass your lovely comments regarding the food onto the team and Andy Smith (head Chef) - feed back and comments such as your are so valuable - I do hope it will not be too long before you are able to return to Langley. - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
169 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Husbands big birthday so weekend stay for us and Saturday night family get together. Couldn't have been better. Amazing service, great food, lovely room.

Stuck in traffic we arrived gone 9.30 too tired to dress for the restaurant - so they offered us sandwiches or a main course in the bar (we could also have had room service but our daughter wanted to go straight to bed). Huge sandwiches! Sure we could have gone in to the restaurant too but really felt too tired.

After a walk on Saturday it was time for a cream tea - beautiful! Slightly odd when we asked for something different to be asked if we were on a Groupon - we weren't so all was fine.

Make sure you spend time in the bar/lounge its lovely - look out for the window seat - you have to go up steps too it and its lovely, a secret hide away.

Saturday night meal - just couldn't have been better! Service wow! Food amazing. Birthday cake - nicely presented but looked a bit strange - tasted AMAZING!

Okay so the food was brill and I haven't even mentioned the great breakfast.

Our room was huge, beautifully done with a great balcony. And they let us take our dog.
Would recommend for any special occasion.

Battlement tour nice to do.

Room Tip: We were in room 27 in the Lodge - rooms 26 and 27 are most distant from the castle which means they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear WarwickshireMog - I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - The 2 CastleView Lodge rooms are that bit further from the Castle but we have recently upgraded each one to have its own private roof terrace/patio with tables/chairs and stunning views up to the Castle - I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again soon - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed for 1 night in the Castle View rooms (converted stables), and took advantage of an online deal which included afternoon tea and a cocktail on arrival. Breakfast was also included, as was a tour of the battlements. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the rooms of the stable were nicely kitted out and were spacious. Also nice views of the castle were to be had from the rooms. Dinner was excellent (some of the nicest food courses we've had for some time). We dined in the pavilion restaurant (stylish glass building to back of castle) and it was very nice and intimate in the evening. We will definately stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Colin - Thank you so much for your recent review - The Pavilion is a wonderful addition to our facilities and offers that very intimate and contemporary choice - and the Steaks are delicious - I do hope we can welcome you back soon - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the Josephine suite and it was beautiful. It had a little alcove with exposed castle walls so you can really get the feel of a grand suite in a castle. The windows were original and looked like those from a church. So special!
When we arrived the staff took our bags upstairs and took us to the drawing room so we could relax and have a drink. They started a fire at our request even though it wasn't that cold and we only really wanted it for atmosphere.
We dined at Langley 2 times for dinner during our stay, once in their more casual dining room extension at the side of the castle (all glass) and the second time in their main dining room in a little alcove of 7ft thick walls. Both times the food was delicious and the presentation was very high end. Service was fit for a lord. Prior to your meal every night guests are invited to the drawing room to have drinks and look over the menu. You order from the drawing room and don't go downstairs until your first course is ready to be served. Breakfast is also served in the main dining room each morning. There is a nice continental offering of cereals and fresh breads and hot items off a menu. So much of their food was freshly made and most of it was locally sourced.
Every time you turned on the lights in the bathroom the floor heater came on as well. While there were not dual vanities the bathroom counter was very wide and accommodated two guests.
There is a flatscreen TV in the room if you want to open your antique windows, let cold air drift in and listen to the rain fall while you relax and watch a program. The cable that was available was astonishing! Several blockbuster movie channels and regular cable programming.
We enjoyed staying in the Josephine suite because it was just high enough to get a nice view out of the castle, other suites you had to climb several flights of stairs. If you wanted an exceptional view of the surrounding landscape a member of the staff brings guests to the rooftop ramparts each morning at 10am.
It was every little thing adding up to make this an exceptional experience. Nicest castle in the area that is a real castle. I would absolute recommend a trip and hope to go back one day

Room Tip: Some suites are up several flights of stairs and there's no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denneyorama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Denneyorama - We have work so hard in recent years to offer food and service if a high order - comments such as yours are confirmation that we are going in the right direction - I will pass this review onto the Team - thank you - I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in the derwenter room for a belated birthday treat sat night couldn't fault anything beautiful big room and bathroom fantastic meal in the restaurant just off the Josephine as it was a busy night and it was quieter in there compliments to the chef meal was something else hubby said the steak was best he had Ever tasted staff so attentive and polite lovely big breakfast sun morning nothing to much trouble to any of the staff thank you so much for a wonderful experience which will stay with me forever

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Sand62 - I am really pleased that you enjoyed your birthday treat and stay at Langley - It was indeed a busy night and the restaurant was buzzing and a great Atmosphere - The Pavilion and the Grill menu does offer that extra choice and I agree with you that the RibEye Steaks are totally delicious - I will of course pass your comments on to the rest of the team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley-on-Tyne
13.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,485 reviews
9.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
16.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Property: Langley Castle Hotel
Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Castle Langley
Langley Castle Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing