We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Langley Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed in The Greenwich Room in the Castle and it was beautiful, we couldn't have wished for anything more. There was a wedding in progress when we arrived and the staff made sure we were aware of timings and we weren't inconvenienced in anyway. The cuisine was superb, we can't remember when last we enjoyed a dinner as much. Definitely return, highly recommend for a special occasion, the staff make you feel incredibly special, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GailJB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mr.Mrs.Hunter - I am so delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Castle and I thank you for taking the time to post this review - I am pleased that you did not feel that the wedding was allowed to impinge on your enjoyment of the Castle and I will pass your comments on to the Kitchen and Restaurant team - We have a young but very hard working and loyal staff at the Castle and receive so many positive comments - This sort of feedback is so much appreciated - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    852
    165
    66
    27
    16
See reviews for
193
712
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bebington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Langley for Christmas as a large family group and it far surpassed all of our expectations, the children were absolutely thrilled when they caught their first sight of it - a real medieval castle.
Most of us stayed in the Castleview rooms,spacious with superb views, as one might expect, of the castle! It was lovely to be greeted at the door each morning by the resident peacocks.
One family unit with two very small children stayed very comfortably in the castle itself
The food was excellent for all meals and Christmas Day brought a visit from Santa and really lovely gifts for each of the children - totally age appropriate, it was obvious that a great deal of thought lay behind the presents. The adults had had a visit from Santa on Christmas Eve and woke the following day to find a really lovely gift outside the door!
Thank you Anton and staff for helping to make our Christmas so memorable

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Mrs.Bonner - Thank you so much for posting your review following your stay with us at Christmas - There is a lot of work, thought and planning that goes into preparing for Christmas - with such a varied guests from all different backgrounds, the expectation of what makes Christmas is different for everyone - so getting the right balance is so important - this then has to be carried out by the staff and their input in terms of applying the standards of service and hospitality but in a true warm Northumbrian festive spirit - I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Langley in the not too distant future - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Spent a wonderful Christmas at Langley Castle. There was very little that I could be critical on. The staff were extremely friendly, very attentive and the food we were served was superb. Breakfast was excellent and Christmas Lunch was well balanced and really tasty. I have a nut allergy which I told the hotel about at time of booking. Different stuffing was given to me so I didn't feel left out and as I couldn't eat the Christmas Pudding was given a slightly different dessert to everyone else which was really excellent. Thank you for making Christmas so special. Very good value for money and I will definitely be back
in the near future and will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcinnel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear David and Louise - I am totally delighted that you enjoyed your Christmas at the Castle - This is always such a special time for everyone and we try very hard to make this a personal and traditional celebration - I felt that the atmosphere was really relaxed and that the food looked wonderful. It is then that the service becomes so important and the friendliness of the staff - I will pass your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Langley before too long - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Our 2 year old is Princess-mad... I saw it as a group on deal late at night, and thought it would be fun, so off we went... It was £99 for the deal, but there was another £25 to upgrade to a bigger room suitable for a child, and another £15 to bring a child. Over all, my assessment would be that £140 for the night, was sort of ok value - it certainly didn't feel like a £280 night hotel at half price!

The castle itself is impressive and I can understand why people fancy it as a wedding venue - very photogenic. The staff are pleasant and helpful, and the Drawing room is grand, if a little faded. We stayed in the stable block - the rooms are modern and comfy, however the third bed is not comfortable - and would only be suitable (IMHO) for a very small child. Unfortunately, as often happens with small kids, we tend to play musical beds, and my husband ended up there - so was most unimpressed. We spent the folllowing night in a Premier Inn where for the princely sum of £29 you get a very comfortable third bed suitable for an adult... so a little unimpressed with this..

We ate in the restaurant. Formal 4 course dinner in a castle, about £40 per head, is a memorable experience, so I would recommend it, and the food was competent, but not great. If you are looking for great food there will be better places. I guess they are catering for people who want a wedding package, rather than people attracted to eating there or return customers. On a positive note, the staff were really good with our 2 year old - presumably because lots of people bring small children to weddings and they are well used to them.

So overall, for the romance or the childish excitement of staying in a proper castle - probably worth a stay. I think I would have been miffed to pay more than £140 for a room though - which was comparable with the Disneyland Paris hotel we stayed in during September, and that included park tickets. If you're really looking for a luxury hotel, this isn't one... expect orange juice from concentrate... expect no newspapers in the drawing room, or any reading material other than wedding magazines... but it is a proper castle...and that is good fun!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EdinburghSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Susan - thank you for the feedback following your recent stay - Whilst weddings are an important part of Langley Castle, we are able to welcome independent guests from around the world, who want to enjoy a night in a real Castle - We try very hard to ensure that the weddings and our private guests are kept separate - The restaurant offers very different food to our banquet menus and we have a high percentage of repeat and regular guests who wish to return to enjoy the special atmosphere at the Castle and also to enjoy the food in the Restaurant - The sofa beds are really only suitable for children but I will look into ways in which I can make them more comfortable - I am glad that you enjoyed your stay but I will take full consideration of all of your comments - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

My partner & I stayed overnight in this beautiful castle. We stayed in the Josephine feature room, which was gorgeous, roomy and very comfortable. The only thing I found was the TV was a bit complicated to use. There was a wedding reception taking place and although as we were shown to our room we could hear music coming from upstairs, once in our room we were unable to hear it. The purpose of our visit was to have an evening with friends. We ate in the restaurant, the food was wonderful, service was excellent. Breakfast in the morning was also good. We had a funny experience whilst eating breakfast, our waitress put the toast rack on top of the selection of jam pots on our table. The toast rack turned a complete 180 degrees didn't wobble just turned, then my partner said he felt a cold breeze!!!! They say the castle has a ghost?
I certainly would recommend a stay here

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karenee763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Karenee - I would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay at the Castle - I noted the reference to the TV controls and I will look into ways of simplifying this - I am also grateful for your comments regarding the wedding reception that was taking place during your stay - we try to make sure that even if we are hosting a wedding that this will be as unobtrusive as possible - and try and extend every courtesy to all our guests - I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the pleasure of your company in the not too distant future - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Almost perfect castle experience spoiled by a huge service failure. With jet-lagged kids in toll and the more than 1 hour wait for a dinner table despite dinner reservation more than 3 weeks in advance, you would imagine the scene that played out at the dinner table. Yes, Anton and team tried to perform service recovery but was too little too late. Yes, kids were literally tired out by the wait in the drawing room and hence, slept at the table. The service staff didn't even bother/care despite our hour long presence in the drawing room. In fact, I don't think we existed despite paying good money for the experience. We left the castle utterly disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kennethgemplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Kennethgemplus - I am most disappointed to receive your review, following your stay at the Castle on Saturday - When your order for the restaurant was taken in the Drawing Room the printer in the Kitchen was out of paper and this went unnoticed - the waitress in the Drawing Room assumed that this was being processed by the Kitchen - by the time I was made aware of this situation, the damage had already been done - I do not wish to make any lame excuse - I will write to you separately to express my genuine and sincere apologies for this lapse. Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

At the end November, our son got married at this wonderful castle. As the wedding cake maker too, I needed a little more assistance from the staff than perhaps most mothers of the groom. The cake just managed to survive the 6-hour trip up North and needed urgent repairs on the day of the wedding. I have only but praise for the staff - absolutely fantastic – service with a smile, efficient, courteous, and nothing was too much trouble. The food was excellent too – the portions were far too big for me – with numerous guests commenting on the wedding meal being the best that they’ve ever had. Breakfast wasn’t bad either. The romantic 4-poster bedrooms were warm, cosy, clean and spacious. Wish we could have stayed longer, especially to explore the castle more thoroughly. Look forward to returning again one day. Thanks to the Langley Castle team for making the wedding day so special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Tricia - Every Wedding we host (no matter how big or small) is always someone's very special day and not just for the Bride and Groom. I will ensure that your very kind comments are passed onto Carla (one of my senior management colleagues) - she was intimately involved throughout the entire process and administered the day itself - This type of comment is so important to the team and I would thank you for taking the time to post your review. I also understand your comments about not having sufficient time and wanting to stay longer - there is always so much involved - HOWEVER you can always come back - we would love to have the pleasure of your company again - Do keep a weather eye on our web site for special offers. Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley-on-Tyne
13.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,522 reviews
9.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
7.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Property: Langley Castle Hotel
Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Castle Langley
Langley Castle Hexham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing