We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent small museum documenting local participation in WWII”

Eldred World War II Museum
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Eldred
Attraction details
Warren PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent small museum documenting local participation in WWII”
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Eldred was the site of a munitions factory during WWII. This museum includes a well-told history of the war and the local contribution to the effort. It was larger than expected and gave us new insight into the war and the sacrifices at home. Eldred is also the site of one of the only remaining "S" bridges. Plan on at least an hour; we spent the afternoon. (Plan on Spragues' Maple Farm Restaurant for lunch or dinner in nearby Portville.)

Helpful?
2 Thank EdandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis North Suburb
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Hdden gem”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Well worth the stop, didn't know all the history of the area. Needs better parking, only 2-3 place in front so parked across the street in medical building parking lot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrayMare42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gem of a museum”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We took our Boy Scout troop here on the way to a weekend camp out. The museum was great. Given the size of the town, we were not expecting much of a museum. The displays were well laid out and labeled. Every room was organized. We were amazed by the stuff they had on display. The museum looked very small from the road. However, when you get inside ther are lots of rooms. We had only planned to spend 45 minutes or an hour. We could have easily spent 2 hours or more. We expect to stop in again next year.
Also have to mention that the museum staff went out of their way to make the trip relevant to scouts. They had an impromptu presentation for the boys that was fabulous.
If you are ever driving through Eldred, stop in and check this place out. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank BrockportFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Quality Museum - Don't let the little town fool you!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Every time I go to Eldred I try to go to this museum. The exhibits are rotated so there has been different things to see. The quality of the static and interactive exhibits and videos are top-notch. There is an extensive uniform collection and library on the 3rd floor. The basement has a great collection of artifacts, information on how Hitler rose to power (which is a scary resemblance to our present situation) and newspapers from various towns during the war. You will find information about all of the service branches and the role of the Ammunition Plant in Eldred during the war. Allow yourself a few hours and be prepared to learn a few things.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulip76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, New York, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“daughter of WWII vet”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Excellent collection-worth visiting- give yourself an hour to
really see everything.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eldred World War II Museum also viewed

Been to Eldred World War II Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing