We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good scone, poor staff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langley Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langley Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good scone, poor staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

This is a beautiful place and the food was lovely, unfortunately the staff were slapdash and haphazard. When you visit somewhere like this you expect to be treated well, however the young man serving us literally threw our saucers and cups across the table spilling our drinks and making the experience unpleasant. We saw other staff members during our visit who were equally uninterested in us. I wouldn't review however this is our third visit and each time the issue has been the same. It's a real shame because it is simply stunning and it's wasted on poor staffing.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jess - I am most concerned to read your review of the Afternoon Tea - Whilst I am pleased that the scone etc - I am unable to account for the level of service - The comments regarding the staff a normally so positive - I will investigate this with my restaurant manager and ensure that this is not allowed to repeat itself. I would offer my apologies for this - I do hope that you will grant me the opportunity to redeem ourselves and will return to the Castle - Please contact me directly so that I may personally supervise your booking throughout - In coming back to the Castle I would certainly hope that I can change your mind about the standard of service and that you will be able post a more positive review next time - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    802
    152
    60
    22
    14
See reviews for
179
662
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Afternoon tea in the drawing room of Langley Castle, what a lovely way to spend an afternoon. The place itself is wonderful, the service very good and the tea very pleasant. We were asked what we would like in the sandwiches and tea, choice of, or coffee. Staff were around and helpful, but left us to a quiet tea. The three tier cake plate had sandwiches, scones with jam and cream and a lovely selection of cakes. All this in front of a log burning stove.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Jayne - Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your recent afternoon tea at the Castle - I am delighted that this was a pleasant afternoon for you and will pass on your kind comments regarding the Afternoon tea and the staff and put a copy on the notice board - I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley soon - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed at the Langley Castle Hotel for two nights (26-28 March), the hotel is very impressive and the room we stayed in was spacious, comfortable and fitted out to a very high standard. We ate in the hotel on both nights rather expensive but good quality. The staff were very helpful and efficient. The only disappointment was the battlements tour, brief and not very informative.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Castle view rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank harryb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Harry - Thank you for taking the time to post your review - I am delighted that you enjoyed the hotel and the food in the restaurant - we did introduce the Pavilion Grill to be able to offer an A La Carte option and to be able to order only a main course such as a delicious Rib Eye Steak. I noted your comment regarding the Battlement Tour - the Tour is normally well received but I will look into this to ensure that the members of staff are able to give all the information necessary to enhance the experience - I do hope that we will have the pleasure of your company again before too long - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Langley castle has it all ! A beautiful building which oozes elegance,warmth & welcome out of every ancient stone !
From the minute our car turned in through the gates we were under its spell ! Standing proud in the mist & surrounded by superb woodland & gardens I was thrilled by my wonderful Mother's Day surprise weekend .
The staff were welcoming & helpful & very knowledgeable about all aspects of the castle & it's marvellous surrounding areas .
We stayed in castle view rooms, which had been the former coach house & stables . The rooms were superb & had all amenities of any good 5 star hotel . We even had peacocks outside who enjoyed biscuits :-)
The interior of the castle was a testament to design ,hard work & obvious love of the old building .
We took high tea in the drawing room & added a glass of champagne too , it all felt very regal !
Dinner in Josephine's restaurant was on a par with all the top restaurants across the world with the advantage of sitting in an ancient castle !
The food was delicious ... Compliments to the chef :-)
This short stay will live in my memory forever & I will certainly visit again !
Many thanks go to my son for arranging it all , he's the best !
And a sincere thank you to all the hard working staff for making it such a pleasure xxx

Room Tip: I really don't think any room would disappoint .. But it was rather nice in the castle view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank watty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Watty - Thank you so much for posting this review following your recent Mothers Day surprise - I have particularly noted your comments regarding the "regal" afternoon tea with Champagne and also your meal in the Restaurant - I will be passing these comments on to the Team - I look forward to welcoming you back to Langley - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have visited quite a few establishments now for afternoon tea from quaint tea rooms to high quality hotels all varying in price but have to say the afternoon tea at Langley was the most disappointing On arrival our group of four ladies was directed to the drawing room on the first floor where we found our own seats even though a reservation had been made. We were then asked if we would like tea or coffee no choice of tea just one or the other. The waiter then took our order for afternoon tea and brought the cake stand quite promptly I say 'the cake stand' because everywhere I have been there is always one cake stand per couple but no this one cake stand was for the four of us, you might think that it was over flowing with food but no it was not. On the top plate were four huge fruit scones yes crammed with fruit but on the stodgy side guaranteed to fill you up I think The middle plate had a small selection of cakes but only two of each kind. We also had to play a guessing game as to what was in the cakes because no one bothered to tell us what they were. The bottom plate had a selection of finger sandwiches of which there were four of one kind and in some instances three of another so not even enough to go round The final straw was that we had one pot of tea for the four us throughout no offer of a refill or even a fresh pot of tea. I would recommend that someone from Langley visits somewhere like Hotel Du Vin in Newcastle they charge a similar price for afternoon but the experience is far superior.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GatesheadCheekychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Guest - I have noted your comment on your review following your afternoon tea at the Castle and would offer my apologies for the standard of the afternoon tea which you experienced. I will not make any lame excuses for any lapse in our normally high standards - There should have been plenty of choice and more than enough food to be presented to you - I will follow this up directly to ensure that there is immediate action taken to ensure the quality of presentation and service - I would thank you for brining this to my attention so that I can ensure that there will be no repetition - I do hope that you would wish to revisit the Castle - Please contact me directly so that I may personally discuss your requirements and supervise throughout - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

The hotel is truly gorgeous. The rooms are large, sumptuous and comfortable and set in beautiful grounds in the heart of the Northumbrian countryside just a short drive from Hadrian's Wall. A wonderful place for a break.

The food though is not all it could be.

The hotel offers two restaurants - a fine dining room called Josephine's and an annex off the main room offering simpler, mainly grilled, dishes called the Pavilion.

Our meal in Josephine's was disappointing. The menu reads well but the food was dull - in a main dish of duck the duck itself was well-cooked but the vegetables were tepid, a spring roll with duck confit was stodgy and tasted as though it had been cooked some time (hours if not days) earlier and the whole dish was dry and desperately lacking a sauce.

By contrast a meal from the Pavilion menu was excellent with very well cooked salmon.

Finally the cooked breakfasts leave much to be desired - the eggs were clearly fried at the start of service and then kept warm rather than being cooked to order which is just not good enough in a four star hotel and the Eggs Benedict needed more sauce (and there must be better sausages in the area!).

So don't hesitate to stay in the hotel - it really is wonderful. But eat elsewhere or off the Pavilion menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Galahad_Threepwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Galahad - I have noted your review following your recent stay at the Castle and whilst I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and accommodations, I was most concerned to read your comments regarding the food. We receive many positive comments regarding the restaurant and I would offer my sincere apologies for any lapse in our normally high standards - I will follow this up with my head chef and investigate this thoroughly - I would thank you for taking the time and trouble to post you review - It is with the help of constructive criticisms such as yours that I am able to monitor, correct and improve the standards to which we aspire - I do hope that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Langley and that perhaps I will ba able to change your opinion regarding the restaurant - Please contact me directly - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our 1night stay at Langley Castle - very relaxing, felt like we'd been away longer. We had good friends for company & all agreed Langley Castle hotel has a lovely mix of professional yet relaxed hospitality - a warm Northumbrian welcome, we would recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton_Phillips, General Manager at Langley Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear Karen - I am delighted that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at the Castle and I would thank you for taking the time and trouble to share your experience - Please do keep an eye on our web site for special offers - and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle - Best regards - Anton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Langley-on-Tyne
13.5 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
9.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
16.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
9.2 mi away
The Black Bull Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langley Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langley Castle Hotel

Property: Langley Castle Hotel
Address: Hexham, Langley-on-Tyne, Hexham NE47 5LU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Langley-on-Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Langley-on-Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Langley Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Genuine 14th Century Fortified Castle, In Its Own Woodland Estate. All Rooms In The Castle Have Private Facilities, Four Poster Beds, Window Seats Set Into 7ft Thick Walls. Some Rooms Have Private “Features” Such As A Sauna, Semi-Sunken Bath, Double Air-Bath, Open Fireplaces.Castleview, Within The Grounds, Offers An Additional 18 Rooms, All With Private Facilities, And Wonderfull Views Upto The Castle.The Magnificent Drawing Room With Blazing Log Fire, compliments The Intimate Josephine Restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Langley Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langley Castle
Langley Castle Hexham
Castle Langley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing